We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally impressed - Must go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally impressed - Must go”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

It was an excellent experience for me and for my family. We are totally impressed by the ambience, hospitality and service at Kalla Bongo. We stayed for one night this 27th Dec 2011.Breathtaking and splendid view of lake from the room is a must feel experience at affordable prices.Rooms are too good with nice interiors .After a long time i really enjoyed one of the finest accomodations along with my family. Its worth staying and i will definetly recommend to my friends and family.Melvin ( one of the Business partner ) and team were friendly and they also accomodated our driver( inspite of rooms being completely booked and we did not communicate this request earlier). In fact Melvin took utmost care for us ( we are pure vegetarians and hence he personally got involved to ensure that we get the right Dinner and breakfast menu ) .I heavily recommend each one to go and experience the bliss at this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHOK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
107
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Just returned from a cricket tour in SL with 13 teenaged boys and I have to say that Kalla Bongo was a great spot to finish up in, although a real surprise for Hikkaduwa. It's a lake-based, simple 'resort' without any of the tackiness and over-commercialized aspects of downtown Hikkaduwa. Melvin and team were remarkably helpful in accomodating the boys and their foibles, and all in all we felt lucky to end our two week trip there. The food is first-rate: although it can be a long wait, but it is, eventually, worth waiting for.

I'd wholeheartedly recommend it to people who want a relaxing place to stay in Hikkaduwa away from the main strip. It is blissful. And under normal circumstances, I won't be there with a cricket tour...And I apologize if we at all disturbed anyone else's calm when we were there.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room - 11 to 16 have fantastic sunrise/sunset views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Every time I arrive at the Kalla Bongo feels like coming home. After two and a half year not visiting this great and wonderful place again it was as coming home and felt like I was there yesterday.
The staff and management is really great: kind and very service minded.
For sure: I will be back soon..... but you already know that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_Au3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We enjoyed this true resort atmosphere. Relaxing in every way; clean, soothing and quiet room; staff very friendly and accommodating; excellent menu and chef. Would recommend to anyone looking to enjoy a quiet place to relax; enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool; and watch the birds over the lake at sunset.

Room Tip: Upstairs poolside if possible. Great view overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved the Kalla Bongo Lake Resort. Our stay there could not have been better. The resort was quiet when we visited as it was during the off season. We were the only guests for a few of our days at the resort. The staff was very kind and attentive. They suggested activities for us, hired a tuk tuk driver to show us around town and let us know about things to do in the area. Unfortunately, because it was the off season there weren't any water sports available. The only thing to do on the water was take out the canoe that the hotel has, which was nice, but I would definitely recommend going during tourist season when you can go scuba diving and snorkeling.
The rooms were nice and consistently very clean. Our room was on the second floor so we had a great view of the pool and the lake. It was nice to look over the quiet, pristine grounds of the resort each morning.
I think the best thing about this resort by far was the food. I honestly cannot speak highly enough about the food. We ate all of our breakfasts and dinners at the resort. The kitchen staff is simply amazing. My personal favorite was the Sri Lankan Rice and Curry. Each time we ordered it, it was a bit different. There were a variety of dishes and every time each dish was absolutely delicious. Even though the town of Hikkaduwa isn't particularly interesting my husband and I will return just to have some more of the food at the Kalla Bongo Lake Resort.
If you plan on going to Hikkaduwa or Galle or just want a relaxing stay I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlook the pool and the lake. They are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We enjoyed a relaxing and quiet stay at Kalla Bonga. The first night we (with our family of 6) were the only guests, the second night one other couple stayed at the resort. Location is very nice along the shores of the lake. Unfortunate was that due to the low season there were no watersports activities. The beach was easily reached by tuk-tuk, but the town is nothing to write home about along the noisy and busy Colombo-Galle road.
Quality of food was excellent, it took a bit long between courses though. A most enjoyable stay, with very friendly staff and good service !

Room Tip: upper rooms (10-16) give best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grave
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

On our holiday in Sri Lanka - coming from the airport with our chauffeur - the Kalla Bongo was the first hotel we stayed for the night. It was a nice surprise. The room was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. Being in Sri Lanka the first evening we wanted to taste the real Sri Lanka curry. The cook prepared several delicious dishes for us. And the view over the lagune was really superb. On my next visit to Sri Lanka I want to stay there more days.
One tip for improvement: the hotel was badly indicated on the road. It was a bit difficult for our chauffeur to find it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatGrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
697 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalla Bongo Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalla Bongo Lake Resort

Property: Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Address: 22/8 K, Field View | Baddegama Road, Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalla Bongo Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort has 15 rooms: 10 pool rooms, adjacent to the pool with a fresh appearance and 5 lagoon rooms, adjacent to the lagoon with a classic interior and bath tub.Other hotel facilities are lobby, à la carte restaurant, bar, swimming pool, canoes, games for children.The magnificent view over the lagoon, the utmost calm, peaceful and natural environment give the hotel a unique character and allow the guests to recover from their busy life.Good quality is a key element for the hotel and cleanliness, freshness, familiar and personal service are the defining themes.The hotel is located at Hikkaduwa Ganga, a large lagoon which is connected to the sea. The location is about 2,5 kilometres from the centre of Hikkaduwa, only 10 minutes by car or three-wheeler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalla Bongo Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalla Bongo Lake Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing