We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

A hotel off the beaten track but definitely worth it. The most wonderful view of a huge lake where you can do some water activities and a large pool in the centre of the hotel grounds.The rooms are large and very clean- no TVs for those that are TV mad. The food was fantastic and staff very attentive and friendly. Having stayed at many hotels around Sri Lanka, this has been my favourite. It is a peaceful retreat away from the busy beach area-paradise!
The hotel may benefit from having signs and directions on or near the main road to make it easier to spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    41
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
105
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Kalla Bongo for a weekend and it was lovely. The owner and the rest of the staff are very friendly and attentive. Our rooms were very clean and had a beautiful view of the lake. They have a lovely large pool which is warm in the mornings therefore ideal for a early swim. The highlight was the beautiful lake which we got paddle out in, in a canoe which the hotel provided for no additional charge.

We loved the place and will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a perfect choice if you are looking for a quite stay and close to the coast.
It comes with a magnificent scenery overlooking the lake.
Lounge area and swimming pool are awsome.
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is simple enough to stay a night for sleeping well. Location at lake side serving us a quiet & peaceful time all day long. In the morning after break fast, we enjoyed canoing. That was nice excersize and reluxing time to us. We have one thing to strongly asked hotel manager was there were no sign for approaching the hotel. This is tottaly a local residential area 5 min. apart from the Hikkaduwa coast main street. He told us it is because roads are under construction (still leveling). We highly recommend to take memo of their telepone number +94-91-438-32-34 to get in touch the correct place smoothly. They have plan that some rooms to be in renovation in a month.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our stay at Kalla Bongo was exactly what it was meant to be - relaxing, peaceful and far away from the hustle and bustle of Galle Road and Hikkaduwa. That said, the trishaw ride to Hikkaduwa beach and town only takes about 5-10 mins (ask the staff to call their regular tuk tuk driver called Jagath, who is very helpful and knowledgable about excursions you can do in the area).
The pool is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable and have marvellous views over the lagoon. The staff is very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Breakfast was tasty and served on a terrace with a nice breeze from the lagoon.We had dinner at the hotel on the first evening and it was tasty but slightly overpriced. The rooms are not very sound-proof so it could get a bit noisy if the hotel is fully booked.
I would definitely visit this place again, whether as a romantic getaway or with friends seeking a relaxing weekend. Try to book a paddle boat trip on the lagoon before sunset to see all the wildlife.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have lovely balconies and superb views of the pool and lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Loveley setting ..great service and very private. Even though your close to the coast this is hidden away in a lagoon which makes it misteriously inviting. The food was good but the but the variety on offer should increase. In short ill be going back with family in the future inshaallah.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuttack
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

one corner in the world,yeah i know i haven't seen much of the world yet but still......one corner which has a calming effect on everything in you.....the effect is created by the place but the people there are a big add on,so calm so courteous.....settle everything inside,this is the place....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitinsmailid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
1.3 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalla Bongo Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalla Bongo Lake Resort

Property: Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Address: 22/8 K, Field View | Baddegama Road, Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalla Bongo Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort has 15 rooms: 10 pool rooms, adjacent to the pool with a fresh appearance and 5 lagoon rooms, adjacent to the lagoon with a classic interior and bath tub.Other hotel facilities are lobby, à la carte restaurant, bar, swimming pool, canoes, games for children.The magnificent view over the lagoon, the utmost calm, peaceful and natural environment give the hotel a unique character and allow the guests to recover from their busy life.Good quality is a key element for the hotel and cleanliness, freshness, familiar and personal service are the defining themes.The hotel is located at Hikkaduwa Ganga, a large lagoon which is connected to the sea. The location is about 2,5 kilometres from the centre of Hikkaduwa, only 10 minutes by car or three-wheeler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalla Bongo Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalla Bongo Lake Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing