We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the coral beach”
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel on the coral beach”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for 7 days and liked it so good that we extended our visit with 5 more days. We did not do the full pension - just breakfast (which was good). Lunch and dinner we did here and there in the area.
The beach has a coral area just about 60 m from the shore. Here we snorkeled accompanied by gigantic turtels. There were many of them. And there were multitudes of colourful fish to look at. The pool area was nice and the service was impecable.
We stayed at top floor and had a fantastic view to the beach, ocean and the sunset. May be a little excpensive, but it is worth it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steppern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review.

I’m glad that we were able to extend your stay as we have been working on almost full capacity on most days.

You are one of many who had the good fortune to have turtles as your snorkelling companions while being surrounded by a large number of colourful fish. These gentle giants are known to nudge the snorkelers & the tales we hear constantly are amazing.

You are also fortunate to have been offered a free upgrade to a Super Deluxe room due to non availability of deluxe rooms on the day of your arrival. The supplement you pay for a top floor Super Deluxe rooms with superb views of the Indian Ocean is definitely worth it.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    254
    114
    24
    36
See reviews for
183
295
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Coral Sands hotel. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The food was incredible buffet style with just so much choice and everything your heart could desire. Our room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the garden and sea. Swimming pool was lovely, bar was lovely. Couldn't fault it, would go back and wished we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room upstairs...worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your superb review which earned us a near perfect score on the Customer Satisfaction Index of TripAdvisor. .

My team & I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would have certainly done all possible to extend your stay – had it been within our control. Your comments in respect of our service, food, location & rooms are greatly appreciated.

As I have mentioned before, we strive to reach a notch further than customer satisfaction & ambitiously aim for ‘customer delight’. Your review proves beyond any doubt that we have achieved this.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.
Hikkaduwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We went to a no. of hotels in sri lanka.but we havent seen such a great place yet.everyt thing & all should be appreciated.from management to minus staff,all are very kind,helpf full in all maner.we have to be very great full to miss maleesha to give us her kind regard when we made our boking of the hotel.this time we spent 2 nights in the hotel(19'th&20'th april)(in room no.xl.008) actually we felt that there are more things in increasing of all facilities than ever before.there is a great variety of food in excellent condition,cleanliness is perfect of all over the place.so we can recommend this hotel as an excellent place to spend your holiday happily& lovely.

lalith ,priyangi& kids.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

My team & I are appreciative of all your positive comments following your two night stay with us with your family. I note with pleasure that you were able to enjoy our hospitality from the moment the booking was done with Maleesha.

We would be embarking on a major renovation programme soon & look forward to welcome you to a vastly improved hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Hikkaduwa at the end of March. This was our first time in Sri Lanka. Hopefully not our last time.

Check in: we arrived around 7pm after a long journey and check in was quick and effective. No long filling in of forms and hanging around. We were given room keys and safe keys and shown to our room. I went back to reception and asked for mosquito nets as I had found a couple of mosquitos in our room. The nets were installed while we went to gave dinner and the room was also sprayed.

Cleanliness: The general cleanliness was very good and would have received 5 stars had it not been for some areas of dark mold on the lower part of the shower surround. Room was cleaned daily.

Food: I have stayed in a number of hotels around the world where I have eaten hotel food. I found the food at Coral Sands hotel at the top end of this. Good variety of dishes. Lovely soups. Good selection of puddings. Only complaint - more Sri Lankan dishes needed. Loved the Dhal curry.

Staff and service: Staff very friendly and helpful. Waiters attentive. Pool boy put towels on two loungers outside our room door every morning, which was very helpful (we had a ground floor room).

General ponts: good location. Easy access to the beach. Nice warm pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylkeplichta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review.

Thank you too for your recommendation & your time spent in presenting a detailed overview of your stay which would be useful to future travellers. Your comments regarding our location, cleanliness, food & our most important asset – our staff are much appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to Coral Sands.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just spent a week at the Coral Sands in Hikkaduwa and had a brilliant time. The staff were just excellent and couldn't do enough for you. Everyone from reception to restaurant were so helpful, nice and friendly. The location is perfect - nearby to shops and restaurants. It is right on a beautiful beach with direct access. We even saw turtles a couple of times during our stay.The food was nice and varied with lots of choice and they cater for all tastes. We had a deluxe room which looked out onto the pool and beach - the view was amazing! The room was spacious and clean with a lovely balcony - perfect to sit and watch the sun go down (sunsets were wonderful). I would definitely go back and felt sad to leave - it felt as though we were leaving old friends. Thanks very much to you all.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are probably the quieter ones as there are some buses and lorries on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review which earned us a near perfect ranking on the customer satisfaction index of TripAdvisor.

Your comments in respect of our location, staff, food & all else are greatly appreciated. Once the planned refurbishment is completed some of the upper floor rooms will have extended balconies replete with sun loungers from where you will be able to watch the stunning sunsets. All this for your next visit.

We are glad that you were able to see the turtles, which has now become a major attraction. The female turtles come to the shore in the night to lay their eggs, and this generally happens closer to the full moon day. Many guests have had good fortune to witness this right opposite the hotel area.

We look forward to welcome you when you return to Coral Sands as intended.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinslöv
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

actually we spent our nights at another hotel but ours days were spent here, we were well taken care of the hotels GRO Maleesha,( we stayed at this hotel the year before but as I was stomach operated I couldn't eat a full menu - the food is absolutely divine), it costs us 1000 rupees a day with 4 towels, parasol, sunbeds o table, there 2 swimming pools which suited us down to a t
this year they had taken down the fence between the hotel o the sea making it so much more beautiful
whilst baking in the sun we noticed a pigeon had got itself caught up in some netting, the new pool boy made his way all the way up to the roof to release it - well done
also new for this visit is a local made jewellery shop on the hotel premises, some of the pieces were very tempting, the personal were very polite o some of them remembered us from the other year
quite possible that we will return next season
this time there were lots of Russians there o they were noticeable!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your superb review.

I note with pleasure that you were looked after well by Maleesha. We are glad you opted to spend the day time at our hotel. We missed your regular presence at our north pool once you left.

Your comment about the caring nature of the pool attendant has been noted.

We have had good weather right through the season other than for evening thunder showers & we wish you were here to see the flowers blooming along the boundary area - flowers instead of a fence!

We look forward to welcome you when you return to Coral Sands,

Kind regards

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for 10 days each time during our recent trip to Sri Lanka,second time it was like coming home, so welcoming from the pool attendant to the Managing Director.
Fabulous location on the beach, amazing contrast when you step outside the front door to the hustle and bustle of a Sri Lankan street.
We are vegetarian and received an excellent variety of meals.
The views and sunsets were stunning from your balcony,lots of local colour on the beach and no hassle from anyone.
Lovely to step out onto the beach and enjoy snorkelling on the coral gardens, lots fish and turtles.
Thank you Siri and your team,we will return soon with our family next time

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a super deluxe room either four poster bed and considered it worth every rupee
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Greetings from CORAL SANDS
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Good to know you are back home safe. We hope the recent floods in Southern England did not cause any damage to your property.

Your comments in respect of our location, food & staff are much appreciated. As you mention the sunsets here are stunning & watching it from the balcony is a truly exhilarating experience.

We are glad you had a relaxing holiday at Coral Sands away from your busy life style back home.

All of us at Coral Sands look forward to welcome you when you return with your family as promised.

Kind regards,

Siri E. Goonewardene,
Managing Director,
CORAL SANDS HOTEL LTD.,
Hikkaduwa,
Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,603 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing