We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique but true to local culture”
Review of Suite Lanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suite Lanka
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Sadly only spent one night here but it was perfect. The location is about 1k down from the busy surfing backpacker strip of Hikkaduwa so the hotel gardens lead straight onto a perfect quiet stretch of the never-ending sandy beach. The hotel itself is beautifully designed with a small swimming pool - who need with the sea 100 metres away - a delightful shaded garden with lots of shady sitting places and a patio for dining overlooking the beach. The rooms are in a two-storey building each with their own entrance and balcony, fabulous large bed, A, and spot-on bathroom. The food was brilliant. The staff couldn't be more helpful and charming. If you want the bars and night-life - walk up the beach for 15 minutes!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have visited this place 3 times in the last two years and each experience is far better than the previous one. Level of services, quality of food, everything which I expect from a luxurious hotel, all are there. Building is beautiful and rooms are decorated in a traditional way. Communication was an issue the last time, as the staff could not speak English well. Best place to stay in this city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Awesome place in terms of location and the chef was excellent ( elderly man I forgot his name sorry) he made special vegetarian dishes for us, highly recommended for a relaxing holiday! The AC did have some problems hope it is fixed now after the renovations!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayesh-1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Our expectations from the holiday were rest and relaxation. Suite Sri Lanka fit the brief perfectly.
The property is simple and well-maintained. The staff is extremely diligent. The food is delectable ( in fact we overate a lot during our stay). The view is breath-taking.
The highlights for our stay there is the breakfast on the deck by the sea and sleeping to the sound of waves crashing.
We were assisted during our entire stay by a guy called Namit who was earnest and polite.
If you are keen to explore Hikkaduwa sights and sounds they're a 15 minutes walk away. But the beauty of Suite Sri Lanka is that you can spend a week easily lounging there. It's a complete experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We just finished our holiday at hikkaduwa and stayed at the Suite Lanka for 3 nights (we were 3 couples). The Hotel is better than it looks in the pictures. The staff are awesome and really friendly. The food we had the first night was great, although it may take 30 mins for it to arrive. Please note that for 6000 to 7000 INR this is great value for money. The hotel manager Sharath was very helpful. We dint use the beach much since it was rough due to off season. You can hire a scooter for Rs 400 INR per day to travel around Hikkaduwa and do try the lobster at Mama's and the party at Happy Banana in Unawatuna beach.

Room Tip: You can choose any rooms... There are just 7 rooms.. the superior and deluxe is what we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul270780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I highly recommend this hotel because it is a little bit different from all the other hotels in Hikkaduwa. With its well-furnished rooms, the lovely garden with palms and a sala overlooking the wide ocean while you have a tasty breakfast, you can enjoy the sound of the waves without having any other noises around you. The Suite Lanka is situated a little bit outside of the city center, but only a 10-minute walk along the beach to the shops and restaurants. But just as well, you can have a delicious dinner inside the hotel. The cook and the staff in gerneral take great care of yourself. The manager told me that there have been a big refurbishment in the Superoir and the Deluxe Rooms. And obviously the bar and the restaurant were renewed as well.
If your are looking for a quite, modern and individual place to stay, go here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I think it's important to note the price paid at this property when reviewing it. We stayed here based on a friend's recommendation who loved it. We were extremely disappointed with the property overall. Upon return we discovered that they had paid $77 per night whereas we paid in excess of $220 per night.

At $77 this property is just about acceptable. It is really not worth anything more than that.

The pool at this property is completely useless - located behind the hotel between the hotel block and the kitchens with no view whatsoever and stagnant air. Who needs a pool when the ocean is that beautiful? Yes, I agree - however you are paying a premium for a property with a pool.

The rooms do not have TV, phones, or any of the amenities one would expect for such a high price. The rooms are very spacious - but necessarily so - they are not nice at all and you really wouldn't want to spend any time in them with their dated furniture and dark interiors.

The location is about a 10+ minute walk down the beach to any of the popular bars and restaurants. This does not offer you much more privacy than the rest of the beach - we would have preferred to be closer to the restaurants. There are no loud nightclubs and such on this strip where staying away would be a benefit.

The only explanation to the mixed reviews one finds on here is the price paid. If we had paid $77 we might have found this place just acceptable (not more). However at $200+ I would look elsewhere.

We spent 2 nights in Aditiya at more than double the rate (>$400 per night) and felt that was worth every penny - I have reviewed that property too.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the superior rooms - there is nothing superior about them other than the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HB_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the effort to write a comment about your stay at our Suite Lanka.

I am sorry to hear, that you obviously didn´t enjoy your stay with us.
Regarding the rates you have mentioned, I am absolutely surprised. As you obviously stayed at the same category as your friend did, it was most probably a Superior room. The rate last year was indeed around USD 77 (plus tax & service charges). At the moment we are charging for that room EUR 86 (inclusive of tax & service charge and breakfast for two). In Peak Season (christmas and new year) we are charging EUR 108,-. This is the absolute maximum we have always charged for that room. This can be verified by having a look in our pricelist (please refer to www.suitelanka.com.).
There are higher room categories however, for example the Two-Bedroom Suite at a size of 112 sqm, which we charge EUR 196 at the moment, inclusive of tax, service charge and breakfast.
But I assume that you didn´t compare the rate of the entrance category with the rate of the biggest available suite.

However I am happy to inform you, that we have just recently completed a huge renovation of many parts of the hotel. Among them are the Superior and Deluxe rooms and their bathrooms, the restaurant, bar and poolside as well as all public areas, such as pathways, public bathrooms etc. You may get a very good impression by having a look at our new virtual tour, which you can find on our website.

I hope, you will give us the chance again to prove to you that your next stay with us will be worth every single cent you are paying. If you are considering coming, please let me know in advance and I will personally make sure that you will have a great time.

Roland Galka
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
2.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Lanka

Address: Galle Road Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: £102 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Lanka 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel with only 7 rooms and suites at premium ocenfront location, just completely renovated in 2012.Rooms and suites are between 42 and 112 sqm, all with spectacular oceanview from spacious terracces or verandas. Furthermore we offer a restaurant with awardwinning local and international cuisine, pool with pool bar, lounge and beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Suite Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Lanka Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing