We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silent, beautiful, perfect service”
Review of Villa Birdlake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Birdlake
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we simply loved the place... it's far away from noisy streets and touristy spots... but easy to get to from hikkaduwa town by tuctuc... the service was perfect, the rooms are huge and very clean... you should take a room with balcony which is the more expensive one... everyone is so nice!!!
try their homemade curry for dinner... it is amazing!!! and take their kanu for a boat ride on the lake you will see small crocodiles and amazing blue jellyfish and a lot of birds!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreshWeer, Owner at Villa Birdlake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We are really very glad that you'll had a great time. Thanks so much for taking your precious time off in writing a review about the villa. We sincerely hope we would see you again very soon, Hope it was a memorable one for you. Love and warmth all the way from Hikkaduwa : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

I just had the pleasure to experience my time in Hikkaduwa by the lake while going everyday to the main busy areas by the sea for surf, food, shopping... I was amazed with the warmness the owners provide you with which makes you instantly feel just like being at home. This was my first week in Sri Lanka and really i couldn't have asked for any better than this. The food Jamila cooks is excellent with that nice home made feel - i've had amazing sea food, chicken and fish currys. Also decided to go paddling in the lake on a canoe they have there, it's totally safe (according to every local I spoken to) - sunset is quite something from the middle of the lake. Fully recommend this place to everyone who's looking for someone who loves to fall asleep and wake up with the birds tweets :)

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre but amazing location if you're into yoga or meditation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreshWeer, Owner at Villa Birdlake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased to inform you that we have upgraded the property and we have a total new look. We hope to see you soon, As you have been with us before you would see a clear change. Please do like us on face book. We look forward to hearing from you. Th place is now turned into a Villa. Do check us out. https://www.facebook.com/villabirdlake?ref=hl Have a great day.. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

one can enjoy peace and quiet in perfect surroundings on the edge of the lagoon. Ranee and her staff make you feel at home and offer more of a homestay rather than a commercially run guest house. Truly personal service and attention to detail. Most delicious Sri Lankan food prepared freshly every day with an explanation of each dish. There is also a canoe for trips on the lagoon.
Rooms are simple but spacious, adequate and clean. They all overlook the lagoon and offer private balconies on which to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Bird Lake is a wonderful place to rest, relax & rejuvenate your spirits while taking in some quality time with nature! We simply wanted a break and this was the perfect place for it.

The owner, Ranee, is a wonderful host and makes you feel entirely at home, responding to every request with speed and accommodating all our wishes for special dishes or changes in menu etc. She is also superbly knowledgeable about the area and can arrange all the needed tuk-tuks etc

The rooms are basic, but clean and very comfortable. Little touches like flowers in a vase in the room, changed daily, were a wonderful welcome from some of the other impersonal hotels we had stayed in before. All rooms have a wonderful view of the lake, with a small private balcony on which you can sit and enjoy a cup of tea or read a book in peace.

This was a great place to base ourselves, and from which to explore other places in the south, including Galle. Its best to have your own transport, as hiring a car/van for the day from anywhere in hikkaduwa can be very expensive.

But most of the time, we simply stayed at Bird Lake, enjoying the absolute peace and wonderful natural beauty of the place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are best, although the ground floor rooms give you quicker access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManoriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Bird Lake Hotel, and we found it a very peaceful spot next to the lake and close to the busy and touristy Hikkaduwa.

The room was fine and above average compared to the +/- 10 places we stayed at in Sri Lanka. I understood an upgrade of the rooms is scheduled. I wish we had more time here, we would have read plenty of books on the balcony, overlooking the lake.

Mrs Ranee, her son and her staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the conversations and we were positively surprised by the high level of English (finally!)

We walked to the beach, no problem. However, I advise to have a phone number of a tuktuk at hand, to pick-up or drop-off.

We can recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in or around Hikkaduwa, but prefers nature and a good night sleep to a very busy Colombo <->Galle road and all the noise and crazy traffic that comes along with it.

Kind regards,
Frank and Suzanne
Amsterdam
Holland

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 188590Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

In this place of peace and tranquility I realize again and again, that God created the world full of love for us and wants us to be happy in his world. In this beautiful lakeside garden with its flowers, the old, tall trees and the stillness of a tropical forest lives the wonderful warm smile of Ranee and her son Sandib. There cooks Djamila delicious rice and curry dishes and in the 8 rooms and the spacious restaurant view of the lake is still the atmosphere of the good old days: attentive and loving personal care, honest cleanliness and throughout this warm loving peace ...
just 3 km from the beach of Hikkadua, on the road to Badagama, into a small way on the left and 500 meters through mangroves and a tropical forest ... an you will be there in the paradise of peace and love ...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henrikhansen_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Bird Lake Hotel is one of those places you have always wanted to find.
Maybe it has the BEST view over a lake I have ever seen.
If you want to relax and just chill out and listen to the birds, this is the place.
The whole place needs some investment to upgrade everything, but the owner knows that. If you want to go back in time, you will like this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.5 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#7 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#15 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Birdlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Birdlake

Address: Baddegama Road | Maragaha Hena, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: £23 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Birdlake 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the newest hot spot! Or rather one of the first hotels to be erected in Hikkaduwa over 35 years ago now comes with a complete makeover! The villa has been put back to its glory days! Taking you back to the 1960's, when the old fashion values were still intact. Over at Villa Bird Lake, we put your requests at the forefront and make you feel exceptionally special from the moment you walk in to our dwelling. Hospitality is not our profession. For us it’s a way of life, a passion, which is rooted into our very last vein. Situated in a suburban corner, down south in Sri Lanka, just 2 kms away from the busy Hikkaduwa town (right along the entry/exit road way to the southern express highway) we are the true essence of an escape from the usual – to a surreal world where, amidst lush foliage, one would be exposed to tranquil surroundings with a panoramic view of the Hikkaduwa Lake. Surrender yourself to the enchantment of an enriched land where wild flora and fauna cascade effortlessly into the surroundings; where myriads of different varieties of birds wander along in blissful ignorance enjoying the true pleasures of a tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Birdlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing