We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Beach Resort”
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach Resort”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is among the several resorts in that area but I think the best one if you compare the prices and location. This one is bang on the beach providing awesome view and golden sand beach right outside your room. The rooms are big and comfortable. First floor rooms certainly have better view of Indian Ocean. The resort has two Pools. They serve some awesome food around the world but it is advisable to have local cuisine because you will not get such flavors any where else. There are many activities to do around the beach A Massage center, Diving, Snorkeling, Glass Bottom Boat etc. The staff is very friendly and provide u all what u need.. The reception lady was more than helpful ( Cant remember her name ). It was a fantastic stay..

Room Tip: Get a upper floor rooms more preferably above reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiyushSengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive comment.

My team & I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You seem to have crammed as many activities as possible into each day during your 3 day stay with us. Your enthusiasm about our local food as well as the comments about our location, the friendly nature of the staff and other activities available are much appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    254
    114
    24
    36
See reviews for
183
295
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here two weeks for holiday, heading back in 2014. So must be good! Lots f returning holiday makers here.

Great size hotel allowing for..

Great beach front facing rooms, I opted superior room, no faults, 32 inch tv, beautiful balcony, double bed, a.c never damp as reviews suggest. Bathroom fine. Room cleaned daily in morning and turned down I evening.

Two pools, great sunbathing area. Both pool boys excellent and happy you with towels, location and support. Every day my sunbed was ready, thanks team!

Beach lovely and gated severe access for lush walks on golden sand.

Bar on site very good and happy hour!

Currency exchange on site, reception helpful.

I did bed and breakfast and found locally the shops, food and beer great!

I really enjoyed my stay, the Sri Lankan people are excellent as I knew.

Look forward to returning!

Room Tip: I had 303 loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your ‘FAB’ review! What a great start for the month of December!!

We look forward to welcome you when you return as promised.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the Coral Sands for 2 nights in the beginning of November. We were in Hikkaduwa mainly for the beach and a bit of snorkeling, so then it was a perfect location. It is a bit further north than many of the other places in Hikkaduwa, but there are still plenty of restaurants and shops around.
The hotel is nice, but remember that this is not a 5 star resort. The rooms are normal, clean and basic. The staff is very friendly, and we were welcomed with fresh juice upon arrival. We arrived early, and our room was not ready, but we relaxed by the nice pool while waiting. We also received a welcome drink, and we felt the staff was very nice. There is a nice closed off garden just in from the beach which has its own security, and you can just run out to the beach to swim or snorkel.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andeloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

As you rightly say, our location is the best for snorkeling. The reef protected sea – with the warm waters of the Indian Ocean, complete with colourful fish - & a turtle or two if you are lucky - offers snorkelers unending enjoyment.

We look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spent a night at Coral sands on half board basis with a sea facing room. Few points why I don't feel this hotel is value for money -
1) I was promised a sea facing room. First they tried putting me in a room which faced an open air restaurant on their property. (Yes it was still sea facing as there was the sea behind the restaurant). I could see people moving about on the terrace outside my room giving them a nice view into my room. I asked to be shifted and was promptly put into another room which was better, but had an upward sloping roof just outside my room's balcony. All other rooms on the same floor had a direct sea view but I was told everything else was booked up.
2) Half board does not make sense at this hotel as the food is at best average. There are several other good options nearby which you would miss out on as you have already paid half board here. The night we were here, Indian menu was served but we did not find anything Indian about the food other than the names.

What's good about the place -
- access to the beach directly
- snorkeling and diving activities next door
- happening place

Room Tip: Avoid room 131 and 141 in deluxe category. If budget permits go for super deluxe as they have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJBanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are saddened by the fact that your one night stay at Coral Sands was not up to your expectations. Your comments about our location with it’s easy access to the beach & the sea are appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 12 nights in November 2013. Unfortunately, there's not much positive to say about the hotel. Where do all the good reviews come from?!

The hotel is located directly at the beach, but doesn't have a private beach – it has sunbeds in the garden, you access the beach through a gate. There's a swimming area and a reef close to the hotel. Snorkeling is OK, but not spectacular. There's two small pools at the hotel, the hotel provides beach-towels. The pools were clean.

We had booked an „economy“ room – which, when booked through a German travel agency (like we did), usually means clean, comfortable rooms without extra luxuries. At Coral Sands, the economy rooms look like bad hostel rooms and so we decided to upgrade to a “standard” room, which cost an extra 20€/night (overpriced, if you ask me!) and was still like a hostel room. A “deluxe” room would have cost an extra 40€/night and, as the only room, had a TV and a tea-pot and a slightly nicer bathroom.

The standard room we had was constantly damp – I mean, humidity is expected, considering that this is a tropical country, but the room smelled foul, the bedsheets felt damp, all of our clothes ended up smelly and damp as well… There was mold on the bathroom ceiling and inside the closet (which was so disgusting we didn't dare unpack). The most disgusting thing, however, was this: When we arrived, we leaned our backpacks against a wall in the room and left them there for about 9 days (we needed them for a daytrip to Galle). In those 9 days, both our backpacks got covered in white-green mold and smelled horrible.
You can't open the windows in the rooms, the only thing you can open is the balcony door, which doesn't let in a lot of air, though. It does let in loads of mosquitos, though. The aircon and the fan worked just fine, but the lack of fresh air and constant smell was annoying.

Other than that, the rooms were regularly cleaned and tended to by the staff, so that was ok.

The staff in the hotel was generally very friendly and helpful.

We had opted for a half-board. The breakfasts were great – a lot of variety, fresh fruits, bacon and eggs, fresh waffles, pastries, local options (rice, curries…). The dinner, however, wasn’t very good – there were various options and a different menu every night, but it just wasn’t great food… Too little meat (and bad quality – chewy, tough), almost no pasta (which is a fall-back option when you don’t like something)… We ended up eating side-dishes a lot of time (rice, potatoes), because the food was sub-par.

The snacks and meals at the restaurant – for lunch - are overpriced, especially pasta. The “Gourmet burger” is quite nice. All prices listed are without tax, which I thought was a little deceitful. A service fee of 10% (typical in Sri Lanka) is added to all prices. Drinks are reasonably priced, except for bottled water – for everyday drinking (not at dinner), do yourself a favor and go to one of the numerous mini-markets across the street, where you get 5L of water for 140 rupees, while at the hotel a 0.75L bottle is 150 PLUS tax. In general, you’re better off going out for food and drinks.

There is a busy, dusty street right behind the hotel – luckily, all rooms face the sea, so you don’t hear much of the street, but it’s not a very pleasant area for strolls and/or shopping. We have been to developing countries before, but we were surprised by how poor Sri Lanka is in comparison.

The hotel was a major disappointment, but having seen the other hotels in Hikkaduwa, it is probably one of the better ones.

Room Tip: Economy and Standard rooms are comparable to a bad hostel. Deluxe rooms seemed a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Your review has been read with a great deal of concern.

As I have reiterated numerous times before, economy & standard rooms are offered at a lower rate as these are basic rooms without the additional facilities available in the deluxe rooms.

The least expensive category of rooms has been accepted by the agents as fit to be offered as economy rooms in order to have a cheaper option available.

All standard rooms have been refurbished recently & one of these was occupied by you,. As such It's rather questionable that you would say these resemble hostel rooms. We are much perturbed regarding the issues raised by you. Remedial action would be taken to counter this. Thank you for all your observations. Ours is a tropical country with a high level of humidity & daily cleaning is an absolute necessity. A ‘do not disturb’ sign could result in unnecessary issues.

Your comment in respect of dinner has been looked in to with menus being checked for the entire period of your stay. A minimum of 12 main dishes which includes chicken, fish & at least one other kind of meat have been on the menu in addition to the side dishes & action stations serving beef, pork & mutton on most days. All members of our staff remember you and your girl friend well and the restaurant staff is certain that there was no complaint from you at any time.

We apologize for any short-comings on our part while assuring you that all issues raised by you are being looked into. The numerous reviews done by our guests are a testament to the enjoyable time they have had at Coral Sands. Ours is a 3 star property. While we would do everything possible to ensure an enjoyable stay for all, I would like to refer to a review of another guest a while back which says that 'most negative comments are due to unrealistic expectations' which I believe are beyond the scope of a 3 star property.

We hope you will visit us again & give us the opportunity to ensure you have a wonderful 'Coral Sands Experience'

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Coral Sands is located just behind the Marine Sanctuary. The reef for snorkeling is situated only 100 meters from the shore, so easy access. The hotel offer the rate including half board, which is a very good deal as the food is excellent. There is also 2 swimming pools, nice garden good beach bar and excellent service.
We during our stay even was alerted at midnight by the security staff that a big turtle had come up on the beach and was digging a hole for its turtle eggs just in front of the hotel - laying about 150 eggs. As the place was well lighted and with hotel security close by, they will be leaving the eggs so there should be an opportunity to see the small turtles coming out of the eggs 45 days later - so do come to the hotel for New Year 2013/14, then the small turtles should hatch exactly at midnight - what a potential fantastic experience and chance to start the New Year helping small turtles safely to the sea. We anyhow enjoyed to see the turtle dig and laying the eggs.

Room Tip: Best rooms is situated with great balconies on first floor above the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive review with it’s comments regarding our unparalleled location, food & other facilities.

You have been very fortunate indeed to be at Coral Sands on the night the turtle laid the eggs. I’m certain you are aware of the connection between the laying of eggs & the lunar calendar.

We are very enthusiastic about your suggestion that we safeguard the eggs till hatching time. Thank you for the idea. It would be an exhilarating experience for all. As you say it would be such a rare sight for all the guests if the hatching happens on New Year’s Eve!

Thanking you for your continued patronage of Coral Sands & looking forward to your next visit,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Only negative was we booked a standard room and found it too basic for our needs...no tv, frig or safe.. We upgraded to a delux room and it is great, all you need and lovely balcony with sea view, well worth the extra $20.
I agree with all the positive comments on here so won't repeat them, I do however think the half board option well worth it. Lovely be able to have nice breakfast then head for swim and the evening buffet is great. Tried a couple of the local restaurants for lunches and found them quite pricey.
Also loved the beach here, small reef with tropical fist swimming around you is lovely and netted bathing area great. Haven't been to bentota but this beach was great.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

My team & I are delighted with the grading & the recommendation given to us as well as all other positive comments.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed swimming among the colourful fish in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. Your comment about breakfast & dinner buffet is much appreciated. Opting for half board is always a wise decision as you pay slightly more than for bed & breakfast for a dinner buffet - as opposed to a few dishes elsewhere.

Looking forward to your next visit to Coral Sands,

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,609 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing