We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Suite Lanka(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
44
53
22
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
53
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conthe ownertuk tukwalk along the beachrooms are big and cleanswimming poolfour nightsquiet endmini barsun loungersrestaurants and shopslovely beachrelaxing stayfridgeseaweligamacolombo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Sept 11 for R3500 (est £19) at this hotel. Its was low season and the hotel, much like the surrounding area, was very quiet. It was really good value for money. A fairly basic hotel on the beach. The rooms where big and clean, its had a small pool and staff were friendly. They don't serve alcohol but the rooms have a fridge so you can buy beers (R130, 80p) and sip them on your balcony while watching the waves, a cheap way to enjoy a few drinks while travelling. There is a bit of rubble in the garden but it looked like they were extending a wall so it may not be there long.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very nice and clean place with a great view! Very nice pool, nice folks who work there, very safe place as well. You will enjoy yorself there. TRUST ME! ;) By the way I live in San Francisco. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was impressed with the owner and his team. Owner is Mr Mihindu. Very helpful man. Wifi is free. Room have a/c. Things can be improved e.g. providing good quality towels. Putting a good tv screen in lounge. improving lights in lounge which were dim. Food was good. Pool was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rageshri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for the review.
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a short stay at the ocean cottage on our way from Kandy to Galle. Luckily it was only for a night as the room was not great. It's basic but the fridge was old and tired and the improvised wardrobe was a bit ropey. It was quite a walk from the centre of hikkaduwa as we were dropped off for dinner and had to make our own way back. We didn't have time for breakfast as we had a very early start. The pool was not open as it wasn't the season and the sea was very rough.
This was a cheap place but it was more like a backpackers haunt, somewhere cheap to crash. Hikkaduwa is more of a passing town and there wasnt much to see or do there.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank futomaki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Average hotel with nice staff, its a shame the sewerage outlet was overflowign when we were there onto the sand directly outside the hotel on the beach. Room was OK, staff friendly. not much more we can add. nice but average.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hokodoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews