We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalla Bongo Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Kalla Bongo was a great surprise as when we were driven there I thought oh no where have ended up but no once we got beyond the gates it was just stunning. Set on a lake with lovely views and the rooms and pool were just great. The staff were really nice and helpful and the owner went out of his way to ensure we really had a very pleasant stay for three nights. The food was great and we were able to get out to Hikka easily with a really friendly and helpful Tuk Tuk driver. And to cap a great stay we had a late/early morning flight and we were allowed to stay in the room until 2100 hours together with Melvin the owner finding us the best driver to get us to the airport. Thank you for making our stay with you a delight.
Khalid and Alison

Room Tip: I would say the lakeside rooms looked great with respect to setting and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    41
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
102
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed there for almost a week for a friend's wedding in Hikkaduwa and Kalla Bongo was a great place to stay.
The staff were extremely friendly, very helpful and always there when we needed something.
The food was very good, the owner was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the local culture and full of great tips!
The room were very big and very clean and newly refurbished.
The swimming pool was also a great thing to have available.
I simply loved the fact that is was a little out of Hikkaduwa (5mn with a tuktuk) and waking up with this view every morning was amazing
Well done to the whole team for doing such a great job!
This is a 5* place that i can easily recommend.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rholezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights using it, in part, as place to relax but also as a base to attend a scuba course in Hikkaduwa. This little gem of a hotel was a perfect spot to unwind. The trip to the main Hikka' drag was 15mins by tuk tuk which I loved it, travelling through the fields and down local roads, spotting monitor lizards and waving at local kids. The view from the hotel over the lake was gorgeous. The dinning room, small bar and mini-lounge area were lovely. Staff all helpful.
There are some shortcomings with this hotel but they have priced it accordingly and seem to be working hard to overcome these. If you are looking to relax and do nothing probably a stay of 3 nights would be enough to sup-up the views, dip in the pool and try a few things on the menu. I would go back if passing through the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bermondseytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Remote location- poor roads leading to the place, car nearly got stuck.
Place shabby, gardens shabby, diseased dogs meandering around the place
Staff wear no shoes, look unprofessional, and scruffy. They are not approachable.
We couldnt wait to leave once we got there....so went out straight after a cup of tea.
Stayed out till late walking the streets instead (town is about 10 min drive away)
Rooms was lovely - fridge, safe, aircon, best hot water shower we found in sri lanka, comfortable beds (be very careful of the raised concrete bed surround it can be extremely dangerous and shouldnt be there). The lake is pictureque, but you wouldnt want to swim in it. The breakfast was simple but passable. Believe the owners are German, and the place seems to run as a lake activities resort for adventure seekers rather than people looking for a nice place to stay. Place was undergoing rennovations, builders were not courteous or friendly, place was messy, bar area was dirty and sticky. It was a very neglected place, where the staff didnt really seem to care much about anything. One guy (think he was the manager?) saw us in the morning and was scruffy, but at least pleasant to talk to. On the whole, a bad experience. There are many cheaper and more beautiful places in town on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KallaBongoLakeResort, Owner at Kalla Bongo Lake Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mr. Edward C., I'm truly sorry that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay. I do recognize several of your remarks: leveling road to the hotel is starting within 1 week and dogs will stay in a private place,
As in a lot of (even star rated) hotels in Sri Lanka, our staff doesn't wear shoes.
I will discuss with the manager what might have happened regarding the staff appearance and attitude as we learn from other guests that they are utmost friendly. We will discuss with staff members working during your stay and act.
Thank you for your remarks, Melvin Janssen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

A hotel off the beaten track but definitely worth it. The most wonderful view of a huge lake where you can do some water activities and a large pool in the centre of the hotel grounds.The rooms are large and very clean- no TVs for those that are TV mad. The food was fantastic and staff very attentive and friendly. Having stayed at many hotels around Sri Lanka, this has been my favourite. It is a peaceful retreat away from the busy beach area-paradise!
The hotel may benefit from having signs and directions on or near the main road to make it easier to spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Kalla Bongo for a weekend and it was lovely. The owner and the rest of the staff are very friendly and attentive. Our rooms were very clean and had a beautiful view of the lake. They have a lovely large pool which is warm in the mornings therefore ideal for a early swim. The highlight was the beautiful lake which we got paddle out in, in a canoe which the hotel provided for no additional charge.

We loved the place and will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a perfect choice if you are looking for a quite stay and close to the coast.
It comes with a magnificent scenery overlooking the lake.
Lounge area and swimming pool are awsome.
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
3.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.3 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalla Bongo Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalla Bongo Lake Resort

Property: Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Address: 22/8 K, Field View | Baddegama Road, Nalagasdeniya, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalla Bongo Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort has 15 rooms: 10 pool rooms, adjacent to the pool with a fresh appearance and 5 lagoon rooms, adjacent to the lagoon with a classic interior and bath tub.Other hotel facilities are lobby, à la carte restaurant, bar, swimming pool, canoes, games for children.The magnificent view over the lagoon, the utmost calm, peaceful and natural environment give the hotel a unique character and allow the guests to recover from their busy life.Good quality is a key element for the hotel and cleanliness, freshness, familiar and personal service are the defining themes.The hotel is located at Hikkaduwa Ganga, a large lagoon which is connected to the sea. The location is about 2,5 kilometres from the centre of Hikkaduwa, only 10 minutes by car or three-wheeler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kalla Bongo Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalla Bongo Lake Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing