We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CORNER OF PARADISE!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield
1 review
“CORNER OF PARADISE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

After meeting dale and tanya, we went to visit asian jewel and found them both to be fantastic hosts with a beautiful hotel, exellent food, friendly staff and have been back on several occasians. Will deffinatly visit again, its just a shame dale is a MAN U FAN! hahaha!

Love dean, adele, and family. X

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    28
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
257
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Tanya and Dale have created the perfect hideaway. Chic and stylish decor, a lush garden overlooking the lake, attentive service and amazing food combine to create the ultimate chillout. Yes, you really will want rice and curry every night as it's ever changing and totally delicious.

So glad we decided to come here, even if it was supposed to be monsoon. Book this now, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmudgeSu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

The service at the Asian Jewel is second to none Dale and Tania provided a very personelle touch,helping in any way from directions to places of interest sorting out trips and arranging transport.
As a single traveler they made me feel welcome and showed me an assortment good places to go in the evening around hikkaduwa not that you need to eat out as the food is probably the best there is on offer in the area.
The room i stayed in was a good size modern airconed and cleaned every day with no extra pests ,a bonus .The hotel is situated close to a river with nice views but not to close for mosquitoes.You can chill out by the pool and be looked after hand and foot or take a ten minute ride to the beach .
All in all if you are staying in hikkaduwa you will be hard pushed to find a better Hotel for service with a smile and the worst thing was leaving ,thank you dale and Tania for making my holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbackEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London & the Wye Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We really can’t recommend the Asian Jewel highly enough. From the moment we arrived we were bowled over by the obviously genuine desire of Dale Tanya and the staff to ensure that we had a good holiday, real personal service without being intrusive - something that is quite difficult to achieve. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and furnished as can be seen from the many photographs, and is kept spotlessly clean. The location is fabulous overlooking a large lagoon, and is just a short walk or Tuk-Tuk ride away from Hikkaduwa. One of the highlights has to be the food! We are both real real curry fans and Sarath the chef would cook a fabulous curry comprised of many different dishes of our choice every night (also recommend the devilled chicken!). The presentation was also superb. Not normally being a huge fan of fruit I have to say that I also looked forward to the fruit platter every morning for breakfast. What we were looking for in our holiday was delivered perfectly. We were lucky enough to be invited by Dale & Tanya to a traditional Sri Lankan wedding reception while we were there which was a fabulous and unexpected treat. The local knowledge and list of contacts that Dale and Tanya have built up ensured that on the odd days when we could drag ourselves away from the pool to go on trips that we had a great time. We would like to convey our thanks to Cyril, Sunny and all the other members of staff who made our stay so enjoyable. I’m sure we’ll be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riadsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

This was my third visit which I think speaks for itself. This was where my new husband and I chose to stay for our wedding night. Everything was so perfect and Dale and Tanya did everything they could to make it extra special - including surprising us with a cake!!!
It made the day perfect and I KNOW we will go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livvy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticknall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

My dictionary defines the word "bespoke" amongst other things as "...specially designed to the client's requirements....". This describes the Asian Jewel very well.
Our hosts Tania and Dale had become friends after our 16 night stay. The staff were brilliant and everyone bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
Our room was spotless and it's balcony overlooked the lake. We were particularly impressed by the birdlife viewed from it- from Black Eagles, Kites, Sea Eagles right down to Sunbirds and Prinias and all manner of other species. Fantastic.
Our stay was in the so-called low season- couldn't see why, our weather was lovely- warm and not much rain at all.
Dale and Tania recommended a tuc-tuc driver (Anura) who drove us all over the place during our stay. Brilliant.
The meals were excellent- and, if you liked, bespoke.
Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blinkhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We had an unforgettable time in Asian Jewel, from our arrival to the last day. The hotel runs like a clock with due attention to every guest's wish. Once you have tried anything from the restaurant you will not be thinking of eating out. The rooms are in perfect condition with almost everything you might ever need.
There's little that can be added to all the reviews posted earlier, so I will only comment on our single "4" in "location" assessment. Because the hotel is off the main road, Internet connection is unavailable (not considering quite slow option in the lobby). For us heavy bloggers this wasn't enough :)
There are plenty of Internet cafe's within 2-3km from the hotel though; the connection speed is agreeable and prices more than reasonable (0.9 USD/hour), but if you want to sit close to the pool and browse Internet you'll have to wait for some time before going to this hotel. Considering all the time and efforts Dale and Tania are investing into this facility we have no doubt that quite soon broadband Wi-Fi Internet will cover the whole area :)
Otherwise the location is just stunning, close to a large lagoon (some rooms with direct view over it). Absolutely quiet and peaceful place, full of greenery.

Recommend without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesIwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel

Property: Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Address: Field View Baddegama Road | Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa 50820, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its unique location, the Asian Jewel Hotel, Hikkaduwa - Sri Lanka combines the best of both worlds. Enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the picturesque Bird Lake while being just 2 km inland from Hikkaduwa, one of Sri Lanka's oldest and most established beach resorts. Ever since the very early days of travel, Sri Lanka has been known as one of the world’s most beautiful, diverse and exotic holiday destinations. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian Jewel Boutique Hikkaduwa
Hotel Asian Jewel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing