We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #117 of 143 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great Indian dinner here sitting watching the waves at night. The waiter was very nice and the Indian food was perfect. Great samosas great curries and nice naan bread. If we had the time we would come again. Mojitos was not very good. And we would have loved panner :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsntai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian de Garabandal, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I arrived at Hotel Paradiso as I get to Sri Lanka. The hotel is located at the center of Hikkaduwa, just on the beach. The rooms are basic but clean with great view to the ocean - AMAZING sunsets! The Hotel restaurant have really good dishes - from Sri Lankan dishes, through Indian food to western dishes. The hotel owners are really nice people, and the best part about the hotel is the staff - absolutely great people: attentive, will help you with any question, or wishes. Thank you again for a great vacation, for sure will come back when I'll be back in Sri Lanka - special thanks to Asantha Hemal and Budhingar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shachar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

There are gaps between the roof and ceiling, and no mosquito net, and I got bitten even with super strong deet all over. The rooms are ugly and super noise with machines and banging and shouting from the builder. Shower was hot which was good. Food was nice but took an hour from ordering, and 20-30 minutes to get someone's attention. Dining area is a nice place to hang out. It was terribly overpriced for what it was compared to all the other amazing places we stayed. This was definitely one of the worst.

Room Tip: Try to get nearer the back, by the sea to get further away from the building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

San Felice del Benaco, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked online - despite the bad reviews which did concern us slightly, but it was very cheap so we went with low expectations, unfortunately it was even worse than we could have imagined.

When travelling we are pretty easy going, and realistic, if you get a bargain price it is for a reason. But the room was completely basic, an uncomfortable bed, thin mattress with a dirty looking blanket and pillows, a flimsy looking door and window. A towel holder and waste bin in the room and no other furniture for storage. The bathroom had a window along the top which had no curtain or blind - so people could see in if walking past (the walkway on the other side is a staff only area- but really not very practical)! We straight away started thinking about a way to hang up a sarong to maintain some dignity!
Also the room was dirty, sand and dirt on the floor, dirty mirror, it obviously does not get a proper clean. Just generally really disappointing, a really bad start to our 10 days in Hikkaduwa. Within an hour we decided to look elsewhere (we found something nearly double the price but really a hundred times better just along the beach). When we said we were leaving the hotel management just said OK - it was all already paid for so it seemed it made no difference to them. Very uncomfortable! What a waste of money, making us really have to budget for the rest of our holiday.
From what we could see walking past the other rooms (you can see right in to them) even the more expensive deluxe rooms are shabby and not even close to the quality you would imagine from the pictures they provide.
The beach area outside is also not great, you have to walk 10 minutes to get to a good part of sand. I really recommend looking elsewhere, don't make the same mistake we did!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich_and_Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The room was not very nice, not very clean, the food was to expensive and the quality was way lower than I expected.

There is not a good beach in front of the resort, you have to walk approx 200 meters to get to the sandy bottom.

They have a nice crue, but mister boss is spreading bad vibes.

My suggestion is: Find another place to stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank jarjan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

The location was ok on the beach front but the quality of the rooms did not match the photos on the website.

The rooms felt damp due to bring close to the sea and the staff were disrespectable keeping us awake with other guests until 5am.

We had booked 4 nights and left Hikkaduwa after 1 as it put us off the area entirely.

I would find a different place to stay than here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tishtash67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colomb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Did not enjoy my first, and hopefully last experience at Paradiso.
The water coming from the shower and faucets was filthy. The beds didn't look much cleaner, but I tried not to think about it. The towels may be from the 90s. After informing the manager that we would be out for a while, he left, the guard locked the front door and went to sleep and took his time waking up to come let us in. There are definitely better places to stay in Hikkaduwa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
#25 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amadeo Beach Resort
Amadeo Beach Resort
#58 of 143 in Hikkaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Curry Bowl Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Note
Hotel Blue Note
#31 of 143 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Gate Hotel
#62 of 143 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#76 of 163 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Property: Hotel Paradiso
Address: 406 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Hikkaduwa beach, Hotel Paradiso is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hikkaduwa. Only 130. Km away, this 2.5-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.Hotel Paradiso also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Hikkaduwa. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like disabled facilities, safety deposit boxes, coffee shop, airport transfer, laundry service/dry cleaning. Step into one of 13 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as non smoking rooms, balcony/terrace, hair dryer, internet access – wireless (complimentary), desk. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including water sports (non-motorized), garden, massage, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Hotel Paradiso is your one-stop destination for quality hotel accommodations in Hikkaduwa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing