We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ocean view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing ocean view!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights. All staff is very friendly and absolutely unexpectably we've got a room with FANTASTIC FRONTAL OCEAN VIEW) that was really cool to wake up and see ocean almost near my bed:) Breakfast was ok and room was always clean. The hotel is really near the main road , but i didnt find rooms with road view:) if it will be possible, ask reception for room #112)

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view, I think. Ask for number 112, 212, 312))) they had nice frontal ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateshishkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    41
    44
    30
    33
See reviews for
44
52
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the first hotel you can see when u entered to the city of Hikkaduwa. Kind of old building. We got the room on arrival without any delays. We got a room that has a view of the beach and the part of the city. Bed was comfortable but the furniture is old and broken. Bathroom had a strange and strong odder. breakfast was okay with the local and western selections. Need to improve their standards if they gonna sell a room for $ 100 on BB.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajasekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights.
Awesome location.Quality of the buffet breakfast was really good.As the hotel is located close to the beach,we had a wonderful experience dining outside.Would recommend to go for sea view rooms to experience the beauty of the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anusha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
176 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Room quite decent. Nice views/balcony, good AC. Coffee & Tea making set lacked proper refill. Ensuite bathroom is weakest link, all works but too much ageing and mouldy areas esp. at shower.
Breakfast excellent for a 3 star, and good cosy atmosphere despite larger groups of (mainly Russian) guests. Public toilet of restaurant however a total dump: at the Men's the choice between one without WC paper and another one where the door simply could not close anymore due to almost falling apart wasn't the easiest to make.
Beach is okay, northern end of the coral reef protected zone. Best is to walk at least 100 m south beyond the diving station, where the sea is more shallow and the bottom most sandy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noventa Padovana, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel for 3 nights at it was enough to suggest you to stay away from this hotel.
My room was very noisy because it was near to the main street and, incredibly, because it seems that all the staff all the hotel cluster near the rooms to chat at loud voices; my room was 102 and it was impossible to relax in it during the day, because from 7 in the morning till 6 in the afternoon it seems to try to rest staying in a public road. Bathroom was quite dirty, expecially towels.
Pool is very old and only the crows seems to appreciate it.
Breakfast is the main strength of the hotel: fresh food with a full variety of choices.
I eat an excellent waffle with honey and all the other dishes are very good.
The staff (a lot of people, it seems there are more people working in the hotel than people staying in it) is kind but very slow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karalis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hikkaduwa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Checked in on 31st Dec 2013 for a day.
The staff at the front desk was friendly but too pushy to sell passes for the New Year gala dinner.
The AC in my room was not working and took quite a while for the friendly staff to repair.
The room had a small balcony and the view of the sea was pretty decent.
The room service was slow and could not provide with ice cubes took them half hour to get a bottle opener to open bottles in the fridge.
The breakfast food was pretty basic.
Average hotel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funduadmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Before I share our bad experiences of this hotel, I want to state that the room was fine (not great, but what you expect for a budget hotel) and the food was good. However, these were overshadowed by an overall terrible experience unlike anything I've ever had before. I travel frequently (at least 10 times a year) and have never felt so compelled to write a review to warn other travellers until now.

When we checked in, we had two bars of soap in the bathroom - both packaged in boxes. When we opened the first box and unwrapped the packaging, we found a USED BAR OF SOAP WITH PUBIC HAIRS stuck on it. We picked it up with a tissue and took it to reception, placing it on the counter and letting them know what we had been given, only to be faced with blank stares and a total of 7 people were involved to look at it, again with blank stares. We were asked to take a seat while they found the duty manager, and were quite amused to watch new guests arrive and stand at the counter while they left the bar of soap in the centre for all to see. When the duty manager arrived, again we were faced with blank stares and promises to replace the soap with new ones, however this was not a great start to our stay.

That night, a group of 6 of us attended the Christmas Eve gala dinner at the hotel. The food was excellent - a wide spread of food that we were very pleased with. There was one waiter who was very smiley and friendly and was trying his best when most of the wines on the drinks menu were not available. When we asked for the bill, we were told an amount which we promptly paid. When we paid, they told us the amount was wrong and that we need to pay more without much explanation. After we paid the extra, we were told yet AGAIN that the 2nd amount was wrong and that we needed to pay more. There were 3 different people involved in this debacle - none of whom offered much explanation of why we were given incorrect bills twice and why we had to pay more. When we asked to speak to the duty manager (the same one as before), the Customer Service manager and the Front Office manager also joined. With a crowd of staff now surrounding us, we were again faced with only blank stares and no apologies, and disappointingly, no offers to comp any part of the meal for the experience.

Another day, we signed out towels to our room number, and were accosted by the hotel manager as were climbing into a tuk tuk, asking us to pay an enormous amount as deposit - depite the fact that we had already signed our names and room numbers against the towels.

On yet another day, we had friends staying at another hotel who were leaving Hikkaduwa, and had a couple of hours to spare so they wanted to leave their bags in our room. They were not intending to use any facilities at all - they merely wanted to leave their bags in our room until their driver arrived to take them to Colombo. They had a horribly accusing experience with the hotel staff who kicked up a big fuss.

The rooms, as mentioned above, were "fine". The air conditioning unit was old and only worked sporadically, creaking the whole time and spitting out water at a metre's distance. The fridge did not work (the power cuts out when you take the key out of the slot but even when the power was on, the fridge was not working) hence we could not have cold drinks. There was no kettle or teabags/coffee sachets, which I find to be standard in all hotels.

I can see from other reviews that the management of the hotel have responded with apologies to the negative reviews written on Tripadvisor and Agoda, however it's far too late to be apologising after the guests leave. When I stay in a hotel, I expect a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and to feel that I am being looked after. There were never any smiles on the staff (except for the waiter during the gala dinner, and a very nice housekeeping attendant on our floor), nor any apologies at the time for any of the bad experiences we had. The room charges are far overpriced for the overall experience. I am fine staying in budget hotels if the customer servvice is good - but at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, the customer service is non existent.

There are far more guesthouses and hotels down the beach that would be a better option. The beach in front of the hotel is hardly a beach and is crowded full of people snorkelling amongst cracked coral reefs and rocks. If you walk further south down the beach - passing a couple headlands - the beach is wider, cleaner, less crowded, better water conditions, and with beach bars' sunbeds to lie on.

I would strongly advise anyone against staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FG733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
Nippon Villa Beach Resort
#24 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel

Property: Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
Address: 298 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a breezy welcome at the newly revitalized Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. The popular beach hotel is now an even better place for you to relax and unwind in style. Come to enjoy our enhanced sea view rooms with stylish brand new furniture, full size glass doors and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing