We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In every way excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hug Inn

Hug Inn
Ranked #60 of 110 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Sri Lankan, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: Hug Inn is the location for a perfect gate away, where relaxation and good spirit is brought to our guests by our welcoming employees.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In every way excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Kamal greets us like long lost friends, Food excellent, I'm sure the accommodation shares the same quality. Lovely space outside with hammock to chill on the beach and spend your days! A must visit!!!! Next time I will be booking to stay at the Hug Inn!!! Thanks Kamal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    11
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood and nice beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The restaurant and all place with a garden is very nice! Clean toilets!
Staff was friendly.
Tuna salad was great, the same MiX juice - very good!
I couldn't see the rooms, they were all occupied.
Nice place very close to the beach.
Good job, Hug Inn.
If i come again to Hikkaduwa i'll do a reservation for the room in advance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VALerij Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great seafood and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had the best fish meal in hikkaduwa at this restaurant and prices are competitive. They also serve a great tuna salad if you are after something lighter. Ate here several times. Very clean and friendly service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odeceixe, Portugal
2 reviews
“Delicious, nutricious and every other word that ends with "icious"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The restaurant is lovely! Great food served everyday with care and high prestine consideration towards the customers. It wasn't because I was starving that the food tasted lovely! It's because it actually is awesome! I wasn't hungry on my last day there and it still felt like the first time! 5 stars!
My kindest regards and have a saucy time!
Rafael...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RafaelLovesSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrible food, great location!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This was by far the worst food we had during our 2 week stay in Sri Lanka. Only went to this place because of what I read on Tripadvisor, but I'm thinking there must have been some mistake as the food was awful. Burger for the kids looked great, but tasted like road-kill (hope it wasn't, still not sure!), tuna was untouchable, pancake roll with beef was undescribably bad and the bruscheta was covered with chopped onions. All this terrible food in sucha a beautiful beach location and with such friendly staff. This place is everything you'd expect a beach hut restaurant to be, simply fantastic (albeit they don't serve booze so for a cold beer step next door!), but make sure you stick with the nice fruit cocktails and stay away from the food...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntonioNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SasKa K, Owner at Hug Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear family,

thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the food quality issue and we will do our best that the quality of our dishes will remain as good as it gets.
We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling satisfied and happy.
If you come back to our restaurant one day, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you and your family the very best.

Hug Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hug Inn also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to Hug Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing