We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience...”
Review of Turyaa Kalutara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turyaa Kalutara
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived back from an 8 night stay three weeks ago, and would thoroughly recommend it!

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the front of house staff and were given cold drinks and canapes in the foyer. This excellent and warm welcome can be applied to the whole holiday! The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent and there was a wide selection of both local and western cuisine. The al a carte restaurant gave a nice change to the buffet - this comes at no extra cost to all inclusive guests. The only downside was that the afternoon snacks weren't that great. The pool facilities were very clean and safe, as well as the gym and sauna. Overall, all staff were so happy and could not be faulted. We are looking at coming back to Sri Lanka in the future, and this hotel will definitely be weaved in to the visit. It was perfectly safe to walk out of the hotel to the local village, and all the locals were very friendly. We discovered a local tailors were we purchased two made to measure suits at a fraction of the cost of what it would have been in the UK, as well as some shirts and blouses - The shop didn't look much but certainly worth a visit. It is called Chami Tailors and if you walk out of the hotel front gates, it is around 100 yards to the left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Chatburns2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you and hope you will visit us soon .
all the best .
Team at the sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went on a short holiday for one night and found a very welcoming experience! The staff were very professional and the rooms are well equipped, spacious and very clean. The pool facilities are very nice and the hotel provides many other indoor and outdoor activities for guests. A bit more variety could be added to the food menu, especially the special "Sunday Buffer". Overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors, closer to the restaurant, provide better views of the beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NizraanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

great news .We are happy that you had a good time .
best Wishes .
G M and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a tour we were looking forward to a relaxing few days before flying home. The bedroom was clean and on the top floor. The shower only had cold water for about 24 hours until quite a few people complained ourselves included. It was fixed in the end. The pool was nice and the area around the pool was well maintained and lots of space to spread out. No waiter service around the pool. The day we arrived was a religious day and no alcohol unless you had a drink from the mini bar in the room which incurred a charge (we were alinclusive ) this was not mentioned until we arrived. If you are looking forward to a nice beach you will be disappointed it is awful and the sea is to dangerous to go in even if you are good swimmer.. The staff was very mixed some very helpful and some not. All in all a very disappointing end after a lovely tour.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmlfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, Owner at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

thank you for bringing to our notice of your issues .we will check on them and it will not be repeated .
hope you can visit us on your next tour too .
we will take care of you .
best Wishes .
Team At The Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked a room for a day, and I must say the rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and a beautiful view of the pool, the staff were very helpful and we did not have any issues with them, on our arrival we had room service but it was a bot disappointing cause it took them about 45 mins to bring the food to our room, I ordered a baked crab which was way too salty and had to be sent back, they replaced same after 15 mins but that too was salty and was not appetizing at all.

The buffets were more or less interesting but at first we were dissapointed at the spread but later on realized that they were serving other dishes (BBQ, action stations) a bit towards the far end of the restaurant which cannot be seen, and had nothing to do with the main buffet. no one informed us about it and while we sat down to have our food that we realized there was another area as well.

But I must say hats off to the staff even at the restaurant cause I saw them checking with so many people if it was alright if they cleared the buffet, and that I thought was very rare in any hotel in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the main building over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salome J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you v much for your comments .so sorry for the delay in the service /room service and the food issue .i have already informed the persons in charge .Hope that you will visit us a gain .
best wishes from the team at the hotel .
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked a cabana to stay with my wife for one night. We have received a warm welcome and drinks and early check in as well. The room is spacious and clean but the commode was not in a good condition. The pool is huge and beautiful. There were lot of food varieties. The lunch and the breakfast was really good. But we were very DISSAPOINTED WITH THE DINNER and it was really bad. The staff is reasonably OK. Good for families.

Room Tip: Cabana which is away from the pool and in the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haritha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments ./Great to note that you have had a wonderful holoiday .
See you soon .General Manger and his team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place was great, the rooms are spacious and clean, there are generally two buffets to choose from, one is european and the other is Sri Lankan and there is also another kitchen area serving additional dishes...a wide selection overall.
The staff are out of this world in their friendly outgoing welcome, all day, every day, whatever the time, day/night. I can not fault it :-)
Aitken Spence have a chain of holets throughout Sri Lanka and this is one of the older hotels so the others must be quite awesome !

Room Tip: All the main hotel rooms have showers only but the CUBANA rooms have a shower over a bath if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russell y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely comments .See you soon at the sands .Great to hear that you have had a good time .
warm regards .
General Manager and the team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are very spacious and clean and are kept to a very high standard. The location is beautiful. Great pool & Activities.

Bad food – Food was awful, not many options in the any of 3 buffet meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suranjith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands A, General Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Noted your comments .Will try to improve on the food .
warm regards .
G M and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,535 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Waskaduwa Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turyaa Kalutara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turyaa Kalutara

Address: Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: £54 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turyaa Kalutara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sunspot Tours, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turyaa Kalutara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Kalutara Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Hotel Kalutara
Ramada Kalutara
Kalutara Ramada
Ramada Resort Sri Lanka
Turyaa Kalutara Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing