We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,054)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveller rating
970
688
212
93
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
688
212
93
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaaya tranzcrab restaurantpool barsri lankamain restaurantcorner suitesea turtlesseafoodpublic beachlarge turtlesspecial thanksdinner buffetprawnsprivate balconyindian oceanocean viewrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As most people tend to do, when we decided that we wanted to go to Sri Lanka on our honeymoon, we checked the internet and got a whole lot of mixed reviews for all the hotels. Chaaya Tranz got the most "best food" and that was what got us curious about it (we just love to eat!!). But let's go through all the basis:

Check-in/out - Very fast, but we did see big groups arriving, and if a person checks-in at that time, it could be quite a little slower than usual. But, for the most of it, you can see 5/6 people behind the reception desk during the day.

Room - We stayed at 107 and expressed some worries about noise, but although our room door faced the rear kitchens and AC, we couldn't hear anything. Very nice sound isolation. Not the best view, when entering the room, but the view from the balcony more than compensate that. The rooms are big, and although the bathroom is not amazing, it's ok. Keep the bedroom doors closed, and the AC on, when you are not in the room, and the humidity shouldn't bother you.

The main restaurant - Even with several groups at the hotel, there was never a problem getting a table. And we always chose the ones outside, best view, and not as chilly as inside with the AC. The food was amazing! For most european, it can be a little spicy, but from what we gathered it wasn't as spicy as that for Sri Lanka.

All Inclusive - We tried several times ahead of time to know what the All Inclusive package included, but couldn't get the information, so here it is: there is a menu with all the local beverages from where you can choose, and also a list of cocktails with or without alchool, and there is a list of snacks available all day long at tranzscend.

Activities: Not a lot to do in the Hotel, and by this I mean there is no activity charter as in Club Med, but if you want to play voleyball (the national sport, although not the most popular), Sympath is always available to play with you, or any other sports.

Outside: We made some day excursions, with several people, but the only person, that felt more reliable, and less in the hunt for our money, was Sanka www. wbsankatours .com, there was this beach "boy" Siri that, we felt just kept on trying to trick us and pestering us every time we stepped on the beach.
Also, if you want to have a nice meal, most of the staff at the hotel will recomend the restaurant "Refresh", but we found "The New Imperial" had a more "local feel" and slightly better prices. We loved the seafood there!! if you ask a tuc tuc just outside the hotel it should be around 150/100 rupees.
Take the bus to Galle! Take a risk! it was fun, it wasn't long (20/30min), and when in Galle just enjoy the atmosphere and visit the fort. We felt quite safe both times we went there. The "regular" bus to Galle is around 70 rupees for 2, but prices differ...just not sure, how or why!
There is a small familly store with a hand made factory in the back, that does Batiks. We thought it might just be for show, but both times we went there they were so friendly, and the work that was being made was different. Turn right, when you leave the hotel, and then is on the left side of the road. Worth the visit! Just follow your nose, it smells of smoke when you are inside.

All the Staff at Chaaya was more than helpful, but when you are travelling in an all inclusive it is too bad that we kept feeling pressured to give tips. It left kind of a bitter taste.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

it was a very enjoyable and a pleasant one. Our special thanks to Mr. Rajitha in room service section who went out of the way to help us. The rooms were so comfortable we all had a very good night sleep. Everyone was happy with the food and the very clean beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nipuna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hotel is indeed well suited for families and we will certainly share your kind sentiments with the specially mentioned staff member. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I absolutely loved being in a hotel near the town Hikkaduwa, which has access to the train, to several buses and a good variety of supermarkets, tourist shops, restaurants and beaches. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the cleaning staff was very thorough and helpful and creative (I had a lot of nice towel work on my bed, thank you!).
The beach and the pool area are very lovely, best sunsets ever. The restaurants as well as the pool bar serve delicious food (although quite pricy).
I want to thank the two Indonesian women in the spa for giving me the best massages ever. I didn't have such professional massages in a long time. Terima kasih :)
The reception workers were very helpful with giving directions, I would like to specially mention Chamika and Nisansala. Stuthi :)
All in all, I had a very relaxing and interesting stay in Sri Lanka with many different impressions about the country and its lovely people. I will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Try to stay from the rooms above the 2nd floor, from 201-214. The other side can be noisy at night due to the traffic on Galle Road. 1st floor is too close to the nightly music performances and karaoke parties in the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are truly elated to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just have spent 2 weeks at the Chaaya Tranz and we ended up in Room 408 4th floor. We did experience issues with Damp in rooms on others floors but as soon as a room on the top floor became available we were moved straight away . The staff in the hotel cannot do enough for you and were so helpful and always greeted you with a lovely smile. The food is excellent and of a very high standard, with one of the Chefs having trained in the Atlantis Hotel in Dubai. There is plenty of choice and the Curries are varied and amazingly good.
We used a local Boy/guide for our trips who we found on the beach. He is there most days his name is Pradip, He did take us on a River Trip and this was excellent, visiting local islands/ temples. Ovderall i would recommend the Chaaya Tranz. We had an excellent holiday and couldnt fault this lovely hotel at all. Many thanks to all the Managers and Staff. Lesley and Phil. Nottinghamshire, UK.

Room Tip: Aim to try and get a top floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa is very well located on the water's edge with a lovely pool and easy access to the beach. The room itself was quite good with great view, a comfortable bed and large balcony with lounge and table and chairs, but the hotel overall looks a bit tired and the exterior in particular needs some work. Our television did not work but staff were helpful and fixed it - or so we thought, but it didn't work again later in the night after a brief blackout. The breakfast was good apart from the fact that they served tea bags rather than tea in a pot. The restaurant has great views of the coast and it was very pleasant eating there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We have noted your comments regarding our Hotel and certain facilities. Thank you for your feedback which is truly invaluable to us.
We hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka, giving us the opportunity to indulge you in hospitality at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews