We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Blue Ocean Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Ocean Villa
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent one night here and had a great room overlooking the ocean (#2) it was good value for money and clean and tidy. The owner was very helpful and good for a chat. The A frame surf is just to the left. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
24
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spent 4 days here in late September, on the beach. The owner was very helpful and the room was inexpensive. Beautiful sunsets every night while sitting on the patio. The owner hooked us up with a driver to the airport who we highjacked into an excursion through Colombo before dropping us at the airport. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Fabulously located on the beach, we were at the back of the hotel with a great seating area that had a great sea breeze looking over at the ocean. The rooms were very big and cool due to high ceilings, there was even a fridge! The service was great and the staff were so friendly and chatty! I really enjoyed my stay here. The beds were comfy too. There was also a wardrobe with a safe. We usually never have space to put our clothes out. But by far the best part was the verandah looking over the beach.
One of our favourites!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Was supposed to spend 3 days in Hikkaduwa. Went to another guesthouse that was cheaper, but didn't like it so moved after one night. This place was great and I ended up staying 5 days and went straight to the airport from here.

The owner helped arrange a driver to the airport, and the driver was really friendly. Yes it was expensive, but on par with what I was quoted elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knn-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A spent two nights here, we found the rooms nice and spacious and located well. The host is friendly and keeps the premises clean. The only downfall was the bathroom was a bit mouldy and in need of a repaint.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Very relaxed and comfortable guest house on the beach. You can watch the surfers as you eat your toast and it's close to both the main drag and the marine park. The owner and his sister are very welcoming. The only thing ruud be that not all rooms face the beach, and service is a little slow, but really negligible factors in considering a array here

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

In my opinion this is a quite normal hotel.

We got here from Maldives and were not disappointed. We've read previous reviews and got what we expected.

The hotel's location is great, the rooms are modern enough. The only thing we were sorry about is a lack of cafes outside the hotel. The staff was very helpful and cleaned our room every day (daily change of towels, including not used ones, room service etc). Food is a bit monotonous but we were quite satisfied, we were taking two meals a day.

If you want a relaxing holiday you will get it in Blue Ocean Villa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Villa

Property: Blue Ocean Villa
Address: 420 Galle Road | Wewala, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Ocean Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing