We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hikkaduwa Free Ayurveda Promo & Cultural Show.”
Review of Sunils Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunils Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you hope to travel to Sri Lanka at the end of January 2012, there is a beautiful boutique event of music and Ayurveda on 25th of January.As i got to know it is a brand new event concept. Total event will be hold at Hikkaduwa beach offering specters an unforgettable experience.
There will be a Ayurveda promotion in the day time providing participant lot of free offers, such as free Ayurveda doctor consultation,free face massage,foot massage and a herbal teas. Not only that unbelievable price off for all the other treatments and medicines.Just imagine how will it look like when there are providing spas and all other treatments at the white sandy beach. I hope it will be awesome.
Night event will be the best part for sure.i always love to experience Sri lankan traditional dance and music. There,they are offing an unique drumming and dance show at the Hikkaduwa beach. Traditional dance acts,creative and traditional drumming acts,fusions,folks songs and much more.The night show will be done by Ravibandu Vidyapathi team who are the best traditional drumming team in Sri Lanka.The other thing is, there are freely providing a cocktail also.

I"m sure this will be the highlight of your tour and you will be enchanted by the memories and magic of it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

On my recent visit to Hikkaduwa in September 2011, I was looking for a place to stay for a week.
So when I visited this hotel, I was put off. It looks very old and a bit outdated. I got to have a glance at the rooms
and they were basic and pretty shabby looking for the price I was offered. I got a chance to have a glance at the pool from the room I was inspecting and it was very dirty, seems like the cleaning system did not work properly in the pool. I managed to find better places around which were cheaper looked cleaner and more relaxed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank socksboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Book this hotel as all the good hotels were fully booked
Payed for two nights but lasted only one
Whatever you do, do not get breakfast here or you'll be in for a few surprises. Its something out of I'm a celeb get me out of here. Gekos in the salad and creepy crawlies in the salad. As well as a pot of something constantly boiling, it looked like eel but I guess it's cheap fish
I made the chef make me 2 boiled eggs and made my own toast
Rooms are ant ridden no tv and the mosquito net was smelly and covered in squashed Mosquitos from previous happy campers I guess
The pool is dirty
I guess the only positives are that u can safely keep your valuables in their 'safe' and the is 24hr security at the front
$50 a night off season and u can't eat there without your stomach turning isn't value for money in my book!!
But do eat at buddes it's cheap good views and delicious

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The location is a bit far away from all the main facilities. I guess the hotel is designed for package tours, it has a little bit of everything, a restaurant, bar, swimming pool etc, and you even have your own balcony, the beach is right in front of the hotel. But no tv/wifi, the breakfast buffet from the restaurant was awful, ants crawling on fruits and jam, highly diluted milk...the bathroom got flooded after we had shower. Simply It is a hotel doesn't take care of their customers. We only stayed there for one night, not anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yuan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

we arrived at sunils beach hotel late at night, the service was ok but the room was terrible. The beds are hard, no TV, and the floor was wet ! All the furnitures look old and the bathroom was kind of dirty.

Breakfast was limited to toast, bacon and sausages and papaya juice. Taste so-so.

It was raining in the morning we left so we didn't get to see the beach but we are not coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Service is good in restaurant as are the curries. Pool nice with bar close by. Excellent access to the beach and not crowded. Room is large but very average and bathroom not worth a mention but the price is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pents3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Staff were nice and helpfull.Buffet very poor. cups and plates chipped, different sorts, sometimes not at all present. Bathrooms, afraid to use. Smelly, broken tiles, drains from washbasin open to some hole in the corner.Hotel is up for sale may be a reason not to do any maintenance.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#15 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
118 reviews
0 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#7 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
53 reviews
0 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Avenra Beach Hotel
Avenra Beach Hotel
#16 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunils Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunils Beach Hotel

Address: Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunils Beach Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the delightful, sun kissed, palm fringed golden beaches of Hikkaduwa. Located on the Beach, Sunil's Beach Hotel offers you miles and miles of uninterrupted beach frontage probably the best Beach in the South West Coast. We offer you 60 delicately appointed spacious double rooms, overlooking the sea. Air-Conditioned and Non-Air-conditioned Rooms. En-suite bathrooms equipped with shower and toilet. Running Hot & Cold water. Courteous 12-Hour Room Service. Laundry Service. And much more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunils Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing