We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and pavilion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and pavilion
pool view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Pool and pavilion
pool view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
judithcha...
UK, Warrington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pure tranquility”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the villa for 14 nights in August and can say from booking the villa we could not wait. Tam the owner was very helpful and kept in touch with us.

Firstly the villa - in beautiful surroundings and we felt very much home from home. The villa had everything you could possible want and the space and bedrooms were of a good size. Sometimes we felt like we were rattling around as there were only 2 of us and the villa is really for 6 people.

Thushara and Roshan really look after us. Roshan offered advice of where to go to eat what beaches were best to visit etc. Roshan cooked for us in the evening and made us whatever we wanted. The quality of the food was by far the best we eat in Hikka, Roshan's Sri Lankan curries were fantastic. One night Roshan did a BBQ for us by the pool and visited the fish market to get plenty of fresh fish and seafood for us.

You pay for breakfast which is about £2.50pp and a Sri Lankan evening meal was £4pp, if you wanted anything else then you just paid for the cost of the food from then shops.

Thushara stays at the villa in a room behind the kitchen and is on hand to do anything for you, whenever you need it. Each morning he would set a table up for us in the garden overlooking the pool and then make us breakfast, again anything that we wanted. Thushara comes over as very quiet but he is a really friendly and helpful person who always had a big smile. Thushara also drove us around in the villa's tuk tuk and he was a very safe driver. When we wanted Thushara to pick us up we would just text Roshan and he would then get Thushara to come and pick us up.

The grounds of the villa are fantastic and the number of birds that visit the gardens is unbelievable. We loved nothing more then just walking around the gardens walking down to the pool area and then sitting in the pavilion looking out over the paddy field.

I can not recommend this villa enough, the actual villa is fantastic but add in the surroundings, the pool, the food and the service from Thushara and Roshan and it is a 5 star +++

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules R
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Asia's best kept secret; a private sanctuary”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I loved it so much I had a tear in my eye when leaving… I want to go back to 'Villa GW' asap! It felt like our own private sanctuary surrounded by nature and I was seriously considering an early retirement plan and buying the property next door. I’ve travelled extensively through Sth East Asia, India and Nepal and wasn’t expecting to be so enamoured with this place. What got me in was the feeling of escaping the world amidst this gorgeous, well established, tropical garden, with the infinity pool overlooking the lush green rice fields. The al fresco shower attached to a king coconut palm was a treat. The kilometre of distance between ‘Villa GW’ and the shops, restaurants and beach of Hikkaduwa was just right. The other factor that charmed me was the cuisine cooked by Roshan and Thushala and discussing the menu for the day and selecting exactly what I felt like… Lady Muck or what! (a woman who has pretensions to be of high station but who in reality is anything but). In particular watching Thushala grating the coconut for the freshest and tastiest sambal ever. Starting the day with a tranquil swim and tea served by the pool followed by breakfast was the ultimate. Pleasures here are pure and simple, eg swinging in a hammock listening to the sounds of nature, spotting a blue kingfisher bird or making an exotic flower arrangement with flowers picked from the garden. The Fireflys at night are magical. All this with a cost that is so very reasonable. Villa GW is one of Asia’s best kept secrets. A big THANK YOU to Roshan and Thushala and Tam (the owner) for making our holiday so special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansje
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Get pampered in Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Allthough you can book the three seperate rooms via Agoda, Villa Gallindawatta is definetely not an hotel. It's much better. We rented the whole villa for a week in July 2013. We arrived around 9 o' clock in the morning, straight from the airport and thoroughly jetlagged. We we're welcomed with fresh fruit juice en big smiles by cook and manager Roshan and his aide Tishara. The villa has a vestibule, a large living room with dining area and three double bedrooms. The bedroom are airconditioned, the living room has a fan. There's an entertainment center with loads of movies and cd's for when the weather isn't to good, but if it's dry it's much nicer to venture outside. The 6000 square metre property has it's own infinity swimming pool, grea foor cooling of at the end of the day. Anytime of the day. 
Allthough we visited in the southwest monsoon low season, we did not get a lot of rain, except during the night when we were sleeping.The villa is situated about one kilometer inland and it's an easy 10 minute stroll to the beach. As it was low season, there weren't many tourists, so not a lot of beach restaurants and bars were in operation. Basically we had the beach (and the Hug Inn) almost to ourselves. We visited Galle by tuktuk an Roshan took us to a moonstone mine where we made our own silver jewelry. 
There is a menu, but you don't really need it. Roshan worked as a cook in large hotels and on ships, so he is able to rustle up anything you order. We had all kinds of curry meals, fashioned to the not spicy taste of our kids, but also great spaghetti bolognese. Breakfast with lovely fruits and lunch are also made to order. Roshan does the shopping and you pay the bills and a little extra for cooking gas and petrol.If you book, deal directly with the owner Tam via Flipkey, that way you avoid the bookingfees of Agoda. 
We we're thoroughly spoiled during the week and really enjoyed our stay here. 

Travelling group: Gezinnen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliona H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bespoke luxury”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in August 2012
10
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a wonderful eight days in Villa Gallindawatta in March 2012. We were there for him to watch the cricket test in Galle, about 20 miles away. The villa is beautifully appointed with a lovely garden and swimming pool The setting is magnificent The birdlife and nature there is stunning. We were looked after by Roshan, who is an excellent chef. My beloved husband died two months after we came back from Sri Lanka, so it is unlikely that I will ever visit the lovey Villa again but I will always remember the truly wonderful time that we had there. My husband called it "bespoke luxury" which sums it up very well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cerullean...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“House of the Stone Well………Not the Hikka you know.”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4
people found this review helpful

There is another side to Hikka, (Hikkaduwa, beach resort, SrI Lanka) that you have not been formally introduced to. Not the bustling and festive, Hikkaduwa, beach life, resounding with the crashing of waves, which is by the way, only five minutes ride away in a Tuk Tuk. The other side of Hikka, beyond the sunlight beaches, is a well hidden secret beauty; The lush rice fields, rippling in the breeze in a tranquil calm of its own and the long fields of waving coconut palms; a world of undisturbed peace, privacy, exclusivity and self sufficiency of its own, broken only by a distant bird call. This is the world that the Villa Gallindawatte (House of the Stone Well) inhabits.
You can say the Villa has its own rhythm. The dragon fly pondering over the 15 meter swimming pool, a baby moth alighting on one’s foot, briefly, a yellow butterfly sampling one wild flower then another. once you enter Villa the world stops calling the shots and you regain your composure and start living at a pace undistracted by the ebb and the flow of the outside. This becomes your own place; your breathing becomes gentle and regulated and your being hums in its own solitude.
The sprawling one and a half acre garden deserves to have a story written of it on its own. Covered in the rolling carpets of lush, green turf the garden is punctuated with ferns and flowering shrubs, bamboo clumps, rock sculptures and dwells in silence amidst towering trees and abundant bird life. Clearly, somebody loves the place very much. It is evidently very well-cared for; beautifully and lovingly manicured and landscaped. When you step out, you want to tread lightly for fear of disturbing the calm. Eight harmless monitor lizards that dwell in the garden according to reliable sources and if you happen to have an encounter, you will be surprised by their lack of fear.
To truly rid your body of the toxic city stress you really need to immerse yourself in the luxuriant infinity pool at the bottom of the garden away from prying eyes. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and you can gaze in a dream like state into the almost magical, extended gardens of the expanse of rice fields extending beyond the property. Once the water swirls around you, you can feel the tension slipping away. The pool house is built like a pavilion overlooking the pool with its own deck chairs and wooden garden furniture where you can indulge in a meal by the pool that Chef Roshan serves you. There is also a promise of open cook-out in the offing at the barbeque well by the pool.
There is another facet to the Villa of course. One that rings with the laughter of families playing in the pool or cheating at scrabble or squabbling over what movie to watch in the Villa’s own HIDM hard drive of over 1000 movies, art house films and documentaries. The Villa is multifaceted; a visitor’s every whim has been catered to. The windows are framed with screen to keep out the irritation of bugs and mosquitoes so you every comfort is thought of. The tea and coffee service is around the clock and self service. If you are a heavy tea or coffee drinker it might be better advised to bring extra supplies of tea and coffee to keep yourself wetted throughout your holiday. There are board games; scrabble, monopoly and even two decks of cards that my husband and I played double solitaire with. There is also a guide to visitors; a red file with transparent leaves that tell you everything you can do in Hikka while there including emergency numbers as well as places to visit and is a must read because it also contains the Villa’s menu. The menu contains items like Pasta with Pesto Sauce, Grilled chicken with Salad and fries and even a light dinner with Soup and Garlic Toast and the all time favourite rice and curry, all of which the Chef and Caretaker Roshan will whip up to for you in no time. The choice is yours. You can either eat from the menu or dine out the multitude of restaurants and cafes along the Hikka stretch of beach and road. But be advised that you can only choose two different choices of meals so as to not to inundate the kitchen
The sitting room is built for the traffic of family use and the vagaries of the holiday maker or a quite read by the window. The sitting room invites you to laze in impunity on its cool white linen upholstery. Multitudes have alighted and lazed and hung out on its comforting soft excesses exchanging stories and making and remaking holiday excursion plans. Don’t worry about walking across the cool cement cut and polished floor with wet feet. The Villa is hardy and its floor is trimmed with granite reminiscent of an old farmhouse and prepared for robust use. Of course we recommend that you don’t break the glass ware or the crockery.
Two rooms with en suite bathrooms provide the much needed shut eye in air-conditioned comfort. There are plans afoot to refurbish the third room and add value to it with an en suite bathroom and an open courtyard. This is projected for the December season of 2012.
You want a hideaway holiday, the Villa seals away any intrusion save for the occasional interloper from nature and the Villa’s ever ministering caretaker. You want a private spot for you family and friends to vacation, the Villa magnanimously avails its spaces to be filled with the activity of a multitude of life and commotion. The Vila Gallindawatte- The House of the Stone Well…. Not the Hikka you know.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigid P
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A spot of paradise in Sri Lanka with the setting and the food to match!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of six arrived looking for some much needed rest and relaxation. This villa and surrounds provided exactly what we needed. A beautifully appointed 3 bedroom house set in a large, well established garden.The infinity pool and adjacent pavilion overlooking the surrounding rice paddies was a highlight for us all. All of this was topped by the excellent. helpful staff, led by Roshan, who were on hand to look after our every need. They were most helpful in providing us with tips about what to see in the local area and how to go about getting there by ordering Tuk Tuks etc. Roshan, the chef prepared for us the most delicious meals that we were to have in Sri Lanka. We were able to select from a menu of both eastern and western foods for every meal we required. It was our first stop in our 2 week trip to Sri Lanka and was certainly the place we would most like to revisit. 5 Star!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hay...
Shepparton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing honeymoon felt like home”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This place is tucked away in a picturesque resedintial area looking over the rice paddies. The onsite staff were excellent and made you instantly feel at home. It was more like staying with good freinds than a boutique hotel a casual laidback feel but first class meals and service, nothing was too much trouble....can be really hard to find make sure you ring ahead so they can direct your driver to the door.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing