We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
pool side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool side
gatehouse front view of villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
pool side
gatehouse
front view of villa
relaxing in front garden
lotus in pond
entry lobby
entry lobby
entry lobby
flowers
detail of art work
front pavillion
pool with infinity view over rice paddies
pool pavilion
garden view2
garden view3
front pavilion
monkeys in garden
One of Chef Roshan's meals
'bali style' ensuite
infinity pool
lotus
chicken ala hikka
cushions
galle lace bedspreads
towels
bathroom
bedroom
bathroom
cupboard
pasta pesto
dining at gallinda watta
seafood medley
asian paradise flycatcher
kingfisher dreaming
pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tour41548
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

My partner and I just spent a fantastic fortnight at the Stonewell Villa. We arrived early while there were guests still in the Villa but Osman welcomed us with a pot of coffee down by the pool while he and Kalu, the taxi driver, put or bags in storage until the other guests had left. Our first night and first morning we were greeted and inspected by a group of purple faced monkeys, which was fantastic. The first week we spent quite a lot of our time at the pool where Osman served tasty lunches and we counted the numerous different types of birds we saw in the garden. Around 4-5pm quite a few of the birds take a dip aþ the deep end of the pool which gave us some fantastic photos. The second week was spent doing tours and going to local attractions like the turtle sanctuary and the lagoon safari which we had done on previous visits to Hikkaduwa but were still worth redoing. All the time we were looked after and assisted by Osman and Kasun and we can't thank you guys enough for you help, especially when our son Martin came to visit on the second week!
We also need to thank Tam for being so accommodating with us, it was appreciated. For a relaxing holiday I can highly recommend the Stone wall Villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
Thank you Steve for a lovely review. So glad you saw the monkeys. Sadly they are disappearing due to loss of habitat. Wonderful that you and your family appreciated the variety of birds that frequent the garden.

Will pass on your thanks to Osmon and Kasun.

Hope to welcome you back soon

Best wishes,

Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPDerby
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay ”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights as 3 couples all the rooms are lovely clean and comfortable. We ate here 3 times and the food was amazing all beautifully presented We were looked after extremely well the gardens are well kept and the pool lovely and clean. It was a short journey into town walkable in about 30 mins. Lots of wildlife to see in the garden. All the staff were very friendly helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Tam was very helpful with directions for our arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
So glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay and for your lovely comments on the staff and the villa. Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy1168
Castlemaine, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our favorite stay in our whole trip to Sri Lanka.
Just a short drive from the main beach area of Hikkaduwa the property is in the middle of a stunning lush jungle area the grounds are imacculately kept by the gardner Kasun who is a really lovely guy and takes great pride in his work.
The house is immaculate and very comfortable, There are three bedrooms but we had the whole place to ourselves. Sampath greeted us with a big smile which made us feel relaxed straight away, he is learning english and is doing very well but needs to be more confident with his speaking. Osmon the chef is fabulous and together the three make a great team. Breakfast is included and you can have western or Sri Lankan but I would recommend the Sri Lankan, on the first day we had Kirri Bath with fish curry plus fresh fruit and coffee, next day was string hoppers with an amazing potato curry and pol sambol. Osmon is also happy to take requests that are not on the menu. We asked him to cook a whole fish, devilled prawns, salad and french fries which was delicious and he even made a special sauce for the fish. Sampath sets a lovely table and was very good at napkin art, bless him. Our room had a gorgeous indoor/outdoor bathroom which was beautiful.
The pool is stunning and you can choose to have your meals there if you like as there is a pavilion with fans, toilet, sink etc. The stunning infinity pool looks out over rice paddies and jungle, while swimming we saw wild peacocks, squirrels, exotic birds, goanna's and two lovey purple leaf faced monkeys making their way across the tops of the trees on the property (don't worry, they don't come near humans).
The guys can order a tuk tuk or taxi if you want to go anywhere or it is about 1km walk down a country lane to the beach.
There is also a guest fridge and a washing machine which is very handy.
We wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely stay again, in fact we are thinking of brining friends next time. SO relaxing

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Dear Lindy,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of the villa and gardens.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you Samantha for the lovely review. So glad you were able to swim with the turtles. A truely magical experience. Love to have you visit us again. Best wishes, Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dee c
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hikka hideaway”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Really enjoyed the typically Asian style bungalow, polished cement floors and whitewashed walls, SriLankan chic. We swam overlooking buffalos in rice paddy, private and lush. Saw a rare black monkey (purple faces I think I was told by a local), in properties coconut trees.
Poolside cabana was fave afternoon spot for GnTs
Loved the slow pace and 10min stroll to busy 'high street'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Hello Dee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Villa Gallindawatta and for your kind words.
We are so glad that enjoyed you stay and that you enjoyed the relaxed feel. It really is a small slice of heaven. ! Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plfin
Siikajoki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place with very good pool area with some things to note.”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

AS this place was rated very high by others, i have to explain why i did not give so high remarks. This place was now under new management and staff and they were not yet in the level that they should be.
But anyhow, you have read of all those nice things on other reviews so i focus now on those challenges we met.
* We agreed extra bed in one bedroom. That was not there when we arrived BUT they fixed that next day. Good.
* Staff there were not speaking English. Even one of them should, actually he didn't. Even simplest things were not very easy to cope and that led us and staff for many calls to real managers (who actually reside in Colombo).
* There is NO KITCHEN for tenants. That was very, very big disappointment for us. There were no even refrigerator for us to use. After some discussions, we got one shelf for us on refrigerator in a scullery, and microwave oven. So only way to get something to eat is to order from these guys something to eat from menu or go eat somewhere else. For many this is just ok so if you like that you have "mini restaurant" at your villa, then this is just fine. Menu was quite short and pricing was quite alike on restaurants nearby. Food was ok but nothing special (cook was different than other reviews). But for us this was more like "we would like to get more revenue and profit" denying tenants to cook by themselves. Other villas i have used with cook included, cook have prepared meal we mutually agreed and we have paid only groceries based on receipts.
NOTE: Prices in menu do NOT include 10% service fee and it has NOT been mentioned in menu.
* You are not totally alone as staff is living in same property. 24h.
* There were one day heavy, heavy rains and roof was leaking in main bathroom directly to table. Luckily our hair dryer was not connected to electricity as it got wet. Also water was leaking in hall. And two of three toilets were clogged.
* There is a safety box in master bedroom for your valuables BUT it was not connected/fastened to nothing. So not very safe.
* Pool was working only partially (something wrong there) and they didn't get it fixed on that 6 days we stayed.
* WIfi connectivity was quite poor and day times it actually did not work at all. Best time to get decent connectivity was early in the morning (before 6am).

Regardless of these challenges, would recommend this place but you have to understand realities of this place. Especially pool area was very nice and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: No kitchen for tenants to use
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Villa Gallindawatta,
Your comments have been noted. We wish you and your family all the very best and good luck with all your future travels.

Kind regards

Fiona, Glenn, Sampath, and Sandun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrielM
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

booked this villa many months prior and have to say that Tam was absolutely fantastic and answered all our questions and queries we had before we arrived. The villa is lovely and has everything needed and the gardens were stunning.
The 2 guys who look after the villa Asita and Asela were just brilliant, they played cricket endlessly with my boys (11 and 14) and even bought my eldest a card and a present as it was his birthday when we were there, so I cannot say enough good things about them. We ate in about half the time and the curries were wonderful as was the breakfast, when we ate out we enjoyed Asian Jewel, Refresh and the hotel called Bansai.
All in all an incredible holiday in a wonderful location, great villa and the friendliest people you could wish to meet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you Caroline and Marcus for the lovely review. So glad you had a great holiday. I will be at the villa in October so will pass on your kind comments to Asela and Asitha when I see them.
Best wishes, Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing