We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

One of the best ocean resorts in Sri Lanka. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The ambiance is fantastic! The rooms are large and provides an atmosphere of home away from home. There is a variety of restaurants that provide food to suite your palate. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a beach vacation in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel staff for a room to suite your need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ravindrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice, a little pompous hotel that meets the requirements you may have in a 4 star hotel. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Nicely situated near the beach. Clearly the best hotel in the area. Because the clientele hotel lena has in this environment does not seem to be the type that wants to see how the environment looks so you can walk all day through Kalutara which is a major city without seeing a single foreigner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We like this hotel, the room was good and it has a beautiful view of sunset, the food was also good.
We were very happy, however our tour guide Andrew was not looked after by the staff, that was too bad.The hotel thought that he is our driver and did not care for him. He was very upset for that and had to stayed in a Rest house outside.
We enjoyed happy times in SriLanka only because of him and not because of your hotel, so make sure next time all Hotels look after our Guides or Drivers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank LunaCui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.
beauty parlor services not upto mark...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smitaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thank you for the wonderfull stay.
I habe been to an other hotel before in the same area and it was not recommendable. Than I changed to this nice hotel, so the rest of my vacation turned out to be great.
Good:
- view and beach
- service
- food
- management
- no problem with special needs (food/ beverages/ calm rooms)
- clean
- pool
- sports
To improve (personal opinion)
- more hammocks
- better internet access
Thnak you and if Sri Lanka again, than this hotel.
Best wishes

Room Tip: Beach side, not near to the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

i spend a valentines day with my girlfriend there..the property it self was one of the best in sri Lanka, the staff are polite and very very helpful...
the front manager director is a lovely great man...
but few minor details area missing :
* no bathroom robes or slippers are provided.
* no fresh juice in breakfast...and no change in the breakfast menu for whole my stay!
*the golden rule here is TIP...and TIP...and TIP...to get a good service.
*the biggest fault here is the room check in policy..!!! i will explain,...
most of international flights to colombo arrive at mid night or early morning to avoid the morning crazy crush hour and jam around the airport...but ONLY THIS PARTICULAR hotel in WHOLE sri lanka will not get you check in earlier than 11:00 !!! EVEN if they have free rooms..instead they will offer you an early chech in for 85 dollars !!!
we arrived at 8:00 and we had either to pay 85 dollars for 3 hours difference or to stay in the lobby !!!!even the HILTON, RITZ or MARRIOT will never do such a thing !!!
which is by the way the first impression you get about the hotel...!!!
also no late chack out after 11:00 you have to pay for a whole night if you wanna leave late by a couple of hours!
so my advice stay in Colombo at your first night or pick up an international flight to get at noon !!!
by the way forget about any refreshing juice at your check in ..!!!!
only coffee provided..!!!!
* finally my personal advice , do your booking via AGODA ( pay the tax in advance for whole your stay) ...i did mine via BOOKING.COM , and the room rate it self for 3 nights was around 550 dollar however, when i pay at the hotel with their own calculations and taxes i paid more than 850 dollars!!!
( even the colombo hilton tax fee is waaaay waaaaaay cheaper around 40 dollar per night !!!!)
which is a ripping off by sri lanka hotel standers, which you get in return!!!
so , try to pay in advance before coming here !!!
over all...my stay was not that bad...! i enjoyed it.
as i have said earlier, DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS...!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommy-moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from ten days at the Royal Palms. Excellent holiday. The staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The food was excellent - always a great selection of dishes really well cooked and fresh, The rooms were spacious and clean. The pool attendants couldn't do enough for you. There is a train line close to the hotel which does sound its hooter as it nears the crossing but this did not disturb us although our room did not face the train line. Not a lot of entertainment at night but that suited us. Don't go expecting to be able to swim in the sea as the currents are treacherous.

Irene C

Room Tip: Beach side seems quieter because of the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,237 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: £72 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sunspot Tours, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing