We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last a good cup of coffee in Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coffee Shop

The Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Assen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At last a good cup of coffee in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you could die for a good cup of coffee, go to this place: the coffee shop. Perhaps the only drawback in Sri Lanka is the poor coffee. But after 3 weeks of suffering we found this place, excellent coffee and nice people.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    22
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
xoxo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding cafe & espresso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a delight to stumble upon Shirley and his friendly family run cafe. The coffee is REAL and served in real porcelain. Shirley pulls the perfect shot. The homemade cakes are moist yet fluffy fresh every day. It was a place that I kept wanting to return to. I do like tea. But I am a coffee gal. So to find this spot felt like home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoannaVMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good italian coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stoped for coffee in this place serveral times during our stay. really good italian coffee, we also tried the cake which was also delicious

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliettaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shelter for coffee lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The coffee shop is a shelter for coffee lovers in Sri Lanka. I had a very good cappucchino and the banana cake was very tasty

Helpful?
Thank KIlIeou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good cafe, GREAT coffee ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This ended up being my go-to coffee spot in the morning whilst staying in hikkaduwa. The staff and owner are very friendly and the coffee is delicious. I loved sitting back and drinking a coffee at one of the tables outside during the mornings. One problem I originally had with the place is that it didn't have weefee, but over time that proved to be not much of an issue, as the relaxed atmosphere made up for it. I'd definitely recommend this place to any coffee lovers and tranquility seekers.

Helpful?
Thank Joey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Shop also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 

Been to The Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing