We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOTEL LOVELY STAFF LOVELY ISLAND”
Review of Turyaa Kalutara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turyaa Kalutara
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

On arrival after a hectic 3 hour taxi ride from the airport we were greeted with a welcoming drink and did not have to wait long before being shown to our room which was large, spotless and airy. Only down side was it was a bit dark, could have done with a ceiling light. Staff were polite and very well turned out and a special mention to the lifeguards whom I chatted to on a daily basis. Food was good and being a vegetarian, I found plenty of options available and if I did not, a word to the chef and he would come up with something. Nightly entertainment was passable if not a bit loud. Beware of the organised trips by the travel reps. On each trip you were made to think that you had to buy something and that something was expensive. Only downside of stay was that we felt a bit badgered by a couple of the staff towards the end of our stay and we knew that the reason was that they wanted a tip although we had only spoken to them on a couple of occasions. We did tip some of the staff but only the ones we felt deserved it. All in all a great stay at a great hotel.
P.S. Pack some dog biscuits for the strays

Room Tip: Bedrooms with large balconys overlooking the sea are excellent for watching the sunset
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

thank you so much for your lovely comments .great to note that you ahve had a wonderful holiday .see you soon .Much greetings from the G M and his team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Turyaa Kalutara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had some strange experience from same area hotels, few days back. Some Facilities they won't offer for locals, and lucky I was a foreign. I was thinking why this all in Sri Lanka, where they say official language is Sinhalese, but do not care about locals, who doesn't understand English. I was so worried to see this. During these experience I had totally different experience at The Sands.
I was really impressed with the front desk service, and it is a really nice hotel, in a superb environment, I couldn't stay there as it was just my brother’s honeymoon, But I was so lucky to visit the hotel often and receive their hospitality, even though I wasn't a official guest, they offered a great hospitality. I would definitely stay and recommend anybody that this is a superb hotel with excellent service. Even though I look like a local, they didn't care where I came from, local or foreign. That is the most important part I have seen in this hotel, especially Lakamal, who was in the front desk, thank you so much mate, for making us feel welcome. Keep the good work mate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NipuniShanthaweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you very much for your great comments .We are happy to note that you all had a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you soon .best wishes from team the sands .
Niran R .G M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our second visit to Sri Lanka and we enjoyed it just as much. The hotel is located on a lovely sandy beach; the seas are quite lively and not suitable for young children as there is a strong current. The hotel has a very varied menu which managed to cater for all of our party of 8. Sufficient vegetarian salads and meals, meat and tatties for one person and masses of seafood for several others. The hot kitchen cooked up specialities for each meal in addition to a full buffet of hot and cold foods, some curries but always a choice of other foods such as pasta, fish or chicken as well as the salads and always fresh fruit and lots of lovely desserts..

All the standard rooms have a sea view and the higher floors get a magnificent view. There are garden rooms but non were available when we booked; however, because of the view we were very happy where we were, especially as our beds were beautifully decorrated with flowers each day.

We took a two day tour, revisiting the elephant orphanage at Pinnawela as our friends had not been there, and then moved down to a restaurant balcony overlooking the river to see about 100 elephants of all ages being brought through the town and down to bathe in the river. This was the absolute high point of any tour we have ever done and is one not to miss. The elephants obviously enjoy the river visit with the younger ones running around and rushing over to the far rocks to play.

The rest of the "Kings of Kandy" tour was visiting the magnificent Temple of the Tooth Relic and seeing the ceremony (we somehow missed the ceremony on our last visit). Next came a tea plantation which was fascinating, the spice garden (the massages and information were great but check you have an accurate price for what you are buying and what quantity as the price can add up very quickly), a gem factory with a film of how the gems are extracted and then the salesroom where we were all very tempted by the fabulous local sapphires which come in a variety of colours. We also fitted in a visit to the Botanical Gardens and an Arts and Crafts Centre where we were able to see the material being printed and a very enjoyable Cultural show. While we had a packed lunch the first day, we still stopped for lunch on both days as we had eaten a lot of the picnic for breakfast due to the early start.

We were lucky that we were a party of 8 and as we had the mini bus to ourselves we picked out where we wanted to go and when we wanted the breaks. Suggest talking amongst your fellow passengers and working out exactly where you want to go and see as even spread over two days, there is so much to see that they are both very long days and can mean getting back to the hotel on both nights between 7.30pm and 9.30pm.

The hotel is large enough to have all mod cons but it was also small enough that we got to know many of the guests and staff very well, and the standard of service was excellent.

We took time out to visit the local town by tuk tuk and even had a trip on both the local train and express bus. Both run along the coast from Columbo down to Galle. We stopped at Galagoda and had a trip on a tuk tuk to visit the 40meter reclining budda up the mountain in a partly restored building. Beware of the touts on the train who claim to live in Europe and who just want to help tourists. While we had a lovely day, we later found out that the man from Jersey is regularly on the train.

Our last day in the hotel coincided with their Independance Day on February 4th and we were invited to take part in the hotel's celebrations which started out with a formal salute taken by senior management, then a ceremonial lighting of candles folowed by the serving of traditional cakes. A ceremonial tree planting followed as we had the opportunity to purchase and plant either a cocoanut tree or a temple tree which is a fragrant Frangipani for the princely sum of £5.

When travelling always take tissues and handwipes with you as although there are always toilets available, there often is no soap or hand drying facilities and occasionally no toilet roll.

I could go on for ever about this fantastic island, the friendly people and the lovely hotel but I'd love for you to go enjoy it for yourselves.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are large and spacious with a balcony facing the beach. Request a room on ei...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments .We note that you have had agreat holiday at The sands .hope you can return soon .Best wishes from all at the sands .
niran r G M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent my honeymoon days at the Sands, Kalutara few days ago. it was a nice place to stay and enjoy. Got superb services from reservation table, room service and at restaurant. having nice locations for wedding photography which add much more than I expected. Met very friendly and flexible Lakmal at reception, who always ready to support with nice smile.

wish to thank all at restaurant,room service, reservation including Lakmal for their kind support with nice smiles.

cheers
samantha

Room Tip: They are very friendly, so get help to select better rooms with your requirements.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and it was a pleasure having both of you with us .Best wishes from all of us at the sands .G M -Ratwatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked our holiday through Mercury Direct using them for the first time and would not hesitate using them in the future. We were collected from the airport and transferred by private taxi to The Sands/greeted by our travel rep. We were dealt with promptly and welcomed with cold towels and a refreshing cocktail before being shown to our room 216 overlooking the beach. All facilities in the room were explained including meal times etc we were promptly welcomed by the pool boys and assisted with sun beds/umbrella, the same sun beds were reserved for us for the following 14 days including use of extra pool towels. Nish and Nero from the entertainment team made their selves known to us and kept us occupied throughout the day with water aerobics / water polo / boules / croquet we met some lovely people from all over the world and enjoyed every minute. The food was delicious with a variety of Sri Lankan curries and plenty of westernised food to choose from the chief Sunsil is very friendly and makes appoint of asking guests what foods they like also Nelum and Laksha attended to all our needs whilst in to the Resturant our room was cleaned to the highest standard by Gayan and different decorations/flowers left on our bed on a daily basis We are well travelled by Sri Lankan hospitality is second to none a massive thank you to everyone we met and making our stay at The Sands a memorable one

Room Tip: Our room was 216 and overlooked the beach
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for the comments .We note that you have had a great holiday and we hope to see you back .All at the sands sends you greetings .Best regards .G M Niran R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Overall I would rate this stay as average, but i was personally disappointed as The Sands is a 4* hotel and that's what my husband and I paid for.

We stayed in a cabana, which is off to the side from the main hotel. The rooms are nice, flat screen TV, little couch area, huge bed. There is either a small balcony or porch. Bathrooms are fine, with hot water and a bathtub.

We did go when it was off-peak, but most of the restaurants we shut except for the buffet room. We went full board, but i have to say that the quality of the food was not good. There was plenty, with a wide variety of styles - Euro, eastern, but it tasted all the same and wasn't great. My husband got a stomach ache after eating, twice. In fact they had a tea session in the afternoon, and best meal i had was the tea that i poured myself and the butter cake.

The pool was nice, and the beach location was fine (but watch out for the 'tour guides/salesmen' on the beach. I had a massage which was fine (nothing out of the ordinary) but the massage area is slightly disconcerting (they have a one way glass, so you can see out but they can't see in). They also have a steam room, sauna, gym, table tennis table and a little games area.

All of it sounds good on paper (minus the food) but although they had all the things a 4 star hotel is supposed to have, it was run down - paint peeling, broken furniture, lackluster staff, horrible food - which is is shame, but if it was taken care of it would have gotten a better rating.

Room Tip: Choose one of the cabins/cabanas. These are set away from the main hotel by a little bit, but you do...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLNA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for bringing to our notice of all issues ,Will attaend .
hope you can visit us a gain .best wishes from me and the team at the sands .
general mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Having completed a 2 day tour of the Island , we were ready for some time to chill and relax.
We had 8 nights at the The Sand and it was wonderful. Our room was on the ground floor and our veranda looked directly out onto the Indian Ocean. The room was cleaned daily ,The pool was large and well maintained and there were plenty of sun loungers placed around the pool and in the garden. The pool staff were very attentive and ensured all our needs were met. There was a bar in the garden and one by the pool. The water was filtered and safe to drink and coffee and tea was available in the room.The food was excellent ,Ranga was our guide he was absolutely brilliant nothing was too much trouble. He even rented us a mobile phone and sim which was really cheap phoning home cost pennies.Ranga's email details for anyone going
rangaprasad99@yahoo.com
Mark, Claire Gloucester England

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 542markf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Mark, Claire Gloucester

Many thanks for you comment which we are very happy of .great to note that both of you had a nice holiday .looking forward to seeing you both soon .

regards.G M niran Ratwatte and the team at the sands .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,174 reviews
22.8 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
967 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turyaa Kalutara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turyaa Kalutara

Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: £53 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turyaa Kalutara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Sunspot Tours, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turyaa Kalutara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
Turyaa Kalutara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing