We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,931)
Filter reviews
1,931 results
Traveller rating
913
640
203
87
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
913
640
203
87
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaaya tranzcrab restaurantpool barsri lankacorner suitemain restaurantaction stationssea turtlespublic beachseafoodlarge turtlesspecial thanksdinner buffetpool sideprawnsprivate balconyrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 1,931 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This resort was the jewel of our holiday: snorkelling in the coral, feeding turtles, excellent swimming pool, beautiful beach, spacious rooms with a sea view, to name but a few - it's all there! Very fitting end to a two week intensive tour of Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liamsblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Travelling round Sri Lanka, we chose Hikkaduwa for diving opportunities, chilled out beach vibe and small town feel. We were not disappointed. We chose Chaaya Tranz for location, reputation and service. We were not disappointed. We had close Sri Lankan friends whom we had not seen for 5 years, coming to the hotel to share a meal with us. This is where the staff excelled. Best table reserved in restaurant, celebration cake with sparklers and outstanding service - we thank-you for the most special night! If you are celebrating a special occasion do not hesitate to stay here and mention.

Spa was 10/10. £80 for couple Balinese massage with Balinese therapists. Welcome dink, cold towel, foot bath and onto sheer heaven. Stresses of work and jet lag - gone!

The missing point is lost at breakfast. Would have been nice for staff to service their sections. Guests having to frequently having to repeatedly ask for tea/coffee and look for space. This could be simply rectified. However, all other areas were perfect i.e. housekeeping and reception. Keep up the good work- we will be back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pabloboltonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is modern with spacious rooms. The balconies all look out to the ocean and have a lovely cushioned seating area. The staff were lovely, especially our room attendant and the host at breakfast. We happily tipped the room attendant and looked forward to our towel animal creation each day.

Breakfast was tasty with a varied choice of western and Sri Lankan dishes.

The pool is beautiful and so close to the ocean. Didn't use the pool bar but it looked nice. The inside bar put on singers and entertainment but we only went in once. Prices were reasonable for a hotel but seemed expensive for Sri Lanka.

The nearby beach was beautiful and the water so warm. I tried to scuba dive whilst I visited but unfortunately the conditions weren't good. The hotel restaurants look good but we ate out at nearby restaurants each night as there is a lot of choice right on the hotel doorstep. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes tuktuk (or a 15-20min walk) from Hikkaduwa train station for trains north to Colombo and south to Galle and beyond.

Top tip, the taxi for our departure was quite a bit cheaper negotiating with locals on the street or at local taxi/tour offices than through the hotel.

I think there were few other UK guests at the hotel, most seemed to be on package holidays from Russia, a few from Germany from what accents I could hear.

Overall really enjoyed our time at this hotel and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_World_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we are really looking forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A very relaxing holiday in a beautiful beach resort where you can actually go into the sea safely. Every day at least one turtle would swim in to be fed seaweed and then swim off when they were ready. There was very little hassle from beach sellers and you could walk through the village easily too. The staff in the resort were very friendly and helpful and rooms were kept clean and all had fabulous views of the sea.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good views of the sunset but lower rooms have beautiful trees in the view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-in-joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I spent 11 days in the Hotel during a time it had to cater to more complex demands in addition to those provided by a hotel in accommodation, restaurant & bar service etc. The hotel was the venue for an international conference and its staff led by the General Manager Mr Sanjeewa Perera, Resident Manager Chaminda Samaranayake were totally hands on, with no request un-denied or insurmountable.

For them any request was a can be done.

Food was excellent hats off to the Chef. Restaurant service was efficient and the stewards very attentive to individual needs. The rooms were comfortable and linen clean,

Holiday business or conference the Chaaya Team, they have the capacity and charm.

Room Tip: Fouth floor sea view to have a birds eye view of the southern sea
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly lookforward to having you with us again for yet another memorable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews