We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms at the beach with friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 149 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms at the beach with friendly owners”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very nice hotel with direct beach access.

The owners are extremely friendly and the beach part is nice. Their restaurant is a pretty good choice for breakfast. Further you find many nice little restaurants and prati stalls along the main street. The prices they publish online and via email request are actually a lot higher than when you call and ask for a lower price.

The value for money in our case 15 USD a night was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neelamilton, Owner at Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for spending your beach holiday at Neela’s. Sounds you had a wonderful time with us. We are glad hear that you enjoyed the breakfast at our beach restaurant. It’s really encouraging.
About the rates, we do not charge over price via email reservation. We are always happy to respond to the mails and that’s the most convenient way to reserve a room at Neela’s. The mentions price for room on your review should be corrected as USD 25 and upward. The rate for low season will always get the discounted price. The rates may vary with facility and view.
Please visit us again and we will do our best make your stay happy and comfortable.
Thanks
Warm Regards
Neela & Milton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    44
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
127
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

stayed here for two nights. gusethouse is located in the middle of the popular beach in Hikkaduwa. Good wifi, rooms had no tv, nice shower. Food in the restaurant however is just decent and pricey. Nevertheless Mrs Neela and the friendly staff at Neela's made the stay overall an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tzewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Delicious food, wonderful service.
Best location. The real best restaurant in the beach. Fair prices for this beach.
Would really recommend this place.
They have the most clean kitchen in Sri Lanka. Stayed for 10 days and ate only there, all the other rastaurants are disappointing

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maaianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed a little bit up the beach but we ate there on two occasions. It is located on the beach with good access. We wanted to try the food as some of our friends were going to stay there. The food was really good and fresh. The prices were quite reasonable. The best was that the staff and the family who runs the place were really friendly. They were quite prompt to attend to our requests and also made us feel welcome. My friends who stayed there said that the place was clean and nice and that they will try to stay for 12 days instead of 10.

Room Tip: Ask for a A/C room with a sea view, second floor is pretty good and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hakimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I was at Neela´s (Hikkaduwa) in Jan 2012, it was so good I´m going back again in 2013 ! The Family and team , Chamara , Suranga , Benni were just fanastic folk like the Food , Drink and Veiw are just amazing ! They really made me feel welcome and we all became good freinds for life . In my Eyes it is the best Guesthouse along the beach and the food well just unbelievable. Very clean and tidy , with very good prices ....A1

Room Tip: They are all really good and clean + tidy ....Just check it for yourself , you will not disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank walise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
global
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

what can i say about neela`s guesthouse and restaurant other than.......go there!!!
it has the best food in hikkaduwa,(possibly even sri lanka) and at an affordable price.
the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
but on top of those two things,the most important thing.....the family and staff that own and work there are what make neela`s the best place to stay in hikkaduwa....if you have known them for a longtime or have only just met them they make you feel like part of the furniture with their happy and friendly welcome.
i have spent a lot of time in hikkaduwa over the last years and will always return to neela`s place as i know exactly what to expect when i get there.......a warm welcome.....amazing food and a great friendly atmosphere right on the beach. what more could anyone ask???
they cater to all tourists from backpackers to families,young or old,and can arrange tours or help you with mostly anything.they just make everything so easy for the guests and always with a smile.
i cant wait till the next time i can visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padaththalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Thank you Neelas´s for making ouer first visit to Hikkaduwa so special. Whit your great location ,friendly staff and delicious food you manage to make a great impression and create memories that will last for a long time. We will be in Sri Lanka for 6 mounth and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant

Property: Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant
Address: No. 634 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neela's Neela's Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, delicious food and a friendly atmosphere. Our beachfront location means you can walk out of your room onto the sands. Hikkaduwa is a paradise for the swimmers, sun worshippers, surfers and snorkellers. Popular surf breaks are minutes away or just relax on a sunbed and watch the turquoise waves roll in. Our restaurant is only a few short steps from the sea. Begin the day with a leisurely breakfast or join us for a lazy lunch. At the end of the day enjoy an amazing sunset followed by dinner under the stars. Our family have been welcoming tourists to Hikkaduwa for more than 30 years. Our experience ensures great service and attention to detail; whether you're a first time visitor or one of our old friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neela`s Guest House And Beach Restaurant
Neela`s Guest House & Beach Restaurant Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing