We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...wonderful”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One word...wonderful”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

6 nights at Aditya was the perfect end to a 2 week trip to Sri Lanka. Lovely, spacious rooms. Beautiful, quiet beach, at a particular time of day our only company on the beach was a small herd of cows...but nothing to worry about, they kept themselves to themselves! All the food at the restaurant was excellent and particularly enjoyed what we whipped up during the cookery class. The only room for improvement would be the water in the in-room hot tubs could be warmer. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_scott95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Aditya! We are so happy that we were able to help you to end your Sri Lankan holiday on a high note and are extremely glad that you stayed with us.

It’s great that you enjoyed the cookery class and your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami and the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    60
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
399
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Aditya is one of the best hotels i have been. The rooms are great - we had sagara. After arrival we got great food and just jumped in the pool - great. We booked the cooking experience with Namal and that was really nice - Namal explained spices and the sri lanka cooking style. We had fun and he prepared especially for us rabbit - this was not in the menu. The best rabbit i ever ate! The 4 hour bicycle tour was fun but not a tour like we thought. There was a boattrip included and a visit in a temple with a monk who explained the temple and buddism - really great because we could ask everything. The only thing i was disappointed was that we could not swim in the ocean, but with this pool it was fine. Perfect start for three weeks holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for a fantastic review of Aditya! It was a treat to have you with us and Chef enjoyed teaching you how to cook traditional Sri Lankan fare.

We look forward to your next visit, hopefully when the sea is calmer so that you can enjoy an absolutely perfect holiday.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Aditya was the 2nd (2/5) stop on our Honeymoon, Looking back we woudn't have minded spending our entire honeymoon there. We checked on line and booked a room ahead of time, The web site is accurate and informative.
When you arrive it is not overwhelming or brash. We stayed in the Sagara Suite. Which was spacious, tastefully decorated, Clean and most importantly comfortable.

Aditya offers the option of dinning on the beach, pool side or even in the privecy of your own room. Breakfast on the beach in the shade of the trees looking on the bright blue ocean was indeed the most memorable.

The service was excellent. Check the conditions of the sea at the time you plan to visit,
The sea can be very rough and not safe.

Room Tip: Breakfast on the beach is a must, if the moon is out even dinner would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemunu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your kind words about Aditya! The team is thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and we hope that we will see you soon for another memorable holiday.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this boutique hotel at the end of our holiday and we didn't want to go home,
The decor was charming, bed linen and towels soft and luxurious and the attentive service wonderful.
Couldn't be bettered.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments on Tripadvisor.

It was an honour to have you with us at Aditya and we hope that you will return soon for another perfect holiday!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had heard great things about Aditya before I visited the place, and found them all to be valid upon visiting. This little hotel tucked away in an unusually peaceful part of Hikkaduwa is beautifully designed, has a unique and charming personlality, and is a delight to explore. The rooms are spacious, earthy and somehow so homely while being luxurious at the same time. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Surya penthouse suite, which had everything you could possibly need. The food too was amazing, and all the staff, led by Sharminda, went out of their way to make our stay special.

Thank you Aditya- I shall be sure to recommend your lovely hotel to all I know, and hope to return again someday :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thush_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Ayubowan!

It is such a pleasure to read such a wonderful review from our guests.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aditya and it was an honour to look after you during your stay with us. The staff are so pleased with your comments and look forward to welcoming you at Aditya soon.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of our holiday and was the best hotel of our trip. Amazing hotel, with only 12 rooms and definitely worth playing the extra and having a sea view. Huge room with comfortable sofa and chairs, plunge pool and just lovely to sit on the balcony and hear and watch the sea. Staff very well trained, attentive but not overly so and for instance didn't clear our plates until we had both finished our meal. Chef to be commended - food was wonderful. Pool clean and inviting, but could do with new towels as they were a little tired. Same true of towels in the room - new big fluffy towels would be more suited to a boutique hotel of this standing.
First night was wonderful but on the second night of our stay, there was a large group (12+)
with young children who were very noisy in the restaurant, getting up from the table etc.. and sound travels. Not the kids fault but there is nothing to do here for children as the hotel is geared up for couples wanting a relaxing break with a spa, lovely pool and good food. We therefore ate late as too noisy in the restaurant to relax and savour our food. If the hotel was adult only would definitely go back, but had young children been there the whole extent of our stay would have felt miffed that we had paid so much and kids running around.
Also please note it took us 3 and a half hours ( it was a Saturday and perhaps roads are busy then) to get from Aditya to the airport in Colombo to catch a flight at 2pm, Our driver was brilliant, but the traffic was horrendous so leave plenty of time . However believe this will soon be quicker with the new road due to open at the end of October.
So pleased we didn't stay in Galle, but with it being a mere 20 minutes down the road it was ideal to visit from here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind advice. We are so glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay at Aditya!

We truly appreciate your advice with regard to the towels and they have now been replaced with fluffy new ones.

We are so sorry about the disturbance brought about that evening. Our dinner guests had requested arrangements on the beach, which we unfortunately could not accommodate due to rain and we were compelled to arrange the dinner at the restaurant instead.

We hope that the new expressway, which is now open, will cut down on travel time between the Airport and Aditya. The first expressway takes 20 minutes and the second one an hour. However, a short stretch in Colombo between the 2 expressways is still subject to some traffic, depending upon the time of travel.

We are so, so pleased that you stayed with us and we hope to see you at Aditya soon for another relaxing stay.

Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A brilliant hotel in which to relax and spend a few quiet days by the beach near to Galle in Sri Lanka. Stunning rooms and excellent spa services and staff. Lovely pool and immediately adjacent to the beach. a few minutes drive back into Galle. Restaurant is good but would be better if they limited the choice just a little and were then more consistent with the food. Overall however excellent.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Parabolics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your great review of Aditya!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the perfect relaxing solace in Aditya.

With regard to the menus, we try to cater to longer stay guests as well who may require variation in their meals over the course of their stay. We are however, restructuring our menus in order to better our guests experience.

We look forward to having you with us soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,602 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
232 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
21.2 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing