We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hikkaduwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Reef Beach Hotel
Ranked #121 of 152 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“On the beach”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Ok so the place is pretty shabby but as it is a budget place you get what you pay for. Our room on the upper level was clean, insect free and had a/c and hot water. If you are there like us to enjoy the beach you do not spend much time in your room which does have a balcony with view.
The location on the beach meant that you could leave your towel, sunglasses etc in the garden area and step out to the sand with your snorkel gear and swim a short distance to the right of the hotel to see the many different fish and turtles. Lucky for us while we were there some baby turtles had just hatched so we got to release them just outside the large tourist hotel. Also we saw the large turtles while out swimming.
There is a bar beside the beach and also a place to hire diving gear and take boat trips.
We only ate the breakfast here as there were not many people around so chose to walk about 2 mins away where there are numerous restaurants to choose from. Free Internet in the lobby beside the TV. There was no loud noise at bar while we were there.

Room Tip: Get an a/c room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in January 2013. Hotel is located between main city road and ocean beach. Very close to shops, restaurants and bus station. We stayed in a room on a ground floor with the view on the ocean (via hotel garden). Room was with A/C and hot water. The positive was that in front of our room we had the ocean so it was very close and easy to go on a beach. The minus was that we weren't able to expose the window as everyone could see what we have and open the doors to vetilate the room. Please remember not to store and keep any food as ants will come :).
As for the food, hotel restaurant has a great cook who prepares tasty and balanced with spices dishes. Breakfasts were very boring - every day eggs with tosts but you may always change it according to your wishes. Waiting for the food, bill and service is extremly long and it takes about one hour to get a dish. Long waiting in restaurant is a standard on Sri Lanka so get used to it.
Hotel service is really nice and helpful.
Nights are loud as the hotel pub plays a loud disco music for the guests. It's quite difficult to sleep in such condition.
As for the beach, it's really nice, one of the best in this area. But laying on a beach encourages beach boys or other sellers to annoy with their stuff (water trips, blankets, T-shirts, toys, etc.). Buy a paper and write on it "NO, THANK YOU" - will be used commonly :).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

We didn't have reservations and the staff still got a decent room with spectacular views. Very friendly staff and the small restaurant had good and cheap food. There is a diving thing also happening. It's a budget hotel but I m sure you will feel you are paying a lot less than the stay deserves. I am a bit surprised with a few comments here...... They shod have gone to coral sands next door hen.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anubhavsinha90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Türkiye
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Rooms are terrible. Especially at the first floor and road side ones. One cannot survive without AC, but those rooms are non AC / AC not working / power shut down, or all of them. Rooms at the beach side is Ok, but even them do not worth more than 500 rupees. All rooms has historic / archaic beds, cabinets, doors. Bathrooms are ok. Electric heater is installed, you can get hot water if the power is available. Please check the room without paying it.

Room Tip: Never stay at rooms on roadside, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaferbozkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location on the Beach is nice, but some of the rooms are so close to the Road that its hard to sleep, cars and busses drive All night long. The rooms are not clean actually the hotel is not clean - which invites All kinds of insects, especially mosquitos and cockroaches!

Room Tip: Away from the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We came to hikkadua and paid for two nights, we didn't like the beaches nor the hotel and decided that we want only one night instead of two. Two hours after we paid we came and asked for the money back. He didn't want to give us any money.

The door of the room number 26 can't get locked. A lot of ants in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eitanmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I've been twice here. First time I stayed in a a/c room with a great view from the balcony. It was basic but still enough good. Second time I stayed there, I booked a room with fan only and it was a big mistake. The smell of mold was so strong it was hard to breathe.

Negotiate for the room price! Don't pay for a/c room any more than 4000 rp. For non a/c no more than 3000.

Their breakfast is basic but enough. Dinner and lunch you find easily from other restaurants close to the hotel.

Staff is really nice and helpful. Sometimes service is slow, but that is normal in Sri Lanka. Right?

Room Tip: Sea side with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSanSSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
#26 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Citrus Hikkaduwa
#7 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
856 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Beach Hotel

Property: Coral Reef Beach Hotel
Address: 336 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing