We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located on the beach and value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cinnamon Garden Hotel
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Located on the beach and value for money.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean aesthetically decorated although bed need to be little bit larger. Hotel offers constant view of Ocean and one can walk down on the beach anytime. Free wifi service and room service prompt and courteous. Hotel has an excellent courtyard which is clean and one can relax on the deck chairs any time.
However hotel seriously needs to upgrade its kitchen as at present its lacking a good chef and the present menue is limited in terms of choice. The hotel has excellent transport service to nearby place like Galle although the tourists should take care against getting conned by the " friendly tuk tuk " services stationed outside the hotel premises. Further the town of Hikkaduwa lacks decent and value for money food joints.it is advisable that one carries certain necessities in terms of light snacks with oneself. Lastly the hotel provides free breakfast which is nutritious and filling although the menue can be a bit extended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janith P, Manager at Cinnamon Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Sir,

It was pleasure to having you here and thank You for your comments on Cinnamon Garden Hotel on our Trip Advisor Page. Whatever you mentioned will take as positive towards to improve our services.

We have 126 different type of dishes in our MENU covering western, eastern and Local food. But for sure will consider your comments of our menu.

We are specially delighted that you found your overall stay enjoyable.

We would be pleased to have you again with us at Cinnamon Garden Hotel Hikkaduwa in the near future..

Kind regards,

Fernando

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Was there for week. it was fantastic environment away from noisy neighborhood. food is amazing...staff are cheerful. rooms are basic and clean.garden is green was fantastic wide cost line along with coconut trees. weather is mix in April but overall it's great place to spent your holiday in clam and peacfully.

Room Tip: Clam and quit place in busy hikkaduwa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janith P, Manager at Cinnamon Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. it's great pleasure to hear positive thing about Cinnamon Garden Hotel. we always do our best to make our valuable guest happy comfortable while stay with us.

Kind regards,

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Sri Lankan hotel's managers MUST realize that they CAN'T ask all this money for this kind of structures!..Also 100 €/night resorts are not immune..We'll consider to return in SLK only if the accomodation costs will drop down to 50%.. There are plenty of places around the 3rd world (no offence..) with the same situation..Natural beauty are NOT enough!.. Especially when are covered in garbage..trash everywhere..old and broken everything..and the worse is that local "managers" doesn't give a [--] to clean at least the front beach..It's an unforgivable missing...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niconika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janith P, Manager at Cinnamon Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your review about CGH. I perfectly remember you ;However I don’t agree with what you have being mentioned. This page is reserved for the hotel guest review and not to offense we as 3world country and influencing the price has to be lower.

In Srilankan there are plenty of hotel option from budget hotel to luxury hotels. So you should be aware hotel facility and category before you arrived to Hotel. Rather bargain about prices at the reception. Quality tourist never do that because because they do know where they are and what is the situation in that place. Beach we always clean and tidy all the time. Beach is clean by hotel staff in every todays.

Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, UAe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed just one night at the end of our stay at CGH. It has a wonderful location far from the madding crowd in Hikkaduwa with a deep deep beach that stretches on and on....to the far end where you can watch the surfing. Stormy weather brought heavy rains and crashing waves, To desert dwellers like we, nothing is finer than a tropical downpour followed by sunny skies and calm seas. Green green.... The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Rooms are simple but well cared for. Garden is lovely, food is good....really everything's good. My grandson, 3 1/2 gives it a 5 star plus.

Room Tip: stay on the seaview facing second story. The main rooms each have a veranda, but they are right nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janith P, Fernando at Cinnamon Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. See you soon again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Had only dinner here. We were 4 people. 2 wanted to order a whole fish as it was in the menu for about 600 slr, the waiter insisted we got pieces of a fish that was much more expensive (2000 slr). In the end after a struggle he said he would cook 2 fish and they were very tasty. Nasty way of exploiting tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgkfriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janith P, Manager at Cinnamon Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, however, this can not be happen since prices are mentioned in the menu. must be miscommunication. if that the case we would like to apologies anyway.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Location is good with open sea and not too noisy. The staff were very friendly when we checked in. The bed linen was sticky and many bugs. This place is not worth USD40 per night. There was a piece of spring in our fried eggs and the management refused to admit their mistake. They looked at us with two big eyes as though there was nothing unusual at all. The attitude of the staff was 100 percent different when we checked out. I guessed Mike would not do that if he was around at that time.....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed here just 3 nights, due to already paid for accomodation elsewhere (unfortunately) & would certainly stay here again, next time I visit Sri Lanka. Nothing to complain about at all, which is unusual from my experience of Sri Lankan hotels !!

Situated at the nice southern end of Hikkaduwa, a great beach location & just 15 mins walk to the centre of the main bar/restaurant area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#13 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,666 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Garden Hotel

Property: Cinnamon Garden Hotel
Address: Galle Road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinnamon Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the quiet end of the strip - with extensive beachfront gardens, a large sea-front restaurant and just 11 rooms all with sea-views - the Cinnamon Garden Hotel is certainly one of the most beautiful private hotels in Hikkaduwa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing