We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a perfect holiday”
Review of Aditya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aditya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had spent two weeks experiencing all the sights, sounds, tastes and wonders of Sri Lanka with Neil de Silva, our wonderful chauffeur guide. When we arrived at Aditya we were met with a garland of frangipani flowers, a drink and a real welcome. Led to the most sublime room, with fruit and cakes and so followed four days of rest and relaxation. Nothing was too much trouble and our comfort and well being was paramount. The highlight had to be the cooking experience! The executive chef knows his stuff! Friendly, charming and outstanding cook. The meal he demonstrated, and we ate was the best we had in the two weeks, and believe me, all the meals were good! Go there if you can.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It is such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Aditya so much and so much more satisfying to know that you had such a wonderful experience in Sri Lanka. Chef Namal had as much fun teaching you as you had learning from him.

We hope that you will come back to Sri Lanka and Aditya and we look forward to having you with us.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & The Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    60
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
398
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were at Aditya from the 27 th of May 2014 to the 30 th of May 2014 checked out after breakfast.
It is certainly a place we will return to for more reasons than one.
Situated approx 15 mins coastal drive away from the historic city of Galle, a perfect location to enjoy peace and yet close enough to go visit the amazing Fort city of Galle and go on the glass bottom boats to view the corals in Hikkaduwa.
The ambience and decor is superb. Tropical green, golden sands and blue sea. Cloud bursts of rain almost daily which cools the place. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable furniture and bed. Great pillow menu. We stayed in the Suriya Suite which is sheer luxury. The air condition unit where the bed is, is too big and blasts cold air straight on your head. That is the only fault we found which can be easily corrected.
Service and food is outstanding. We ate enormous lagoon crabs and fresh prawns steamed with various sauces. A meal to remember. Breakfast is sumptuous and we liked the personalised menu. No buffet. Smiling staff ever ready to help. Shami, the GM very courteous and ready to listen.
The terrace attached to our room was very private and the large jacuzzi there was well used. Sat out at night under a canopy of stars listening to the sounds of waves crashing on the sand. Perfect.
Strongly recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Did not use fitness centre or spa. Choose a room with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saberatapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving such a fantastic review of Aditya!

It’s great to know that you enjoyed the location and the ambiance of Aditya and are glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness and luxury our Surya suite has to offer. I appreciate all the great suggestions that were made during our chat and we will definitely work on improving on these aspects and also on fixing the problems regarding the air conditioning.

The team loved taking care of you and serving you delicious meals and hope that you will be back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a fabulous place to stay - small and very friendly - great service, decor and ambiance. Food was excellent. Lovely hotel right on the beach - I cannot recommended this hotel highly enough. I would definitely go back if I am in Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your fantastic review of Aditya! The team is delighted to read your kind words and they enjoyed taking care of you.

We hope you do come back to Sri Lanka and Aditya soon!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is our second year of celebrating our anniversary with a bit of luxury. There is no other words to describe the service levels you expereince at Aditya. My wife and I do not beleive in spending at many local hotels as they offer nothing in value be it service wise or food wise. But Aditya is an exception. From the moment you check in to the time you check out, the staff serves you yet stay out of your way. No easy feat. But they pull it off. From the serving of the food to clearing of the tables, you hardly notice them. They are freindly, courteaous and always with a smile. Even the security staff goes to great lengths to make sure the reversing of your car goes smooth... :) Food is excellent, portions are generous and the plating and presentation second to none. The rooms defies definition. The hotels mushrooming in Sri Lanka will be well served if they make an effort to be as half as good as Aditya.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasitha101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for this splendid review of Aditya! We are so, so glad that you did come to Aditya and enjoyed it so much. The entire team is thrilled with your generous praise of their efforts and look forward to seeing you at Aditya to celebrate many many happy occasions in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very close to tha galle city place for someone looking for a relaxing vacation. The ambience was superb and the service for impeccable. There was good variety cuisine available and the food quality was excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, General Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Aditya! It is a pleasure to read such kind words about the food and service and the staff would love to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock Staffordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Both my husband and i were amazed with the splendour of our room. We have never stayed anywhere so grand before. The staff were welcoming and friendly. When we arrived back from a day touring they had our key ready with a friendly greeting. The food was amazing both breakfast and evening meal. Lovely walks on the beach. A very quiet hotel that you can fully relax in at the end of a busy day. Even the sunbeds around the pool were delux or you could relax in a hammock. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kddowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you so much for your kind review of Aditya!

It was a pleasure taking care of you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Aditya.

The entire team is thrilled to know that you loved the food, the service and the surroundings.

We look forward to seeing you soon at Aditya!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This luxury boutique hotel is a must stay if you are visiting Srilanka. Tucked away from the city rush whilst very close to Galle and Hikkaduwa Aditya is the perfect place for someone looking for a relaxing vacation.
The ambience was superb and the service for impeccable. There was good variety cuisine available and the food quality was excellent.
The hotel's travel desk also arranged for my whale watching trip from Mirissa at 5:00am and they also packed a picnic basket.

Overall the team left no stone unturned to make my stay pleasant and memorable.

PS - The private plunge pool in the bathroom is awesome !!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. Stay for a longer period to actually enjoy it. The Surya Suite is obviously t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Aditya, Manager at Aditya, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you for your wonderful review of Aditya! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The team enjoyed taking care of you and arranging the trip to Mirissa was our pleasure. We hope to see you soon at Aditya for some much deserved rest and relaxation!

Warmest Regards,
Shami & the Aditya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hikkaduwa
3.4 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
Kalla Bongo Lake Resort
#2 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
24.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
15.2 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aditya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aditya

Property: Aditya
Address: 719/1 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#2 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aditya 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aditya is an exclusive all suite luxury boutique hotel on a hidden stretch of beach close to the historic city of Galle. The hotel is small and intimate and its rooms are amongst the largest and most lavishly appointed on the island. The accent is on unrestrained luxury, personalized service and total privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aditya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aditya Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing