We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aditya
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Suite Lanka(Hikkaduwa)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
578
64
17
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
64
17
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolboutique hotelsagara suiteour honeymoongarden suitesri lankaenormous bathroomtea lightsthe penthouseopen bathroomopen planfish pondspent four nightsexecutive chefdinner on the beachdeserted beachindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A small hotel - all rooms are unique but sound equally nice (we had UV stars in our ceiling at night!)!
Staff all nice and helpful.
Room lovely, clean and very spacious.
Food amazing.
Location meant nothing to do but lounge about - so if you want activity you may get bored.
Sea unfortunately when we were there was far too rough for us to even dip in, so definitely no watersports.
And though prices for food were OK - they were a lot more expensive than other resorts. Appreciate they know Westerners are visiting there, but it was a bit much.

We stayed in the room called Aryaman. Lovely huge room, with outside bath, and separate nice powerful shower and bathroom. Though the courtyard with the bath in it had a couple of chairs to lounge on, it had no view and no sunshine to sunbathe sadly. Saying that there was always space around the pool, or on the beach so it really didn't bother us.

The staff were all really helpful - they served afternoon tea / brought icy snacks in the morning but not always which was confusing. They were helpful but we had a large family there when we were there - there were no other children, but it meant they seemed to take over during mealtime and it became a bit difficult to get the attention of the waiters...


The pool was a nice size, but you knew when it was time for a clean. Also a couple of rooms over look the pool (sea view) which sound lovely, but while we were there some younger couples were in those rooms one weekend, and they played loud music on loop during the afternoons, which was a bit annoying!

The food was DELICIOUS! Every dish was special! Make sure you order the curry and rice (and watch the open mouths of other diners as they bring it out!). We couldn't choose what to have each night it was all so lovely, every time!

We booked the market tour and cookery lesson. The cookery lesson was BRILLIANT, it took a lot of writing to annotate the recipes you were given with extra tips and ingredients as he cooked, but worth it!. BUT the market tour is a complete waste of time - not worth it at all. Would recommend you just don't bother as for a 30min each way trip to Galle you spend about 5 mins walking around the fish market that is almost empty, and the chef says he would never buy stuff there anyway, due to hygiene (not surprised when you see the fish drying on the pavement!).

The gym is pretty terrible - clearly not used much, but one running machine worked well enough for a run a few times.

The massages are good there too - nice to have masseurs that know what firm is - nice and relaxing!

So - it's a lovely hotel - better than any others we stayed in in Sri Lanka, but not quite as good as other similarly rated places we have been in Fiji / Mauritius in my view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzy360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your great comments and feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will soon graduate to being in the same league as the other wonderful places that you have visited.

Chef will be so happy to hear that you loved all your meals and Fifit, our Spa therapist, will be delighted that you enjoyed the spa experience.

With regard to some of our shortcomings, the pool is cleaned daily and filters and all other precautions taken to maintain its cleanliness However, we will definitely take a more thorough approach to cleaning as this is of utmost importance to us.

We are so sorry that you did not find the market tour interesting. The tour is meant to act as a window into the local market scene and chef attempts to distinguish between a good catch and a bad one. However, it seems that this was not the case and we will check with guests about the market tour and whether they would like to go.

The fitness room is, we understand, one that provides only basic facilities due to space constraints. We hope to improve on this feature.

We hope that you will return to Aditya and that your experience with us will be perfect in every way!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having read all the reviews on here, I arrived with high expectations. Aditya did not disappoint. In fact, it was very hard to fault.

Room (Martanda – 1st floor – nice ocean view) was large and spotless. Outside bathroom was amazing.

Pool was lovely. Right on the beach – nice beach to walk along, rather than sunbath and swim at.

The service all round was first class. The resort was spotless.

Food was brilliant. Couple of choices for breakfast and dinner on the set menu’s but everything we ate was the standard of top class restaurants.

I do not think the resort was full. But hard to know. However we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

It was the first stop on our honeymoon (for 4 nights) and was the highlight of Sri Lanka for us. We both believe it to be one of the nicest places we have stayed. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is extremely heartening for the entire team to read your review and to know that your stay at Aditya was so memorable and that we lived up to your expectations.

We hope that you will come back to Sri Lanka and Aditya soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were given a voucher to aditya as a wedding present, so we decided to check it out. We stayed two nights in a sea view room on the ground floor. The hotel is breathtaking even as you enter it. Beautiful architecture, that's been very tastefully designed and decorated. Our room was huge with a balcony, and a big washroom with a plunge pool.

The food was excellent, it was beautifully crafted and delicious. On the first night of our stay, the hotel went to the extent of decorating our room with coloured candles, it really quite was a beautiful surprise! The staff were friendly and we enjoyed the fact that we could have our meals at our own time. Everything could be done at our own pace. There is a nice common pool as well, the sea we were told was not safe for swimming during our stay. Overall an amazing experience!!

Room Tip: The Sea view rooms are great!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanimA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Ayubowan!

Thank you for a great review of your stay with us! We are so glad that you spent your honeymoon at Aditya.

It is so encouraging for all of us to read such great things about the hotel and staff and it is what motivates us to strive to better the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back at Aditya soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife an i stayed at Aditya for 4 nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and couldn't have wished for a better place to spend it. The staff at this place are exceptional and are what really distinguishes it above others (the accommodation and the food are also pretty damn good).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongStuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing Aditya to celebrate this memorable occasion. It was an honour to have you with us and we look forward seeing you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The only luxury resort we have stayed in that pleased us as much as Aditya was the $1000 a night Al Husn in Oman. The facilities are top and there is even a spa in this 12 suite hotel; the masseuse/eur are tops. The food is excellent and the staff is sans pareil. We had the two story Grand Suite with private sun deck but the ocean front suites are more than superb and reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that we have been placed on par with such a luxurious and renowned hotel.

The entire team enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews