We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible 6 Night Stay at Aditya”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible 6 Night Stay at Aditya”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived on the 12th of October for 6 nights and stayed in the Sagara (Sakra) Suite. Both my wife and myself have traveled to numerous holiday vacation spots all over the globe and rank this hotel (ADITYA) #1 in all aspects of accommodations and personal touches during our entire stay....from dinner for two on the beach (candlelight) to the GM Shamindra Fernando ensuring I had a proper workout facility with all equipment for one of my upcoming races. The ENTIRE staff from Shamindra (Director GM) to the waiters are ALL FIRST CLASS!!!! The Head Executive Chef Namal and his team were on hand 24/7 to cater to you for ANYTHING. Thank you ALL for an Excellent vacation in Sri Lanka and look forward to return...Ayubowan

Room Tip: Sagara (Sakra) room has an incredible room overlooking not only the pool but an incredible view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranger88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Ayubowan!

It is such a delight for the entire team to have guests so thrilled with their stay at Aditya. We consider it an honour to be considered in such high rank among all the prestigious places you have visited and hope to continue to improve our services in all aspects.

The entire team, including Chef Namal, were delighted to have you with us during your stay and we hope that you will return soon!

Good Luck for the races!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    60
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
404
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel right on the edge of the Indian Ocean which can be seen and heard from garden facing rooms. The size of the rooms is most impressive, they are well appointed and comfortable as well as clean. Staff are friendly and helpful although not always effective. They are constantly cheerful and eager to please. My personal complaint and it is the only one is that I found the food disappointing for all meals. There was not much choice and what there was soon becomes monotonous. I found it strange that fresh sea food was so difficult to find on the edge of an ocean and where there was a fish market and, of course, the famous stilt fishermen. However this did not detract from my stay in a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Ask fro a sea/garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your kind comments about the rooms and staff. It truly was great to have you with us.

We apologise that the food and menus were not to your expectations as we try our best to provide a menu with a wide variety to provide a selection for our guests. We are in the process of restructuring our menus in order to make the dining experience at Aditya a much better one.

We appreciate your feedback so that we can continuously improve and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Aditya was the 6th & last hotel we stayed in on our 2 weeks wedding anniversary trip to Sri Lanka in September 2013 and we certainly saved the best for last.
The staff were friendly, warm and welcoming, without being over the top. It was clear that the hotel has invested heavily in staff training, from the reception staff, to house cleaning to the restaurant staff, they all knew their jobs well, knew what to do and how to do it with courteous confidence and a smile.
Thanks to our local travel agent (Paradiso Travel - brilliant), the hotel had been tipped off about our 30th wedding anniversary and we were blessed with complimentary wine during the 1st night meal and returned to our room to find numerous coloured candles lit on tables and the floor and complimentary chocolates on the coffee table, it seemed that all the staff knew about our celebration.
Onto the room, we chose a 1st floor beach view suite that overlooks the garden and beyond that the beach and the white surf of this Western coast line. The room was a split level room, with very large and comfortable bed with separate lounge area. We even had the option to order different pillows (orthopedic, feather, foam etc). Outside on the terrace is a large day bed, table and chairs and a jacuzzi bath. Adjoining that is the open plan bathroom with "his and her" wash basins and the largest shower wet room I have had the pleasure to experience.
Our last night was even topped off when the manager and Director Shamindra came to congratulate us and check that we had had a perfect stay, indeed we had !
Thank you Shamindra and your team, you gave us a memorable stay at the Aditya for all the right reasons, nothing to complain about, I cannot recomend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: Worth the extra to take a beach view jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for a great review on TripAdvisor! We are so so glad that you decided to stay with us and it was an honour for us to help make a special occasion even more memorable.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to see you soon at Aditya!

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights after a hectic time travelling around Sri Lanka. We were very lucky to get an upgrade to an ocean view which was spectacular but even without that it would have been a wonderful stay. The room was luxurious with lots of space to relax. The open aspect to the bathroom took a little adjusting to but it had a huge shower with a hair dryer that worked and was well placed for a mirror - obvious but rare! We had the set menu in the evenings having booked half board, usually we give up after one night and go a la carte but the options were great, presentation good and taste even better so we stayed with this. The overall design of the hotel is spacious, relaxed and slightly quirky. The real gem here was the staff, they were all very polite, friendly and they took pride in their hotel so really wanted us to enjoy our stay. Such a wonderful place we never ventured out during our stay. I hope that one day we can go back.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are really wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZkBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Aditya! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The team considers it an honour to have had you with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked Aditya for 4 nights as part of their stay 4 pay for 3 deal. The main reason we booked it was due to the pictures on the website showing the outdoor jazcuzzi and the fab reviews on here.

We arrived at the resort after a 6 hour drive from Horton Plains so were a bit tired and worn out and we were shown to our room (Amsa) which was on the ground floor. The room was absolutely huge and very well laid out, if not a bit of 'wasted space'. We were jut thankful to get into the room so just chilled out for a bit then went to the restarant for a drink and some food. It was only when we got up the next day, we realised that the plunge pool was actually inside the bathroom and not located outsdie as we had wanted. Also, as it was on the ground floor, it was not as private as we would have liked. So we asked at reception if we could move rooms to one with the outdoor plunge pool as the website advertises. Whilst we were told the hotel was fully booked (they had a wedding later in the week) they did manage to accomodate us and moved us to a room on the first floor (Mitra) which ahd the outdoor plunge pool. This room for us was 10 times better and was exactly what we wanted although it was a bit smaller we felt the space was much better utilised. Whilst there was nothing wrong with the Amsa room at all, our preference was the Mitra room. If you want the bigger room, Amsa is for you but if, like us you want the plunge pool as advertised on the website then ask for a room on the top floor.

The hotel is located around a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride from Hikkaduwa (300-500 LKR) and a 20 minute ride to Galle (we paid 2500 LKR for a ride there, an hour wait then a trip to Turtle hatchery). When we visited it was out of season so there were no bars we found that had any life in them!

We ate at the restaurant twice on the evening and every morning for breakfast. The food was absolutely amazing, the chef is doing a fantastic job. As it is a boutique luxury resort, the prices are slightly on the high side for Sri Lanka but certainly not too over the top and you pay for what you get. Breakfast felt like a 6 course meal!

I do have to agree with a previous reviewer regarding children in the resort however. Whilst we were there, there were 2 families with children (1 there for a wedding which to be honest we fully understand) and one other fmaily with 2 kids. In my opinion, this is a luxury resort designed for couples and honeymooners, not for children. Whilst the chidlren were very well behaved, it made it awkward for the other guests as they clearly have booked for a relaxing couples holiday not wanting children running around, as well as for the parents of the kids as they kept having to shush them as there is nothing at all for children other than the pool. I would recommend the hotel makes this an adult only hotel (with the exception of for wedding and informing other guests of the same).

I would also like to mention Indika who seemed to be available 24/7 no matter what time we got up/came in he was always there to provide assistance. A very good job being done by him!!

There was a wedding on the day we were leaving and unfortunately the weather was terrible when we left, but we hope it cleared up in time for the ceremony as it would have been a great place for a wedding and I hope the couple had a fantastic day.

The one negative I have to mention was with regards to payment for the hotel. I had booked via the website and the amount was calculated in USD and a deposit take in USD. When I tried to pay the balance in USD I was not able to unless I had USD in cash (which given the cost of the room I wasn't going to have!) This meant that the hotel converted the balance into LKR at an extremely high rate which was then converted back to USD by my bank, and it ended up costing me more than $100 more by doing so in this way. They wouldn't even budge on the exchange rate even though it was a crazy rate they gave me. I was very disappointed by this, as I would have paid the full amount when I booked if I had known. All of the other hotels we stayed at (a lot less luxury) and even small restaurants/bars where we used our card gave us the option of paying in whichever currency we wanted and avoiding the charges and currency exchange. This therefore gave me a bit of a negative to the end of a great stay.

I couldn't fault the actual hotel and the stay was great but the payment issue spoilt the end a little bit.

A great luxurious stay at a top resort.

Room Tip: For a bigger room, choose those ont he ground floor but for the outside jacuzzi and better views/mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrshoeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that we were able to accommodate your request and that you were satisfied with the room. We will pass on your kind compliments to Chef Namal and Indika who considered it a pleasure to serve you.

We are reconsidering our child policy and will be more mindful of our guests comfort and are extremely sorry if this was compromised.

While we could not arrange a beach wedding due to the weather, we did manage to have a beautiful ceremony inside the hotel and sneak in a few pictures on the beach later on!

With regard to the payment, it was very unfortunate that the exchange rates were so high, however, we use exchange rates provided by the tourism authourity. We are also looking at possible solutions to address this issue and are in discussions with our bank as well and hope that, like the other establishments, we are able to solve this so as to not cause inconvenience to our guests in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very special hideaway. From the moment you enter the property it is almost perfect and was certainly the finest hotel on our itinerary during our trip around Sri Lanka.

The staff were courteous, friendly and ever so helpful. The room was so superb (more on that in a minute!) that we had room service…excellent!.. and the food (vegetarian) outstanding. Breakfasts were equally appealing.

We were given a side facing room which overlooked barren ground on which it seems as though they may be preparing to build..not a good outlook at all and this spoilt what otherwise would have been faultless accommodation.

The hotel is so superb that we firmly believe (like many first rate hotels in the Caribbean for instance) that children under the age of 12 should not be accommodated. It was our misfortune that there was a family of six with four children, two under the age of five, that were not kept under any kind of control (we could not even sit in the lobby area to enjoy afternoon tea without screaming kids) and who beyond doubt spoilt what would have been an exceptional experience. We also have kids but would never impose them on other guests who are paying a great deal of money for a relaxing, peaceful and enjoyable holiday. It is not a family orientated hotel and the kids were bored senseless as they were staying there for a month (…and who can really blame the hotel for such lucrative revenue?) but long-term The Aditya should consider their policy. When mentioned to the reception we were given a very sympathetic hearing and advised that so many other guests had likewise complained.

I am sure that the majority of the other guests who have submitted a revue will sympathise with our disappointment.

We would most certainly return to stay at The Aditya on the assurance that this wonderful and exceptional hotel was adult only.

Room Tip: Certainly a sea facing room would be preferable to one over-looking a barren expanse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are honoured by your praise of Aditya and our team.

We are sorry that your view from your room was marred by the current building project and hope that by the time it is done, we will be able to provide a better view from that suite.

We will review our policies and we are extremely sorry that you did not have the perfect holiday with us. It is rare that we accommodate large families at Aditya as we value our guests relaxation and comfort and are extremely sorry that we were unable to deliver in this regard.

When you are visiting Sri Lanka again, we hope that you will contact us and give us another opportunity to give you that well deserved ‘perfect’ stay.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed one night at Aditya on July 12th and were totally stunned by the place. The layout of the whole place is really well done and the suites spacious and very well designed. The rooms had every possible amenity you could want and the service excellent.

The staff were polite and attentive at all times and we had dinner served to our room which they were obligingly did, despite having to serve 4 courses. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

I would definitely return here for a weekend and preferably stay two night so that we could have the time to actually relax and enjoy the place and read a book while enjoying the gorgeous view.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for this great review of Aditya!

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you soon at Aditya for a longer break!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,662 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
421 reviews
8.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
386 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
16.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing