We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Wow - what a place but this review is of the hotel so here goes -
1st impressions very pretty with reception staff pleasant and check in quick. Email to request a 3rd floor was honoured and we got a lovely room (delux seaview) as requested. Room - v comfortable, beds lovely with plenty of pillows, bathroom great, 2 minors (1 room did smell a little damp but soon recified with air con and body spray and 2) lock to balcony bit dodgy but was mended 2nd week). Grounds stunnings, pool great, pool bar limited but decent enough, all inc guests at bar get smaller glasses of cocktail which was bit bizzare. Restaurant was lovely - food amazing - stuck to the sri lankan every time and didnt go wrong - missing my dhal now Im home. Met some very nice people and did a couple of tours with Uplanka (highly recommened). All in all really loved this trip and would recommend to anyone - enjoy

Room Tip: High room but to be fair all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerrymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

The best place I have ever visited!
Very nice big and clean beach, tasty food, fresh seafood and fruits, exotic flowers, tea and more more more interesting things. Go to the trips it is must have in Sri Lanka - very interesting are to Kandy and Yala and Bendotta. Our beach boy - guide- Daniel, Dhan, Dhanushka - is the best he showed us all interesting places there. We appreciate his honest nature, ind soul and charming smile. Thank you Dhan.
Tangerine it isa lovely place for weddings because of the amazing territory. MMMM I want to go back Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taisa5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in November along with our son, daughter in law and their baby. It was our second visit and like the first time we visited it didn't disappoint. The staff are exceptional and the whole atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. In particular we thought the entertainment team did an excellent job and we enjoyed our games of golf and boule. Because it was our second visit we were invited, along with other previous guests, to dinner with the hotel management. It was a superb evening, and something that has never been offered to us before at any hotel we have revisited, a lovely idea, we were made to feel valued and special., Many thanks to everyone connected with this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool for lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariadWaltononThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at TBH we really enjoyed our holiday. The hotel was very nice and all areas were kept very clean, the room boys done a great job every day in fact they pop in twice a day, also the pool area and gardens are kept lovely. there is lots of wildlife to watch little chipmunks which scurry round all day monitor lizards little geckos and the fruit bats.The waiters on the whole were lovely but a couple were quite openly desperate for tips . Also I agree with others that some of the eastern Europeans were very pushy luckily they did not have all inclusive or could have been a real problem. The only downside to our holiday was outside the hotel where some people were real pests and would not take no for an answer. Also the drive to and from the airport was a bit scary, and we only went in the tuk tuk once. All in all a nice holiday would not go back as there are other places to see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A really nice hotel the rooms are clean and the gardens well maintained. We found the food very very good something for everybody,at least 3-4 different curries every day and a variety of western food to suit everybody (I don't like curries but enjoyed every meal)The waiters are very friendly and will help in any way if you have a problem.The only downside is if A.I. and like a glass of wine with your meal then you have to pay for it,the prices are similar to restaurant prices over here.Free wifi would have been nice too,you could only get a signal in the reception so the conversations were not very private.The area around the hotel is very poor and their is not many places you can walk to,so the Tuk Tuks are cheap and easy to find.The sea was Red Flagged every day so swimming was a no no,also you will not be allowed to take the pool towels to the beach ,you will be stopped by the 24hr.guards who patrol the Hotel.Overall we had a very good time and would go again.As Previously noted the Russians and other Eastern block Holiday makers can be a bit pushy and demanding and rather rude.

Room Tip: The Ground Floor rooms from 101 to 105 can be a bit noisy as they are next to the Bar we moved to 32...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen27BostonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had our Wedding function in October 2013 at T/B. It was a nice experience at the hotel. Also we spent few days there, after the function... We had a great time throughout. Friendly staff, fabulous food :) & clean rooms too. We had no bad experiences at all during the stay at T/B. Thank you all for giving us a lovely time there..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Faultless. Lovely hotel run by lovely smiling people. Food and service first class. Facilities second to none. Travelled with Mercury Direct who organised the holiday to perfection. Went on trips with M.D. which were great but also used Sanka Tours, run from a souvenir shop on left over railway line which were a lot less regimented, cheaper, and tailored to your personal needs. Sanka himself is a really lovely person to whom nothing is too much trouble and will help in any aspect of the holiday (e mail- sankasouv@yahoo.com )
Only slight downside to the holiday was the attitude and manners of other eastern bloc guests some of whom were prone to rather inconsiderate behaviour.

Room Tip: Ground Floor sea view overlooking garden quieter and very convenient to all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
857 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,072 reviews
12.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.3 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: £73 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Sunspot Tours, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing