We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW wat a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Rock by Bansei
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
“WoW wat a place!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Travellers!

If you are planning a visit to south Sri Lanka, guys head to Hikkaduwa and stay at Amaya,.
The hotel is a perfect vacation. And for the rate, I would think it puts a lot of questions on the rates a lot of big brands charge for luxury.

Getting There:
From the airport taking a bus is simple but time consuming, took 7 hrs for the 120KM and 3 busses. Otherwise, Costs about 70-80 USD for a van for 5 ppl. Reaching the hotel will take 4 hrs by van.

Stay: i booked thro a site, which is far cheaper than actual over the counter bookings.

There are 2 types of rooms, one side faces the road-Strict NoNo.
Other side faces the Beach+Pool. and its a wow!

Room was awesome, modern rooms and amenities.
Had a good AC, super white beds, and a very functional washroom.
All kits provided in the washroom...
Guest service was good. Breakfast was decent.

There is no other hotel that is 5-10 mtrs from the beach. There are many other hotels, better looking/charging, but this is the only one so close.

We went in a good season which was off season for the city, October 2012 and the place was silent, went well for us asking for silent relaxation. Take a bike to the neighboring locations and enjoy the water sports, take a van and goto Galle and whale watching, all with ease of this location.

Would think its a sure shot winner!

Wud love to go bk!

Prasanna Gururajan

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the beach and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askpras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    131
    53
    27
    27
See reviews for
76
135
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in October.
We were given a ground floor sea view room, which opened directly onto the pool terrace. The room was quite small and had nowhere to hang clothes and no privacy; we had to keep the curtains drawn so it was dark and depressing. We asked for a different room and after 1 night were given a 1st floor sea view room with a balcony. This room was lovely; much bigger, fantastic view and nice private balcony.
The only problem was we were kept awake on and off during the night by the sound of a water pump, which would go for 4 seconds, stop for 15 seconds then go again. ( yes I did lay awake timing it....it was torture). We did complain but were told that "water is very important".
To be honest the room was so lovely, such a big comfortable bed with lovely soft sheets and towels, and we worked out that the noise from the overhead fan drowned out the water pump, so we decided to stay put, and it didn't bother us too much after that.
Ironically the water pressure in our room was really poor, producing just a trickle from the tap. The shower was ok.
Breakfast was fantastic; selection of fresh juice, toast, cereal, fruit, sausage, real back bacon!, beans, freshly cooked eggs, and a curry dish, rice and daal, plus good tea and coffee.
One morning we awoke too late for breakfast (not feeling our best after hitting the arrack too hard the previous night). We had a call from Dilak on the breakfast staff to say that although breakfast had finished would we like to come down and they would cook us something, as "breakfast is very important". I couldn't face it but my wife went down and they offered to bring something up to the room for me.
It's the personal touches like this from a truly genuine and friendly staff which makes all the difference.
We were hassled quite a bit by hawkers on the beach. You expect that when you're actually on the beach, but they would come right up to the terrace and shout over to you whilst you were in or by the pool. They even shouted up at you when you were on your balcony. The hotel has security personnel and I felt they should have moved people on, as I don't expect to be hassled on the hotel premises.
All in all, we had a great time here, the staff were great, the hotel facilities and food are good quality and the sunset views are stunning.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room but not on the ground floor. Keep away from the dreaded water pump on the left h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

One of the best little breaks I have ever had !! Awesome team and excellent views of the beach and infinity pool at the bedroom door !!! Magical staff who make you feel like family !! Goona be back soon !!!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms , and step into the pool every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyronMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was in this hotel spending the weekend with 8 of my friends. We got nice rooms in 3rd floor of the hotel with sea view. Overall, I was very happy with regards to the quality of hotel and the staff specially. Nice location in Hikkaduwa next to famous coral reefs. Hotel is 3 star, but I think standard was above 4 star level. Nothing much to complain, wish they had an elevator though.

Room - Nice and clean. Big LCD TV. AC available but I felt needs higher power ACs. Beds are superb, very comfortable indeed. Can sleep like a king. Balcony with direct sea view.

Pool - Small pool available next to the beach. Nothing to complain even smaller. Fresh towels were available and friendly staff to assist.

Staff - From front desk to restaurant to room service, excellent staff. I must say the service and quality of staff exceeds the level of certain 5 star hotels as well.

Restaurant - We were on full board. Nice selection of local / international menus. Nice desert with curd. Great for a food lover.

Would recommend anyone visiting Hikkaduwa.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are sea view. 2nd floor would be better as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed at Coral Rock Amaya for 2 nights in the first week of October. The stay wasn't out of this world, but was very pleasant. Absolutely nothing to complain about. The hotel from the outside doesn't look that great, but the rooms are splendid. The sea facing room had a fabulous view (Make sure if you are staying here, you get a sea facing room). The morning buffet was great - vast variety and a live counter which made Egg Hoppers (A Lankan specialty). The staff was friendly and the stay was a true VFM trip.

I read some complaints about the swimming pool being tiny. It is not tiny but relatively small. But you should ditch the swimming and go snorkeling or scuba diving instead! Probably the only thing which could have been better was that the bathroom could have been a little bigger.

One thing I've noticed about Agoda. Hotels refuse to provide Driver's accommodation if the booking is not direct. Coral Rock were open about this and said they'll get it done for LKR 800 per night. It's not a cost we had factored for, but since it wasn't too much - we didn't bother too much.

TIP: General Hikkaduwa tip. Visit in the months of November - February if you want to go scuba diving. We had to stick to snorkeling - but that's a great experience too.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EkalavyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Fantastic boutique hotel with high standards . Will definitely stay there again . Breakfast was amazing everyday . Great pool area right on the beach . Lovely restaurant next door called mammas . Nice chill out areas on each floor with ocean views

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibiza2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Nice hotel in the middle of town. Walking distance from several restaurants.
Very comfortable bed. Clean room and shower. There are better hotels around but for double the price. This towel has a very little swimming pool and it is located on the beach. But he beach wasn't suitable for swimming due to the strong currents and waves.
In short ood or one or two days of sleep over but not or a long stay. I.e. it is not a resort.

Room Tip: Take only the even room which face the sea. Odd rooms re facing the main street and are very very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,602 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock by Bansei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock by Bansei

Property: Coral Rock by Bansei
Address: 340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Bansei by Hotel J)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Rock by Bansei 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Rock by Bansei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing