We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good value hotel near the centre of Hikkaduwa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lanka Supercorals
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good value hotel near the centre of Hikkaduwa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

This was a basic, but good value for money hotel. The staff are really helpful at all times; cheerful and good natured people. The breakfast was rather limited, but there are plenty of very cheap places to eat near by. Room was quite large with an excellent sea view and balcony, but could do with some fresh paint. A good sized swimming pool. No telephone in room, but room service is possible via reception. Room service is expensive (R250 for a pot of tea or coffee). Small fridge in room. Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMichael9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    47
    35
    21
See reviews for
46
61
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

Supercorals - Excellent location with lovely friendly quirky bar "moon bevy "opposite.
Nice room simply furnished and clean. balcony over looking pool and sea. Hanging clothes rail for wet stuff..... beach wear.. hand washing etc. Wonderful view.

2 mins walk for good places to eat.

whole of hikkaduwa can be walked in 15 minutes... when really hot, tuks tuks are everywhere and pennies!

staff friendly and helpful, breakfast satisfying... did not see much of evening meals, but you can go next door to amaya for superb buffet.

we stayed 7 nights... cheap.. very cheerful... will go back.....
if you cannot climb stairs ask for room on 1st floor as there is no lift...upper fllors quite a tough climb!!!

great hotels for couples, groups of friends etc. manager helpful....
really good value for money!! hikkaduwa a fun location.... quiet.. tranquil... shopping if you want... a selection of eateries and quirkly little bars!! enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappySueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Lanka Supercorals, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

We didn't stay at the Lanka Super corals, but we did use thier sunbeds everyday for 10 days whilst in Hikkaduwa.
I would say that there have been changes to the hotel since the last time we were there in August 2006. It looks as if the repairs and improvements are slowly getting done.
They have revamped the reception area, and the outside of the hotel has had a lick of paint, but I think that's as far as it goes so far.
Super corals if definatly the poor relation in comparison to the Amaya reef next door, and the Coral gardens down the end of the road, but I would say in value of staff and service they are equal.
The pool hopefully will be thier next big investment, as it really needs a complete re fit, the tiles are grubby and the filter doesn't seem to be working all the time, but they definatly are trying the best with what they've got, and spend a lot of time scrubbing and vacuming.
Still, I wouldn't like this hotel to become the most popular place, as my peace and quiet laying on thier sunbeds would be spoilt !
How selfish, however I think they deserve a break, if you're looking for a cheap hotel and don't mind a bit of old fashioned decor this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lallymagate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2006

The Lanka Supercorals was badly damaged in the 2004 tsunami. Thus it would be unfair to point out the blindingly obvious, that parts of the ground floor are ruined. Rather I am impressed by the progress that has been made in repairing the place. The combined garden / pool area is beautiful. Regarding the rooms, you will get what you pay for: the inexpensive rooms are quite decent but have simpler furniture and occasional ugly spots, the better rooms (which I only looked into, and can't describe in any detail) have fancy furniture and seem very nice.

The location is central, and probably one of the best in town, at the north end of the "surf strip" where most beach restaurants are found. The main "highway" between Colombo and Galle passes right through every village on the coast, so there is lots of traffic, but it can not be seen or heard from the pool or our room, which had a fine view over the garden and the sea (rooms facing the road should probably be avoided).

Good sides include a spotless pool area, location right by the beach, efficient - but somewhat noisy - air conditioning (5 USD daily surcharge when upgrading from a non-A/C room, well worth the money), reliable hot water, free deposition of valuables, very friendly staff, that rooms are cleaned and beds made every day without exception, and that the staff and helpers are efficient without obviously hanging around and fishing for a tip (although a small tip may be appropriate when you check out). And aside from the mosquitos (a major nuisance) we saw absolutely no pests (we regarded the gecko lizards as pets).

Among the bad sides it can be mentioned that our balcony had no furniture, that mosquitos make it into the rooms (also the air-conditioned ones, but to a lesser extent) and that there are no mosquito nets over the beds, that the fairly modern plumbing has been inexpertly installed and repaired, and that the reception is unmanned at night (the staff on the night shift can't access the safe deposit or handle administrative duties). Repairs after the tsunami are constantly in progress, but without causing any noise or obstruction. And you will want to stroll a couple hundred metres north (best snorkling, lots of colourful aquatic life, but tricky currents) or south (best surfing and swimming) along the beach before you jump into the water, the coral reef goes all the way to the shore at the hotel and makes swimming difficult. On the other hand, you can see giant turtles grazing in the shallow water there.

Also the restaurant, which supposedly was first-class in the past, nowadays hardly makes any effort to live up to its reputation and it was often difficult to determine if it was opened or closed. It is OK for simpler snacks, but there are numerous better restaurants a minute's walk away if you want a proper dinner.

The periodic, "rotating" power outages are characteristic for the whole town of Hikkaduwa with surroundings and affect hotels, shops and restaurants alike. This nuisance is deliberately arranged by the power company whenever production doesn't meet the demand, and is not really something the hotel can be blamed for.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vittfarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2004

The reception seemed nice but the rooms were tired and not maintained, to the extent that our bath had a huge rust patch in the centre (one of many problems, including losing power to the rooms at random times). The service was also dire, slow and uninterested. Would recommend that you try anywhere else rather than here, we stayed one night and then thankfully moved to Bentota.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.5 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#16 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
#26 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#9 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanka Supercorals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanka Supercorals

Property: Hotel Lanka Supercorals
Address: #390, Galle Road | Hikkaduwa., Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Lanka Supercorals 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lanka Supercorals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Corals Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing