We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbeach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Roman Beach(Hikkaduwa)
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L & D Lodge(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aditya(Hikkaduwa)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
42
31
5
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
31
5
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade marmaladestaff currybody boardingjumbo prawnsmozzie netwake upoverlooking the seasri lankasurf beachlovely hotela wonderful place to staydecent sizecurriessun loungerssound of the wavesair conditioningevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Late review but it's still the worst part on our wonderful Sri Lanka trip.
The room was trashy and just to pricey. I will upload some photos as well. We tried the foot at the restaurant downstairs once and the day after was the only day on the whole trip my stomach felt sick.
I really can't recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Dear Christian
I'm very sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at Sunbeach. I'm not sure when you were at the hotel but we always take criticisms very seriously and I 'm sure if you had discussed any issues with our management they would have worked to resolve them immediately. As you will see from other reviews your experience was not typical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Located directly on the beach, the setting for Sunbeach couldn't be better. We had a top-floor sea-view room and it was an absolute delight to fall asleep to the sound of the waves each night and awake to such a beautiful view each morning. Despite being in the heart of Hikkaduwa's popular surfing beach, Narigama Beach, and close to many late-night bars and restaurants, it was wonderfully quiet at night and gave us the most peaceful nights' sleep during our time in Sri Lanka!

We booked for half-board and ended up having breakfast and dinner at Sunbeach each day during our four night stay. Whilst a buffet format for dinner, the choices were superb and each night has a different 'themed' dinner, with plenty of choices for vegetarians. It was certainly some of the best food we ate during our trip. The cocktails also went down well!

The staff were extremely helpful and we thought it was the best service that we experienced whilst in Sri Lanka. The manager, Chaminda, does a fantastic job and was so helpful and friendly.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are definitely worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank krystellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Where to begin? Sunbeach is the best. Perfect location right on the beach. My wonderful room had a balcony with a great view of the Indian Ocean. Slept each night to the sound of the surf. Room and hotel clean as a whistle. Delicious food, so good. But what makes Sunbeach great are the people -- the staff are genuine and helpful and the incredible manager Chaminda is the man. I couldn't recommend Sunbeach more.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Sunbeach for over a week and were pleasantly surprised though it is quite a cheap hotel. We loved their Sunbeach breakfast and the rest of their menu as well. But be prepared to wait up till an hour to get your order. Tree house room is nice with a great view from the balcony.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

The perfect place in the perfect spot. The staff is friendly and professional, the beach is wonderful for both surfing and relax, and food is extraordinary. Most of the rooms have a beautiful sea view, bars and clubs are at walking distance. Chaminda, the manager, is nice, helpful and very professional. Highly recommended :)

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Matteo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews