We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could be beautiful, but needs some TLC”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
D_Triptic
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be beautiful, but needs some TLC”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The property and location are exceptional: in a rural setting, large yard, very private, on a lagoon, with a great swimming pool so amazing for kids. There is access to a canoe, lifejackets are available, and there are floaties for the pool. The villa itself is lovely - a beautiful outdoor lounge area where you can read, talk, drink, eat, etc. and watch the kids in the pool. There are two bedrooms, with outdoor bathrooms with tub and showers - very luxurious. But they do need to be sprayed prior to visitors arriving, as there are serious ant infestations. There was also a squirrel that seemed to be trapped in the master bathroom, and it hid behind the toilet tank (unreachable by human hands, so never quite sure if the terrified squirrel would scoot out). Unfortunately though, the place is not quite as luxurious and comfortable as it could be for a family holiday. The shortcomings:
1) there were no instructions regarding: the caretaker (where he lived, how to reach him, what his duties were, and what his rights were with respect to visitors); how to get to and fro (would be useful to have names and contact numbers of tuk-tuk drivers - we found a great one,Tissa: 077 983 1385, who lives nearby and was exremely accommodating); names of good restaurants/coffee shops and hours, as we could not always access the internet; information on where to find lifejackets, ant spray, towels, etc.;
2) the wifi did not always work, and needed to call PJ long distance to figure this out - very challenging b/c we did not have a vehicle and therefore felt stuck without wifi communication;
3) the bedrooms were incredibly musty, to the point of being unpleasant. They should be aired out on a daily basis, or else freshly painted;
4) the linen, bedding, pillows and mosquito nets need to be replaced
5) the kitchen is filthy, disorganized and not very functional. Refrigerator is dirty, shelves and dishes are dirty, there is no dish rack, no tea towels, no broom, and the pans need to be replaced
The other issue is that the villa is not really great for a family with young children, as each individual bedroom opens to the outside - you do not want to leave your kids sleeping by themselves in a bedroom that anyone could access in the middle of the night. Fine for adults (as you can lock the rooms from the inside) but not really great for children who sleep alone.
The owner is accommodating, was thankful for the feedback and seemed intent on renovating and refreshing the place, (as well as cleaning the kitchen), but do inquire before booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, pool
Liked least: kitchen, mustiness of the rooms, bedding
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyjola...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost Paradise”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

PJ's is set in a beautiful large garden with a good sized swimming pool and wonderful lagoon to explore in the canoe supplied. I stayed for 5 nights with my husband and 2 sons aged 25 and 28 who made good use of the fishing and swimming and thoroughly enjoyed the abundant wildlife.

The accommodation was good and clean with good air con in the bedrooms although my sons found the single beds a little short. The 'kitchen' which is in a separate building is very basic and quite grubby. It had a two ringed hob which we did not use, a large, clean fridge freezer and toaster and kettle. The bathrooms were open at one end and we enjoyed showering under the sky in cold water but some may not like the fact that lizards, insects and squirrels can easily access this area and there is no heated water. (the pool is lovely and warm!)

The down side is getting to and from town. We were informed by a number of people to be wary of one of the areas you need to walk through to get to town and this put us off walking in (which we did once, quite a distance in the heat) especially at night. Hubert called a tuk tuk for us the first time but as he was not always around we had to make an expensive phone call to get picked up there after. Getting back was difficult because none of the drivers new where PJ's is despite having the address and map on my phone. Therefore we had to try and give directions which was especially difficult at night in the dark. Due to this we did feel a little trapped.

Also we could not access further information for the rest of our trip as the WiFi did not appear to work. We asked Hubert (the caretaker) about this as there was clearly a router but he could not enlighten us, just pointed at the box which had a code that did not work. Hubert was friendly but his English comprehension and speech are poor.

I would not have missed this experience as it was quite unique and special but due to the issues mentioned we would probably not return.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saramaes1...
Herentals, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a fantastic 4 days at PJ's.

The location is wonderful, perfect for a couple looking for a quiet hideaway.

We will definitely come back and highly recommend this place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimi11
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The place was so beautiful and peaceful. A great place to go with some friends and chill. the pool was great, a big garden and my favorite part was kayaking. We all had a blast and also the care taker was really helpful. Thank you to the owner and the care taker for making our stay very memorable. differently i will return to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alun1955
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE GOOD AND THE BAD”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed 10 days at this property, our third one during our 4-week visit to Sri Lanka.

It is well off the beaten track, and requires a long walk to pick up a TukTuk, unless your fortunate in catching an empty one returning from the Fisherman’s Wharf situated at the end of the road.

The grounds are large, and partially screened from the road, giving a bit of privacy. The grounds overlook the lagoon, and passing fishermen and abundant bird life can be seen, as well as the occasional water monitor, crossing the grounds.

However the main feature of this property is the swimming pool, which is large enough for a good swim, and is very warm.

However the downside. The kitchen, if you could call it that is appalling. There is a two gas burner, run from a gas cylinder, a sink and a fridge freezer, which still contained green beans dated November 2014, as well as other leftovers. The kitchen was dirty, and basic, even by Sri Lankan standards.

The electrics are dangerous. The lighting in the main bedroom is provided by just two standard lamps, one of which had a live light bulb holder, which resulted in me receiving an electric shock. This was reported to the owner but no action to remedy this was made. We had a power cut one morning, an RCD on the main power supply burnt out. Although the caretaker was aware of this, he took no action until the evening for it to be repaired. We had no power until 9 p.m.

The caretaker had no respect for our privacy and would frequently enter the open living area, even whilst brushing his teeth. The final insult was to stand behind us watching a film, which we were viewing on our laptop. Despite a complaint to the owner PJ, these unwelcome intrusions continued throughout our stay.

Unless the kitchen and power supply was improved and brought up to acceptable standards, and the caretaker ceased his intrusions we would not stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
I am very sorry that your stay at PJ's was not as enjoyable as it should be. I just want you to know that, following your feedback, the caretaker has been instructed so that he is more aware of guest privacy. Also, a supervisor has been engaged to ensure better cleaning and maintenance. I hope you do change your mind about future visits!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineR...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A private slice of paradise at an unbeatable price”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This beautiful little gem is a slice of exotic country living at an unbeatable price. The pool is just stunning, especially in the evening, the open air showers allow you to feel at one with nature and the huge grounds going down to a lagoon allow for adventures galore for families and friends alike. My favourite moments; sitting poolside by night, chatting with my friends; plucking papaya right off the tree to eat for breakfast; ordering crabs in the morning fresh from the lagoon from the cook who they arranged for us and eating what must have been the best crab curry of my life. This is the perfect tropical getaway I wish I could call home forever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Not being able to stay forever
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patriciaa...
1 review
“Relaxing and stress-free holiday.”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The villa locates in a village where the local people lives, so its a total get away from the tourism.
Its a perfect place to enjoy of the quietness and the stress-free environment.
We had lovely time just playing cards and hanging out, it was a perfect holiday for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing