We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Me and the boys stayed here for the cricket at Galle in 2012. Very clean and airy rooms, food simple but high quality. Service great, staff extremely helpful and Ruwan the man in charge was a legend, nothing was to much for him be it organising transport to and from airport/cricket to getting one of our team to the Doctors. Situated right on the beach it was ideal for a dip in the Ocean following a day sitting in the scorchio sun at a Test match. Ideal for surfer types and anyone into water based activities (which the resort is aimed at). Would definitely stop here again. If you're going to Sri Lanka whether for watersports, lazing about or the forthcoming 20/20 world cup, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark8287049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    24
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
39
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for 8x nights (originally booked for 6x nights) in March / April 2012 as part of a 3-week trip around Sri Lanka. Six of us stayed here, split across four of the rooms.

The hotel is an 8-room guesthouse, right on the beach in the middle of Hikkaduwa. It's owned and run by the fantastically laid-back and brilliant host, 'Ruwan' - he's assisted by his Mum, and various other members of his family. All were incredibly welcoming, and we ended kicking around the place, sitting out on the shaded deck on the beachfront, much more than we expected, and we also ate there on 6 of the 8 nights that we stayed.

The rooms are very good - spotless, good size, good bathrooms, decent beds with mosquito-nets, and excellent a/c units and ceiling fans. They're all quite 'private' as well, being well-spread out, and all with a small area of outside space in the form of chairs / tables on the open landings. For $35 per night, it was unbelievable value.

The food is quite simply superb - all prepared by Ruwan's Mum (who must be in her late 60's / early 70's) who makes these incredible (and varied) meals in a tiny little kitchen on the ground floor. Amazing!! Honestly, some of the best food that i ate in Sri Lanka was at Main Reef.

I'm trying to think of some of the 'negative' points. The beach is very narrow (only about 5 feet wide from the bottom of the steps to the sea) where the hotel is. 'Mambo' (which is one the main beach bars in Hikkaduwa) is 3 bars along from Main Reef, and they have all-night parties once-a-week; you could just about hear the music from our room (no. 8 at the back), but it was a bit louder nearer the front of the hotel.

But overall, it was a real highlight of the trip - and the fact that we stayed an extra 2 nights (on top of the 6 nights we'd booked for) is testament to how much we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the beachfront (one on the 1st floor, one on the 2nd floor) - these are undou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BatterseaBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Dinner with the family at this cosy restaurant. Exellent food and good service to affordable prices. Waterfront view and free wifi. We were only dinnerguests and did not check out the rooms.
We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Chose to book here as we had read positive reviews and did not disappoint. Ruwan, the owner, is friendly and very helpful and has created a chilled-out, relaxed place in which to hang out in Hikkaduwa. The food is good and reasonable, though, like everywhere in Sri lanka, best ordered in advance of feeling hungry as it takes a while to prepare. The rooms are spotlessly clean with hot showers and the 2 rooms on the front have balconies overlooking the ocean offering the most amazing views and a stunning spot to watch the sunset with a gin and tonic. Had a great time at main reef and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Crafty_Cockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

hi i stayed at main reef with ruwan and i had never even surfed before, ruwan was so happy to help me get out there and enjoy those waves! thanks ruwan for that experience! the beach itself is so stunning out of this world and when i had the chance to feed wild giant turtles,that is something i'll never forget, what a holiday highly recommended will go back.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Very basic but very clean. Nice people, very hospitable. Good value for money. Owner Saman is well known surfer and nice chap to accociate with.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virajfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

This is one of the friendliest places I have stayed in Hikkaduwa which is why I repeat visit. Have stayed in I guess most of the room available and they are fine. Always clean, and comfortable. Have stayed at two larger hotels in Hikkaduwa, but when possible I stay at Main Reef. They are a family run establishment which is nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgetmeknot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#12 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#16 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 462/1 Galle Road | Wewala, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing