We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in a beach facing room for the first time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed in a beach facing room for the first time”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for a night during our trip to Sri Lanka in October. It is a beach front hotel located in Hikkadua on Galle Road. Our tour operator booked the hotel, so we are NOT aware of the per night rates. We checked in at 7 PM and checked out at 9 AM the next morning.

This is a two storey hotel with 15 to 18 rooms with two beach facing rooms. It also has a swimming pool in the center of the hotel. Most of the rooms are around the pool.

We stayed in one of the beach facing rooms in the first floor. We got an upgrade as the earlier occupants checked out in the evening. The room was spacious with a balcony. The balcony had couple of chairs where you can sit and watch the waves. The AC was decent and the bathroom was clean. It had a very nice ambiance and we enjoyed staying there. For complimentary breakfast we had bread with potato curry and coconut sambol, omelet, orange juice and tea.

Room Tip: Try for the beach facing room if you're staying longer. You will enjoy that.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ranjan-MyTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    82
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
127
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We we're lucky to get this hotel, we have stayed in a few hotels over Sri Lanka and this one was by far the best. The owner is very accommodating and friendly and the staff equally so. The restaurant had good food and drinks was always cold. It also runs onto the sand and its nice sitting and relax with a awesome beach and food and drink with your feed in the sand. Will go back any day and would recommend it to anybody!!

Room Tip: AC is a must in Sri Lanka. Take a room with AC in!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blikkies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Located on a nice area of the beach and has a nice pool to cool off in. But, the room was small with damp smelling towels. The other restaurants on the beach have music and lighting.. Drifters lacks this and as a result lacks atmosphere. Food was nice, but restaurant had filthy table clothes so didn't eat there much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriftersHotel, Owner at Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate constructive criticism and will review the matters you raised. We buy new linens (table cloths, towels etc) for the hotel every year before the start of the season, as well as doing repairs and improvement works and repainting. This year we will be closing in September to carry out this work, so I am sorry that as you were one of our last guests for the year, that some things were not up to our usual standard. Our table cloths are laundered every two days, and we have several sets that we rotate, but unfortunately by the end of a year's use, although clean, they can be stained (curry is particularly bad for staining). Of course this is no excuse, so apologies are due here, and I will immediately inspect the linens to discard any bad ones before our new ones come in October.
On the issue of music in the restaurant, we have had many guests who ask for no music at Drifters and who prefer to listen to the sound of the waves. We have many families stay with us with children sleeping at an early hour, so they like a quiet and peaceful environment. Our focus in the restaurant is to provide good affordable food for our guests, rather than be part of the Hikkaduwa nightlife scene. We can't be everything to all people and there are many nearby bars, restaurants and party places for people looking for music and a crowd. Instead of competing with them, our aim is to provide a quiet haven close to but also away from the action, which most guests seem to appreciate (especially during peak season, when all the bars are in full swing and at full volume!).
Lalith Priyankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Traveling to Sri Lanka, one expects to relinquish the burdens and menucia of modern life. The mere prospect of pristine beaches and fresh tropical juices takes one far enough in satisfaction. Drifters sheds these expectations and for that I am incredibly grateful.

The staff and accommodations at Drifters hotel reframed what I perceived to be a pleasant stay on a beachfront hotel. Cheap, clean, luxurious, convenient, gorgeous, timeless are all concepts that seared through my weekend in hikkaduwa. Despite the offseason, the hotel produced a commensurate experience. I wonder what bliss Lalith and staff bring when surf's up?! I highly recommend this delightful rewiring of what one associated with beach tourism. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosacheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Loroux-Bottereau, Pays de la Loire, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel at the end of our Sri Lanka tour and it was a very good choice. Everything is very clean, the seaview from the room is just incredible...like the sound of the sea :0)
The pool is great and very clean also...
Do not hesitate to order your food also, they cooked us very good prawns
I recommend Drifters Hotel with no reserve

Room Tip: Choose the seaview room even if more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory Et Nell... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great views of the beach from the deck can be found here. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. Air con works great! No complaints there! Internet access was very little. My friend could sometimes get it but I didn't get the internet at all on my phone. Our last day the power went out and the manager kept the generator on for us which was nice. Other hotels weren't so generous. The pool is small but nice. Id stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyRoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Drifters is a fantastic choice for the chilled out, funky surfers town that is Hikkaduwa. Lalith and his team were the most friendly, hospitable people we came across in Sri Lanka, and his hotel is the cleanest and most well kept.

The pool is very refreshing to escape the blistering heat, and the rooms are clean, spacious and temperature controlled. The hotel is literally on the sand of a long beach, and the sound of the crashing waves was great to fall asleep to.

The restaurant does a killer meal, and the lassies are exceptional.

Lalith also organised our transport to/from the airport, as well as the elephant orphanage. His driver was fantastic and informative!

When you go to Hikkaduwa, I think people will find cheaper alternatives however Drifters is by far the most modern and clean guest house on the beach in Hikkaduwa. I highly recommend staying here, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngoznomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.9 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#17 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#14 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant

Property: Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Address: 602 Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters is a medium-sized, owner-operated hotel in the heart of the best beach and surfing spot in Hikkaduwa. Drifters offers comfortable, clean rooms built around a garden and swimming pool, with a restaurant opening onto the beach. Service is Drifters' mantra and owner Lalith is always on hand to give personal attention to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing