We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday”
Review of Ranmal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranmal Beach Hotel
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good stuff,good rooms,best situated next to the wonderful beach,swimming pool and reliable hosts:ajith anfd family! I felt always at home! Not to forget the excellent kitchen and you are insured in case of robbery.

Room Tip: frontside to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wolfgang414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived for 3 nights.
first night we had a problem with the toilet.
Second night the air conidtion didnt working and was no hot water in the shower.
In addition, room basic and didnt cleen enough. In addition, i had to look for a remote from other guess by myself because the service guy didnt have battry. After i did it unforthently the air conidition didnt working and i couldnt sleep at the night. we left the room after 2 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dobisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The rooms are good except for two rooms, separate from the rest of the hotel, close to the beach. Those two rooms are total crap and I can't understand why they just dont wreck them. Unfortunately you only get a fridge in the bigger rooms. If you are to dine in the restaurant I suggest you stick to local dishes. They are not very good at international cousine. Good service and nice and helpful staff.
A big bonus is the beach. Local surfers, from who you can rent surf or body boards, hang out just outside the hotel and you have a good sized beach on which you can chill out. Alot of the other hotels are built to close to the shore line giving you as little as 10 feet of beach on some places. Ranmal offers roughly 60 feet of sand before shore line.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askagarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a month long trip. Paid 4000rup for ac room. Room was decent enough, comfy and relatively clean. Seemed about right for the money paid. Beach location is quiet but easily walkable to better bars and restaurants and crucially quiet enough to sleep well. The wifi gets turned off overnight but unfortunately, so does the water! Very inconvenient especially as you cannot even flush the loo!
Rooms vary quite a bit but as long as you check them first it's not an issue.
Could easily be a great place with a little effort but its currently only average, shame.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinbum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

First we didn`t stopped here because of the low Tripadvisor`s rating. But later after reading reviews we`ve changed our minds and moved to this hotel from the centre beach location. Bad reviews say about ants (well you`re in Asia not in the North Pole, it`s the local nature) and about the stealing (which I`m surprised because the security was working great all night long).
The location of Ranmal Hotel is just excellent - close to the best Hikkaduwa`s restaurants and clubs and right on the beautiful wide beach. And we can have both sea view and no ocean noise like at the centre of the beach. And there is no rocks at the beach. So it`s the best.
When we`ve checked in, the owner gave us the best available room - deluxe with direct sea view. And brought us fridge and safe box right away for no charge. The stuff was very warm, friendly and helpful. We felt like home.
Deluxe rooms are better than cabanas and standart.
Breakfasts are delicious and you can order to bring them to beach no waisting you time in the restaurant.
Thank you for the great holiday!

Room Tip: Center deluxe rooms is a bit smaller than side deluxe rooms but have direct ocean view. Side deluxes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edelwhisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The hotel itself was lovely and good value for money compared with some other guest houses in the area that being said this area is almost twice the price that you can pay on other beaches. There is nothing wrong with the beach itself if you are simply looking for sun sea and sand but if you want something with more soul and less touristy go to another beach!

The guest joust is at the quiet end of the beach, so you don't get the noise from the bars which are strewn along the beach. You can also watch the local fishermen in the morning (if you are interested).

Plenty of choice of restaurants around and the room itself was clean with all amenities. You might want to look at room options, we had a first floor room which was modern but I suspect that some of the rooms may be different.

Room Tip: I would view the rooms before accepting, I think they have a mixture of old and new. (New is good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

It was a nice stay

Pros
Next to the ocean
Reasonable cost
Owners are friendly, the lady is a very pleasant person
The food at the restaurant upstairs was decent, with hardly any crowding
its on the extreme end of the beach
All fishermen activities are right in front of the hotel.

Cons
Rooms, loos and linen was average
lots of bugs, ants etc
No special events are organized by this hotel unlike other joints which were throwing midnight and rave parties
We had a weird German guy who just wouldn't let the owners play any music howsoever soft. The owners son told us that since he came every year for two months, they had to oblige him.... weird

Its good for budget/ family travellers

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the lawn. Its got the best approach to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
#25 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranmal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranmal Beach Hotel

Address: Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: £26 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranmal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranmal Rest & Tourist Hotel offers homely rooms directly situated on the golden sands of Narigama Beach. It features an ocean-facing restaurant, free in-room Wi-Fi and a tour desk. Ranmal Beach Hotel is conveniently situated a 5-minute drive from Hikkaduwa Town's main shopping centre. It is 135 km from Bandaranaike International Airport and offers free parking. Featuring private balconies and spacious layouts, sea-facing rooms are simply decorated with classic wood furnishings. They come with seating area and an attached bathroom with heated shower facilities. Soothing Ayurvedic massages can be enjoyed after a day of activity. Hotel Ranmal also provides shuttle services. Cool sea breezes accompany a spread of Asian and local dishes at Ranmal's multi-cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ranmal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing