We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room, Clean Bathroom :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jaffna
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Despite the (mostly) mediocre reviews, Tilko definitely exceeded my expectations!

Check in was a breeze and the staff were friendly.
The room was super large (though a tad run down and dusty)- mine had 2 queen-sized beds. Spotless bathroom! A desk and chair was provided for work stuff. There was even a cosy leisure area in my room with 2 sofa chairs and a table - great for having friends over for a spot of tea! I like the custom omelette / scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet.

The hotel's wifi was non-existent in my room on the 2nd floor but okay in the lobby.

Be warned that creepy elevator music will come on for no reason. Don't be alarmed, it's just "Hush, Little Baby". Also, they're in the midst of building a pool so don't mistake construction noise for someone knocking on your window.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are more accessible as you don't have to wait for the only lift available.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel was quite exceptional. The rooms are very large and spacious. The hotel offers WiFi and good service. Excellent location too. Out of most of the hotels in Jaffna, this hotel could be one of the best hotels to stay in. The hotel is less expensive and value for the money.
Although the restaurant food can be a little cold and sometimes does not have everything that is in the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wscooby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited the restaurant at Tilko hotel for Dinner.

The restaurant had a decent menu and they had a buffet too. We ordered food off the menu and the food was generally ok. One of the dishes we ordered (deviled squid) was not very good and the waiter took it back and it tasted even worse once the chef had tried to re-cook it ! They did apologize, but no offer of compensation was made !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank speedyLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We made a booking for a triple occupancy in their Super Luxury room for Rs 8,800 for a family member for 2 nights stay. We also made further enquires about their tariff for double rooms and were quoted Rs 7800 (an all inclusive rate - a discount of about 20% from the advertised rate) for their Super Luxury Room, we booked for 2 rooms and on arrival, we were offered rooms with breakfast for an additional Rs 500 as we would make a saving of Rs 200 if booked as a package. On check out we were shocked to see that we were charged Rs 10,370 per night, an alarming increase of over Rs 2000 per night, when queried we were told it was their standard tariff but discounted the service charge. Anyone with some common sense would figure out how a triple room cost less than a double room!. The person who quoted us the rate admitted that it was a mistake on his part for not recording the agreed rate during booking but offered no resolution for the mistake. We were in a rush to catch the plane we paid the bill but informed the staff that the matter be escalated to the senior management and requested the manager to contact us. The management had no courtesy to deal with is serious matter.
The variety of food offered as breakfast was very limited and the service was very appalling. We There were cockroaches in the bathroom and were horrified with the situation. they never took any action to resolve the issue, Very noisy from outside - can't have a peaceful sleep. Overall we were overcharged by over Rs 10000.00 for the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Keep away from this Hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Overview: Travelling around Sri Lanka on a road trip, stayed here for 4 nights, used Jaffna as a base to explore the local coastline

The good: The room was a decent size, the staff were helpful and friendly, English is very good if you don't speak Sinhalese or Tamil, the location is right in the centre of Jaffna, the restaurant and bar area are large and air-conditioned, wi-fi reception was good ( modem was immediately outside the room ), free parking on the hotel grounds, the old Austin Healy collection is worth seeing

The not so good: The rooms are very stuffy, the air conditioning never really worked properly, more of a fan than an a-c unit, the beds were dramatically uncomfortable, the TV reception was very poor, very poor, the a-c switched off when the TV unit came on, we could't get the refrigerator to go cold, the breakfast was Sri Lankan style and had very limited choice, no cereals etc, I even saw one of the waiters adjusting the food plate with his hands so hygiene is not a priority. The room was only cleaned once in the 4 days and the one time it was cleaned we had to strip the beds ourselves to indicate we needed them replaced.

Would I recommend: Probably not.

Would I stay again: No

Summary: The hotel tried hard but nothing works properly, it's all a bit haphazard. I wasn't expecting the Ritz in Jaffna, so please don't get me wrong, but I did expect the basics to work, the staff were good though and especially the Manager.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robdubluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd visit here, and my first horrible experience.

Came in a group of 28 and some of them had horrible experiences.

There were some ladies and they had rats in their rooms....!!!!

In the middle of the night, half way through their sleep, they had rats on their TV table attacking some fruits which they had left there.

More rats were found on the curtains of the room...

My friends ran out of the room and were simply horrified.

When we complained to the front desk, they offered another room. Seems like they were aware of the situation but no action were taken to remedy.

The food was good, but thinking of the rats, I wonder how clean their kitchens were...

Stay here only if you have no other choice.



  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I undertook the trip in October 2013. Arrived after a day long journey, rooms are rather small and do not offer one a view. They open to a balcony walk way and a very unimaginative. . Meals are OK, and very good Jaffna cuisine. Hotel is rather difficult to locate. Room service is not that reliable or attentive.

Room Tip: Cannot make a recommendation as the arrangement is unimaginative
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Jaffna
Jetwing Jaffna
#1 of 9 in Jaffna
286 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Margosa Bongo Stay
1.2 mi away
Blue Whale Hotel
Blue Whale Hotel
#5 of 9 in Jaffna
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Grass Hotel
Green Grass Hotel
#7 of 9 in Jaffna
181 reviews
15.6 mi away
PJ Hotels
PJ Hotels
#3 of 9 in Jaffna
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thinnai
The Thinnai
#1 of 49 in Jaffna
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilko Jaffna City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilko Jaffna City Hotel

Address: 70/6 K.K.S Road, Jaffna 40000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jaffna
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilko Jaffna City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tilko Jaffna City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing