We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gorgeous Holiday Getaway Bordering The...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Nelum B
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gorgeous Holiday Getaway Bordering The Hikkaduwa Lagoon”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

PJ's Holiday Villa is a sight for sore eyes indeed, hidden amidst the beautiful mangroves and bordering the Hikkaduwa Lagoon ,what strikes you first is the sparkling blue swimming pool and the tall coconut trees that face the villa. It is a perfect holiday getaway for those who seek peace and seclusion. The chef Dinesh is very attentive and whips up some tasty dishes , you can provide the groceries for lunch and dinner and he will make whatever you feel like, breakfast is on the house and you can opt for Western or Sri Lankan. Ginger is the resident pet dog and she provides company for the guests, always eager to be petted! What I loved the most was the lagoon, you can sit and relax and admire the beauty of the waters ahead of you, or you can actually go for a ride in the private canoe. It is absolute bliss and the ideal destination for your holidays in the south of Sri Lanka. Loved it !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thebates2...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
830 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My wife and I along with our two adult children (21 & 26) stayed at PJ’s villa for 9 nights during 11 night trip to Sri Lanka. Superb location on the banks of a stunning river only a few Kilometres inland from Hikkaduwa (5 mins by tuk tuk or a 30 minute walk).

The house keeper (Dinesh) met us on arrival and showed us into what can only be described as an absolutely stunning place. Both bedrooms (1 double & 1 twin) along with both bathrooms (amazing) and the outside living area (amazing) are located on the ground floor.

The rooms (in fact the whole place including the extensive grounds) were super clean and very well presented and maintained. The beds were extremely comfortable and both outdoor bathrooms were fantastic. The water was hot, powerful and plentiful for the duration of our stay.

The whole place was very tastefully decorated and had a colonial Ceylonese twist to it, and the whole operation was very well oiled indeed and the whole place has amazing A/C which is certainly needed both day and night during peak season.

We are experienced travelers and I can put my hand on my heart and say that the breakfast prepared and provided by Dinesh was second to none, with a plentiful choice of Western or Sri Lankan options along with fresh tea, coffee, fruit and juice, one of the best we have experienced, which definitely had the personal touch which for us means a lot.

This personal touch extended to facilitation of tuk tuks when required as well as a fantastic BBQ (extra cost and priced accordingly to what you want) and even a birthday cake for my wife, I could go on and on but I won’t.

The super clean and well maintained private pool area (sun beds provided) is located within the private grounds which extend out onto a private jetty with your own Canadian canoe.

It's the little things that make places like PJ’s stand out and this place has got it just right. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalinski8
Kandy District, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Unexpected Delight inland from Hikkaduwa”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

PJ's is a treasure of a peaceful, 'minimalist' modern villa, tastefully appointed with a large heated swimming-pool on the edge of the Great Hikkaduwa Lagoon. I stayed as a guest of my good friends from Mount Lavinia, who have been here three times before... The decor is minimalist but tastefully thought-out, as are the beautiful large gardens with many established plants and trees.. The swimming pool is on the edge of the Lagoon, where blue kingfishers and monitor lizards come to drink... There is a jetty with deckchairs there, and a large canoe for going for boat-trips on the lagoon, if desired. There are hardly any mosquitoes, as the Lagoon is tidal and a salt-water lagoon. Charming Muthu the houseboy cooks a good breakfast (included in the fees) and can also cook lunch and dinner, if desired (at a reasonable extra cost)... He is a trained cook! It is a peaceful, delightful 'home-away-from-home', secure and private, and it is obvious the owner has great taste... Can't wait to go again. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sifters
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice wind down”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely view/villa/pool combo. Clean with great facilities. Bird life visits the pool for regular drinks.
Not in a great area. Locking the outer doors advised, safe provided and does make you feel a little uneasy. Bedroom doors chub lock (they are external doors). No incidents to be wary of.

A few km's out of town, you need to be organised with shopping/tuk tuk arrangements to get into town. Pro's outweigh the cons however.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bird life and the peaceful location
Liked least: Security concerns
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Triptic
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be beautiful, but needs some TLC”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The property and location are exceptional: in a rural setting, large yard, very private, on a lagoon, with a great swimming pool so amazing for kids. There is access to a canoe, lifejackets are available, and there are floaties for the pool. The villa itself is lovely - a beautiful outdoor lounge area where you can read, talk, drink, eat, etc. and watch the kids in the pool. There are two bedrooms, with outdoor bathrooms with tub and showers - very luxurious. But they do need to be sprayed prior to visitors arriving, as there are serious ant infestations. There was also a squirrel that seemed to be trapped in the master bathroom, and it hid behind the toilet tank (unreachable by human hands, so never quite sure if the terrified squirrel would scoot out). Unfortunately though, the place is not quite as luxurious and comfortable as it could be for a family holiday. The shortcomings:
1) there were no instructions regarding: the caretaker (where he lived, how to reach him, what his duties were, and what his rights were with respect to visitors); how to get to and fro (would be useful to have names and contact numbers of tuk-tuk drivers - we found a great one,Tissa: 077 983 1385, who lives nearby and was exremely accommodating); names of good restaurants/coffee shops and hours, as we could not always access the internet; information on where to find lifejackets, ant spray, towels, etc.;
2) the wifi did not always work, and needed to call PJ long distance to figure this out - very challenging b/c we did not have a vehicle and therefore felt stuck without wifi communication;
3) the bedrooms were incredibly musty, to the point of being unpleasant. They should be aired out on a daily basis, or else freshly painted;
4) the linen, bedding, pillows and mosquito nets need to be replaced
5) the kitchen is filthy, disorganized and not very functional. Refrigerator is dirty, shelves and dishes are dirty, there is no dish rack, no tea towels, no broom, and the pans need to be replaced
The other issue is that the villa is not really great for a family with young children, as each individual bedroom opens to the outside - you do not want to leave your kids sleeping by themselves in a bedroom that anyone could access in the middle of the night. Fine for adults (as you can lock the rooms from the inside) but not really great for children who sleep alone.
The owner is accommodating, was thankful for the feedback and seemed intent on renovating and refreshing the place, (as well as cleaning the kitchen), but do inquire before booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, pool
Liked least: kitchen, mustiness of the rooms, bedding
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyjola...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost Paradise”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

PJ's is set in a beautiful large garden with a good sized swimming pool and wonderful lagoon to explore in the canoe supplied. I stayed for 5 nights with my husband and 2 sons aged 25 and 28 who made good use of the fishing and swimming and thoroughly enjoyed the abundant wildlife.

The accommodation was good and clean with good air con in the bedrooms although my sons found the single beds a little short. The 'kitchen' which is in a separate building is very basic and quite grubby. It had a two ringed hob which we did not use, a large, clean fridge freezer and toaster and kettle. The bathrooms were open at one end and we enjoyed showering under the sky in cold water but some may not like the fact that lizards, insects and squirrels can easily access this area and there is no heated water. (the pool is lovely and warm!)

The down side is getting to and from town. We were informed by a number of people to be wary of one of the areas you need to walk through to get to town and this put us off walking in (which we did once, quite a distance in the heat) especially at night. Hubert called a tuk tuk for us the first time but as he was not always around we had to make an expensive phone call to get picked up there after. Getting back was difficult because none of the drivers new where PJ's is despite having the address and map on my phone. Therefore we had to try and give directions which was especially difficult at night in the dark. Due to this we did feel a little trapped.

Also we could not access further information for the rest of our trip as the WiFi did not appear to work. We asked Hubert (the caretaker) about this as there was clearly a router but he could not enlighten us, just pointed at the box which had a code that did not work. Hubert was friendly but his English comprehension and speech are poor.

I would not have missed this experience as it was quite unique and special but due to the issues mentioned we would probably not return.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saramaes1...
Herentals, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a fantastic 4 days at PJ's.

The location is wonderful, perfect for a couple looking for a quiet hideaway.

We will definitely come back and highly recommend this place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing