We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 165 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We chose to spend a couple of days chilling out after a long tour of the island. Neela's provided a lovely, quiet space for this - the rooms were very well presented and (in room No.10) we were far enough away from the main road too. As usual, the air con was very welcome!

The restaurant stretching out onto the beach was definitely the highlight of our stay at Neela's. Chamara and the rest of the staff made our stay extremely welcome. The family atmosphere and sincerity was definitely felt - sitting to talk with us as well as being helpful arranging our onward journey up the coast.

Overall we had a great relaxing time here and enjoyed unwinding in such a great setting and definitely recommend Neela's for a Hikkaduwa stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here in February. We chose Hikaduwa as my husband wanted to surf and I wanted to chill on a beach for ten days and we both loved the destination. The Guest House was lovely, we had a really nice four poster bed with an en suite wet room and a nice balcony. The whole family and staff made us feel really welcome and were always on hand if we needed anything. The location was great, a ten minute walk into the centre of town but you are minutes away from lots of little shops and restaurants and a surf break. However we found that having eaten in a few of the other restaurants in town that Neelas was the best. The restaurant was right on the beach and you can't beat sitting at a table lit dinner in the evening with your feet on sand, with great food and wine and only a few minutes walk from your room. Bliss! Good choice of food, have the jumbo prawns, probably the most expensive thing on the menu but well worth it, tasted great and a good experience. Thank you Chamara and Neesha for making our stay so special.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bongo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

2013 we came for two nights and stayed three weeks. This time we came for 18 days: It felt like coming home. Neela's son and guesthouse manager Chamera welcomed us like old friends, as did Suranga, the wonderful head waiter. Last year we ate out a lot, but we found that the food at Neela's is better than elsewhere, so this year we had most of our meals there. Chamera attaches a lot of importance to hygiene, also, and especially, in the kitchen. His aim is continuous improvement, which is why Neela's gets better each year. We had room 15 for the first 2 weeks and room 16 in the third week. Both delightful. As for the location: Neela's is situated at the heart of Narigama beach - where it's most beautiful. The atmosphere is lovely, especially at night when the palm trees are lit up. We'll be back next year, that's for sure!
Thank you Chamera, Neela and all the family. Thank you Suranga and all the other waiters, cooks, kitchen and housekeeping staff. And thank you auntie for the wonderful Sri Lankan meal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed there for two nights in March 2014. Rooms were very clean, and I have to say the first place in Sri Lanka where it all smelled like flowers during our whole stay!! It was very nice to stay there for end of our trip.

Only negative thing is that restaurant was a bit pricy for the offer. But there are plenty other places to eat in Hikkaduwa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Neela's ist a very good example that nobody needs in Hikkaduwa Hotels like "Coral Sands". The mangager Chamara and his staff gives u very fast a comfy, friendly and familiar feeling. The Rooms are nice, clean, bright and absolutely affordable.
The restaurant has daily menu with great fresh seafood you can enjoy directly on this awesome beach

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Review 16th March 2014

We we were expecting Hikkaduwa to be a bit of a party place but in fact it was all asleep by 11pm... which was fine by us. Neela's is fantastically situated, on the quiet and widest part of the beach. There is a mini warm water lagoon just in front of the hotel which makes a great alternative to some pretty large waves. Neela's have their own palm roof sun beds (free to guests/restaurant users) and a pretty restaurant with good prices and charming service. The accommodation is excellent value for a beach front property, we had room 14 on the second floor with a sea view across roof tops. The room was large and spotless with a balcony and planters chairs. There is efficient and quiet air con in room 14 with ceiling fan if you prefer and bonus mini fridge (we found that not all medium price rooms in Srilanka have a fridge - you need cold water on hot nights!!!!). The room has all the stuff you need ie. very comfortable bed, extra pillows - proper reading lights, good mirror - waist height table for you case - only one slight negative was the bathroom which was a bit eighties but to be honest this is an aesthetic comment only as it was extremely clean and functional with good pressure shower.
The owners of Neela's are a Srilankan family - very friendly and helpful - Chamara the Owners son was always ready to chat and help with anything at all - they definitely have a commitment to cleanliness and customer service. All the common areas are very clean and there were fresh flowers and joss sticks every morning when we came down for our delicious breakfast (fruit,toast and eggs done any way you want)
Of all the places we ate on the beach ( Hikkaduwa food can be hit and miss) We found Neela's food to be the best. If I went back to Hikkaduwa I would definitely stay here but pay a bit more for one of the 3rd floor rooms as they have the best views.

Neela's is not a boutique hotel nor does it pretend to be as it has a range of rooms for all budgets and concentrates on substance over style - If you want to be right on the beach with super friendly local owners and very reasonable room rates for ultra clean/functional accomodation with the bonus of delicious Srilankan sea food choose this place.

Thanks for great customer service to Chamara and all the staff - We had a great time.

Lynda Bailey and Peter Readman.

PS Just a couple of bits of advice about Hikkaduwa in general - There are some good places to drink on the beach but hardly any of them have good food. Nice bar to Drink is the "Why not" but food is awful. The Hotel moon Beam restaurant recommended in Lonely planet is over rated and a rip off. The best food we had was at Neela's.
Also be very aware of the very busy road that goes through Hikkaduwa - what ever room you book make sure it is way from that road.

Room Tip: Choose a room at Front of hotel - Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyndaB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Neela's is a lovely place. Right at the beatiful beach, good food and nice rooms. First and foremost though, I'm saluting them for their friendly touch and excellent service. Thanks guys, I hope to be back one day :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank KristerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
427 reviews
1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
727 reviews
12.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Beach Guest House
Universal Beach Guest House
#7 of 165 in Hikkaduwa
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant

Address: No. 634 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: £18 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neela's Neela's Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, delicious food and a friendly atmosphere. Our beachfront location means you can walk out of your room onto the sands. Hikkaduwa is a paradise for the swimmers, sun worshippers, surfers and snorkellers. Popular surf breaks are minutes away or just relax on a sunbed and watch the turquoise waves roll in. Our restaurant is only a few short steps from the sea. Begin the day with a leisurely breakfast or join us for a lazy lunch. At the end of the day enjoy an amazing sunset followed by dinner under the stars. Our family have been welcoming tourists to Hikkaduwa for more than 30 years. Our experience ensures great service and attention to detail; whether you're a first time visitor or one of our old friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Neela's Guesthouse & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neela`s Guest House And Beach Restaurant
Neela`s Guest House & Beach Restaurant Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing