We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hikkaduwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Reef Beach Hotel
Ranked #128 of 170 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We didn't have reservations and the staff still got a decent room with spectacular views. Very friendly staff and the small restaurant had good and cheap food. There is a diving thing also happening. It's a budget hotel but I m sure you will feel you are paying a lot less than the stay deserves. I am a bit surprised with a few comments here...... They shod have gone to coral sands next door hen.

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank anubhavsinha90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Rooms are terrible. Especially at the first floor and road side ones. One cannot survive without AC, but those rooms are non AC / AC not working / power shut down, or all of them. Rooms at the beach side is Ok, but even them do not worth more than 500 rupees. All rooms has historic / archaic beds, cabinets, doors. Bathrooms are ok. Electric heater is installed, you can get hot water if the power is available. Please check the room without paying it.

Room Tip: Never stay at rooms on roadside, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaferbozkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location on the Beach is nice, but some of the rooms are so close to the Road that its hard to sleep, cars and busses drive All night long. The rooms are not clean actually the hotel is not clean - which invites All kinds of insects, especially mosquitos and cockroaches!

Room Tip: Away from the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We came to hikkadua and paid for two nights, we didn't like the beaches nor the hotel and decided that we want only one night instead of two. Two hours after we paid we came and asked for the money back. He didn't want to give us any money.

The door of the room number 26 can't get locked. A lot of ants in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eitanmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I've been twice here. First time I stayed in a a/c room with a great view from the balcony. It was basic but still enough good. Second time I stayed there, I booked a room with fan only and it was a big mistake. The smell of mold was so strong it was hard to breathe.

Negotiate for the room price! Don't pay for a/c room any more than 4000 rp. For non a/c no more than 3000.

Their breakfast is basic but enough. Dinner and lunch you find easily from other restaurants close to the hotel.

Staff is really nice and helpful. Sometimes service is slow, but that is normal in Sri Lanka. Right?

Room Tip: Sea side with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSanSSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I did not book ahead and turned up at the hotel for a room for 3 days just for myself. They gave me a non a/c room upstairs for Rs 3,500 a night with free breakfast ( A$ 29). the room was large with 2 beds a fan and a mosquito net. Very average bathroom ( No hot water). The room was adjacent to the road and road noise kept me awake all night.

This hotel is ideal if you want to go ut diving as they have their own boat ad booking service. This was the main reason for most tourists staying at this hotel.

Breakfast was toast, jam, 2 eggs, fruit latter and coffee/ tea.

Please note there are a number of hotels starting with the name " CORAL REEF". this one is at 36 galle road, hikkaduwa. Tel. [--].

Staff were friendly. The hotel garden steps onto the beach, where all the boats are moored for diving and viewing the coral.

There are a number of eating houses around this hotel on the main road.

As such if you like diving, snorkelling and being very close tothe water, then for the price it is a bargain... but watch the downsides.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cederz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The place has good location , the toilet room has no window it was not nice at all. The service at the restaurant is terrible and the food not so good also. But worse thing is that we send throw them our lOundry, their manger said one price and when we came to pay they doubled the price and the manager didn't stand for his word and argue with us. We were amazed from their attitude. Don't book this hotel ever they don't deserve it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#7 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
745 reviews
0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
0 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Citrus Hikkaduwa
#6 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
934 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Front Villa
Sea Front Villa
#79 of 209 in Hikkaduwa
23 reviews
0 mi away
Star Holiday Resort
Star Holiday Resort
#20 of 170 in Hikkaduwa
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Beach Hotel

Address: 336 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing