We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredible vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ruwan & his family are wonderful people. We lived in the room #6 a couple of days and in the room #5 with see view for 10 days.
Rooms are very clean.
Food in downstairs restaurant is really delicious by good price.

Lot's of my friend had vacation in this place. And everybody loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    24
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
39
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were very happy here. The accommodations are clean, modern and comfortable. The views are nice. Overall, things are well managed and well kept. They even accept credit card!!

However, our last night there, we had an incident with the manager. He made racist remarks, then angry comments about the fact that we weren't interested in him. When we tried to walk away from the awkward situation, he followed us and even grabbed my friend. As we rushed away, somewhat fearful, he drunkenly stormed after us and slammed the door in anger. Super uncomfortable.
I honestly believe that this incident wouldn't haven't occurred if we had were male.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank atomiix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Amazing food, the noodles are fantastic ..... You have to eat here if you ever visit Hikkaduwa.

We spent a good part of the afternoon and evening here eating everything on their menu and we had a blast, it was very refreshing and the Shark was quite exquisite.

We only ate here so I don't know the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashanth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here the first time we went to Hikkaduwa, before we knew there are much better places around. We were offered a room for 3000 LKR per night, but without any warning we were told the second day that we would have to leave before 10am since someone else had booked the room.

The Pros:
-The room was good, maybe a little dark (ground floor)
-Right at the main surfing point (reef)
-Food was good and relatively fast compared to other places

The Cons:
-The beach has almost completely eroded here and is so steep you can not swim. Because of the reef you have to go 100m south to the larger beach.
-The owner was only interested in making money and constantly tried to rip us off. We got three different bills at the restaurant in which we were overcharged or charged for items we didn't order. After making us leave on short notice because the room was booked, the owner was too busy hitting on a group of Russian girls to make time for us to pay our bill. Instead another employee gave us the bill and asked for a 10% service charge on top of the price of the room!
-The food is expensive.

Overall I would not stay here again, there are much better places further south on the beach. Although I see that many of them are not listed on here. It is worthwhile to go to several places, and we learned later on that in many places it is possible to negotiate the price. You can find everything from land-side rooms for 2000 LKR to big ocean view rooms with balconies for 7000 LKR.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CalinTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Me and the boys stayed here for the cricket at Galle in 2012. Very clean and airy rooms, food simple but high quality. Service great, staff extremely helpful and Ruwan the man in charge was a legend, nothing was to much for him be it organising transport to and from airport/cricket to getting one of our team to the Doctors. Situated right on the beach it was ideal for a dip in the Ocean following a day sitting in the scorchio sun at a Test match. Ideal for surfer types and anyone into water based activities (which the resort is aimed at). Would definitely stop here again. If you're going to Sri Lanka whether for watersports, lazing about or the forthcoming 20/20 world cup, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark8287049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for 8x nights (originally booked for 6x nights) in March / April 2012 as part of a 3-week trip around Sri Lanka. Six of us stayed here, split across four of the rooms.

The hotel is an 8-room guesthouse, right on the beach in the middle of Hikkaduwa. It's owned and run by the fantastically laid-back and brilliant host, 'Ruwan' - he's assisted by his Mum, and various other members of his family. All were incredibly welcoming, and we ended kicking around the place, sitting out on the shaded deck on the beachfront, much more than we expected, and we also ate there on 6 of the 8 nights that we stayed.

The rooms are very good - spotless, good size, good bathrooms, decent beds with mosquito-nets, and excellent a/c units and ceiling fans. They're all quite 'private' as well, being well-spread out, and all with a small area of outside space in the form of chairs / tables on the open landings. For $35 per night, it was unbelievable value.

The food is quite simply superb - all prepared by Ruwan's Mum (who must be in her late 60's / early 70's) who makes these incredible (and varied) meals in a tiny little kitchen on the ground floor. Amazing!! Honestly, some of the best food that i ate in Sri Lanka was at Main Reef.

I'm trying to think of some of the 'negative' points. The beach is very narrow (only about 5 feet wide from the bottom of the steps to the sea) where the hotel is. 'Mambo' (which is one the main beach bars in Hikkaduwa) is 3 bars along from Main Reef, and they have all-night parties once-a-week; you could just about hear the music from our room (no. 8 at the back), but it was a bit louder nearer the front of the hotel.

But overall, it was a real highlight of the trip - and the fact that we stayed an extra 2 nights (on top of the 6 nights we'd booked for) is testament to how much we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the beachfront (one on the 1st floor, one on the 2nd floor) - these are undou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BatterseaBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Dinner with the family at this cosy restaurant. Exellent food and good service to affordable prices. Waterfront view and free wifi. We were only dinnerguests and did not check out the rooms.
We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#12 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#16 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 462/1 Galle Road | Wewala, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing