We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$32
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
A-Prima(Kalutara)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
459
342
123
40
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
342
123
40
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingplunge barchef sunilcabana roomsri lankaaitken spencefront officeaction stationsthe main buffet restaurantroom boyentertainment teamspecial thankssea viewhousekeeping staffgames roomrestaurant staffindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Turyaa for our office trip. Staff is helpful. Food was tasty and had a good variety. We really enjoyed our lunch. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. The hotel is beautiful and good for a peaceful vacation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services.

It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like these from our valued guests. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your team at Turyaa Kalutara again and offer your our best service.

Yours Sincerely, Laura Nicli, General Manager, Turyaa Kalutara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked an All Inclusive package holiday to this hotel from United Kingdom.
Having travelled from Heathrow arrived into Colombo Airport around 4.15 a.m on a Saturday morning. Were picked up by our driver to take us to the hotel. After approx 1hr and 30 mins Drive, we arrived at the hotel around 6.30 a.m.
We checked in almost immediately, but were told there was no room available until around Midday as the hotel was fully booked.
This was sad, as after almost 24 hours of traveling we were very very tired. All we needed was a pillow and a bed to rest. I really don't understand why the hotel management don't look at the circumstances of how far people have travelled and decide how to make them comfortable until a room becomes available. Instead we were led into a room called The Reading Room, which was dark and not comfortable at all. Why O Why they could not have given us a room temparory room somehere in the hotel until a room becomes available is still a mystery to me. We were very very dissapointed with this.
I must have approached the hotel front desk a dozen times, but were told the same story.
We felt let down by the management. surely, they are trained to look at the circumstances and provide the best solution. At around 12.30 pm , we were told that a room was ready. We entered the room only to find that the room they were giving us was a Twin and not a Double as we had requested. Any way they decided to give this room as a temporary solution until a double room becomes available. By 1.00 pm they were finally able to give us a double room. The front office management needs to look at themselves and ask, could we have provided a better temperory solution to make our initial stay comfortable. I am sure a higher grade room would have been available as a temporary measure. But sadly they chose not to.
We were there to celebrate our 41st Wedding Annivarsary, mentioned this to lady at the front desk.But no further action.
Anyway, we settled in well. Went for Lunch in the main buffet restaurant, and I must say the choices for Vegetarians were wonderful. We are Hindu's and vegetarians, and we like spicy food, So this was heaven for us. During the stay, we were very well looked after a guy called Sunil. He was magificent to detail. Provided excellent solutions for us, Veg Samosas, Veg Spring Rolls, Veg Cutlets and much much more. So thank you Sunil for making our lunches very enjoyable. He also made special Veg Snacks were available for us at the Plunge Pool Bar. This was a really nice gesture.
On the down side, the managers in their purple shirts were very very dissapointing. During, breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, all they did was walked around smiling with their mobile phones in their hands. Probarly say a quick hello and nothing beyond that. The management need to look at their roles and say, what service are they providing. From what I saw, nothing. Only Raj, the front desk manager can come out of this with some credibility.
During their busiest periods, when the dining room is full to the brim, and the boys and girls in blue, whom I must say were magnificient throughout were put to the test. But not one of the those managers in their purple shirts lifted their hands to support them. Only holding their mobile phones in their hands and smiling. Anyway enough said about this. This is for the management to look at.
Meantime at the Plunge Bar, we recieved wonderful service from Anju { Captain }, Amila and Venura. They brought the Plunge Bar to life with constant smiles and service. We don't drink alcohol, so our only vice was Mocktails. And Anju and his team were magnificent. When these three are not there, there is no atmostphere at the bar.
Why Anju is not holding a higher position at the hotel is beyond me. His communication skills are excellent, he delivers service with total dedication.
The hotel does not have a strict no smoking policy. Therefore people were smoking in the lobby, pool bars and so on. This was really annoying and if they were any their on European countires, I and sure they would not be allowed to smoke in public. Not sure if the hotel have any specially designated areas for smokers. Hope the hotel management will look at this closely.
Despite the initial dissapointment,overall me and my wife had the most wonderful stay at the Turyaa Kalutara Hotel. That is why I would give it an excellent review. We hope that the hotel management will can look at the areas I have mentioned and improve on them.
I am also hoping to go back to the same around the same time next year with a group of 30 to 50 people.
Thank You.













Anyway we settled into the room, which was spacious and comfortable. It had a balcony and wac sea facing. Infact, I think all their rooms are sea facing.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RameshDaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the descriptive feedback of your stay at Turyaa Kalutara.

As the arrival was much earlier than the usual check in time, which is at 2:00 PM and with the resorts high occupancy, we were unable to provide you with a room as soon as your arrival and we apologize for the discomfort caused. We tried our best to give you a room as earliest as possible. Usually, in order to avoid such situations most of the guests who arrive much earlier than the check in time would book the room from the previous night.

The room we were able to provide at our earliest was a twin bed but as you had requested to provide a king size bed room, it required more time. Please note that as per the guest voucher, the booking is for a Double Room. A double room can consist of two equal single beds or King size bed unless otherwise specifically mentioned for a TWIN or KING bed by the guest. As your preference was not specifically mentioned, that was the reason for providing a twin bed room initially. Despite the above, we were able to provide a King Size bed room by 12:30.

We regret that we were unaware of your anniversary as it was not mentioned in the Pre Booking Voucher or the Guest Registration Card filled upon arrival. Otherwise we could have made preparations to make your celebration more memorable. We are truly distressed about the inconveniences experienced by you on time of arrival.

Thank you on the positive remarks made about the vegetarian choices available at Turyaa Kalutara. It's always heartwarming to hear that our cooking was appreciated. We are delighted we could give you an exceptional culinary experience.

The only people who are allowed to use mobile phones inside the hotel premises are executives and few supervisors only for the official purposes to enhance the fast day to day communications. They may use their mobile in places where there are no guests or where they would not disturb the guests but occasionally may answer for urgent matters when it is required. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience cased during meal times and we will take this constructive criticism positively and educate our staffs to minimize answering mobiles inside the restaurant.

Turyaa Kalutara has a strict no smoking policy in the hotel's enclosed environments and similar to majority hotels, the pool bars are open for smokers. But we will definitely look in to ways of increasing the non-smokers comfort level within the hotel.

We thank you again for the constructive criticisms and are pleased to read despite the few discomforts faced you were able to enjoy your stay at Turyaa Kalutara and look forward to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely, Laura Nicli, General Manager, Turyaa Kalutara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

visited the place on a company trip last Saturday. the buffet was terrible and the choices was bare minimal and could not be even called a buffet. value for money is the worst also the service was the worst i had experienced.

Room Tip: i would choose a better hotel than this and would advice to keep aware from this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jihan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share the feedback on TripAdvisor of your visit to Turyaa Kalutara.

We are truly surprised to see your opinion on the culinary experience at Turyaa Kalutara since all our guests highly recommend and applaud the spread here. All our meals served in the main restaurant Svar is in buffet style with a lot of varieties and action corners. Also, our chefs are flexible to make special dishes to the customers according to their palate if any of our guest are not happy with what is available in the buffet.

We truly regret to see that we were unable to meet your expectations but hope your next visit will be a better one.

Yours Sincerely, Laura Nicli, General Manager, Turyaa Kalutara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my first visited experience in turyaa.we visited her on 21.06.2018 .actually we booked another hotel from Hikkaduwa.unpleasant experience of that hotel me and my family decided to find another hotel at midnight in that area.I decided to visited to the turyaa and spend at least one night with my family.chathuranga was very supportive where he handled our booking at that difficult time.we did not expected like that service from him thought of terrible experience in last hotel.He given us in 5th floor room (522/523/524) all the rooms with beautyful sea view & cleaned.other staff also friendly and supportive. the food was delicious, nice location we hope to come back again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank sanjaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services.

It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like these from our valued guests. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you at Turyaa Kalutara again hopefully for a longer stay next time !

Yours Sincerely, Laura Nicli, General Manager, Turyaa Kalutara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at turya kaltura in June received by FoM Mr RAJ upgraded our room 6th floor stunning view of the sea just gaze at sea all day.Mr Samath briefed about the services well food was good Thanks to Mr raj & team for giving us a wonderful holiday will visit again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ramdashospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Turyaa Kalutara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Turyaa Kalutara as your holiday destination. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services.

It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like these from our valued guests. We will be delighted to warmly welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely, Laura Nicli, General Manager, Turyaa Kalutara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews