We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food in Paradise!”

Kalla Bongo Lake Resort Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 111 Restaurants in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Sri Lankan, International, Asian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A la carte dining / International kitchen / Magnificent view / Free Wifi / Bar open: 11 AM - 11 PM / Restaurant open: Breakfast 7 AM - 10 AM / Lunch 12 Noon - 3 PM / Dinner 6 PM - 9 PM / All rates INCL VAT and service charge
Tiel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Food in Paradise!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The most impressive menu I could wish .... Gamba's, prepared in several ways....
Not so nice but very rarely: the moment there were no gamba's in stock!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Au3drey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Amazing"”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

As we were staying at the Kalla Bongo for 2 weeks we used the restaurant most evenings. The food is excellent and the menu can be adapted to suit particular needs. The waiters are attentive and always have a smile on there face. The views from the restaurant are breathtaking. If you are staying in Hikkaduwa this is definitely worth the short Tuk Tuk ride. Prices are comparable to other places we tried in the town but the quality of food, service and location far exceeds other establishments.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dazzla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lovely staff”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Yummy food, very reasonably priced, and lovely welcoming staff. We came and had lunch at the restaurant, which we both agreed was one of the tastiest meals we've had in sri lanka so far, and enjoyed the most beautiful views over the lake! We spent an amazing day exploring the lake by canoe, relaxing by the pool and eating delicious food. A world away from the busy beach where we are staying. Definitely worth a day trip here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“The prawns were great!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Good food and friendly staff in a calm and exclusive environment!
Highly recommended!
A perfect alternative to the noicy beach. A beer on the bridge or a good glas of vine in the garden is a perfect start on a delicious dinner. Enjoy the dinner to the tunes of the jungle.
Best wishes, familjen Radne from Sweden

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radnefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalla Bongo Lake Resort Restaurant also viewed

Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 
Hikkaduwa, Galle District
 

Been to Kalla Bongo Lake Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing