We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and pavilion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and pavilion
pool view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Pool and pavilion
pool view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindy1168
Castlemaine, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our favorite stay in our whole trip to Sri Lanka.
Just a short drive from the main beach area of Hikkaduwa the property is in the middle of a stunning lush jungle area the grounds are imacculately kept by the gardner Kasun who is a really lovely guy and takes great pride in his work.
The house is immaculate and very comfortable, There are three bedrooms but we had the whole place to ourselves. Sampath greeted us with a big smile which made us feel relaxed straight away, he is learning english and is doing very well but needs to be more confident with his speaking. Osmon the chef is fabulous and together the three make a great team. Breakfast is included and you can have western or Sri Lankan but I would recommend the Sri Lankan, on the first day we had Kirri Bath with fish curry plus fresh fruit and coffee, next day was string hoppers with an amazing potato curry and pol sambol. Osmon is also happy to take requests that are not on the menu. We asked him to cook a whole fish, devilled prawns, salad and french fries which was delicious and he even made a special sauce for the fish. Sampath sets a lovely table and was very good at napkin art, bless him. Our room had a gorgeous indoor/outdoor bathroom which was beautiful.
The pool is stunning and you can choose to have your meals there if you like as there is a pavilion with fans, toilet, sink etc. The stunning infinity pool looks out over rice paddies and jungle, while swimming we saw wild peacocks, squirrels, exotic birds, goanna's and two lovey purple leaf faced monkeys making their way across the tops of the trees on the property (don't worry, they don't come near humans).
The guys can order a tuk tuk or taxi if you want to go anywhere or it is about 1km walk down a country lane to the beach.
There is also a guest fridge and a washing machine which is very handy.
We wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely stay again, in fact we are thinking of brining friends next time. SO relaxing

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Dear Lindy,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It made me so happy that you enjoyed the natural beauty of the gardens and the villa.

I will pass on your generous comments to the team who will be most appreciative.

Hope to see you return soon with your friends.

Best wishes,

Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thommendo...
Dornach, Switzerland
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed for 5 weeks in stonewellgardenvilla and had a absolutely great time, the most impressing is the wonderfull morning birdsconcert! The garden a true dream with a refreshing pool. The boys are looking well for us, the house and garden. For us the most beautiful place in Srilanka.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thank you Gabriela.
What a wonderful review. Glad you and your family love the birds and the gardens. It is a place for nature lovers.
Best wishes,
Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GotTheTra...
Duncan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My 2 daughters (16 & 19) and I absolutely loved our stay at Stone Well Cottage. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. We loved the bedrooms with private ensuite, the large living/dining area, the beautiful décor and the little extras like board games, great music and movies.

The grounds are gorgeous and the pool, which we swam in every day, is divine. Bird life abounds.

Best of all though were the staff, Osmond and Sampath. Always there when we needed something but never intrusive. They prepared & served delicious breakfasts and we had dinner here twice, fantastic both times.

We couldn't be happier with our 3-night stay and would love to come back again someday. It is a less than a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride to the center of lively Hikkaduwa so within very easy reach, but away in the quiet countryside.

The owner Tam was wonderful to deal with, very quick to respond to any inquiry.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you Linda.
So glad you and your daughters enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your lovely comments regarding the staff to Sampath and Osmond.
Best wishes,
Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Sri Lanka and our first place to stay and it was amazing!!
The villa itself is gorgeous, situated in a stunning garden. The pool is beautiful and was the perfect place to relax after a long flight.
The rooms are all very clean, well looked after and homely. We felt very comfortable as soon as we arrived.
As well as this all meals that were prepared for us were outstanding! I fully recommend the Sri Lankan BBQ!!
The staff are really friendly and helpful, happy to make suggestions for places to visit and organise any transport we required.
I will definitely be hoping to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thank you Charlotte for your lovely review. So happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the villa. Please do come back. Love to welcome you back.
Best wishes,
Tam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay205
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Home from Home & Wonderful stay””
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the “Stone Garden Villa “ for a week in February and had an absolutely wonderful time. The villa is immaculately furnished and in it's own private garden and lovely Pool and only 20 minutes walk away from the beaches of Hikkaduwa. so walk and very pleasant. We were looked after extremely well by Sadun(Cook) and Sampath(House Keeper). Sadun's cooking was fantastic - we ended up having most meals at the villa because we loved his food so much! Kalu & Ruban who owns the taxi and Tuk Tuk so we use them to visit local areas and they are very helpful and knowledgeable to organise the trip. Would highly recommend it as a wonderful place to stay and unwind. We'l visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Hi Viji and Eddie,
It was an absolute pleasure having you and your friends as our guests at the villa. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt comfortable there. It really is a little slice of heaven! If you are this way again please do come and visit us we would love to look after you once more. Goodluck with all of your future travelling .

Kind regards
Tam, Fiona, Glenn, Sandun and Sampath...Oh and Kalu and Ruban say hello !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjdhdsfhd...
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Having booked just three nights at the villa for my arrival, I soon wished I had booked for more. Stone well villa is very well situated and it is so peaceful in the surrounding gardens. The villa itself is spacious, comfortable and clean. The guys onsite are more than happy to take care of your every need, although at times communicating exactly what you need required some degree of patience! A minor thing that I am sure will improve over time. They have a tuk tuk onsite to run you into town, although you can stay at the villa all day and the guys will prepare some great food for you. I will be staying there again sometime and would certainly recommend others to stay here too. Thank you for a very happy stay, I enjoyed my Sri Lanka trip very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Villa Gallindawatta.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable during your stay. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us we would love to see you back here again some day.

Kind regards
The staff and crew at Villa Gallindawatta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scooray01
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Galle road is lovely Villa Gallindawatta. My husband, my sister and I enjoyed a very relaxing 5 night stay there.

The Villa has a beautiful garden which is visited by lots of lovely birds, butterflies and monkeys. The area around the pool is truly relaxing with comfy lounges for a lazy afternoon nap over looking the paddy fields.

The house was well equipped and comfortable. Tam has very thoughtfully made available a large range of board games, books, a selection of good music and dvds for guests to enjoy.

The staff were very attentive and we enjoyed delicious home cooked meals.

The Villa is only a 10 min tuk tuk ride to the fabulous Hikkaduwa beach. Although it was off season the beach was patrolled by life guards and the swimming was very safe near the reef. Our sea swim was extra special as we had three giant sea turtles to keep us company!

Tam's guest manual was very informative and helpful. We would love to visit the Villa again on our next holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Villa Gallindawatta. We agree it really is a special place to visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing