We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beach stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

this is a good 4 star hotel the room we were given was 242 it was clean and tidy and near to the beach the minibar is not part of all inclusive package there is a fabulous choice of food so there should always be something for people to eat the staff are friendly and attentive there is entertainment on at night from musicians to snake charmers on the whole it was pretty good entertainment there are shops within the hotel complex and also approx 200m from hotel outside there is a spa which offers a wide range of treatments this is based in hotel immediately next door the hotel is approx 3km from train station which would allow you to travelto galle in south of island or colombo which is approx a journey time of one hour it is an experience and dont expect a seat all in all i enjoyed my visit to this hotel

Room Tip: get a room as far from entrance to hotel as railway is close by this didnt detract from my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 130campbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    397
    105
    42
    28
See reviews for
307
634
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I can't say our stay here was bad; but it wasn't very good either. Given the good reviews we were expecting a lot more- especially as we paid what we believe was top dollar. The rooms are nicely furnished and the staff are friendly. The food is quite good (but pricey) and the pool is excellent. But there are a long list of things that we felt let the place down. The bed was very old and uncomfortable ( lots of springs could be felt). The bed linen could have been cleaner and the towels (especially the pool towels) must be 10 yrs old and were discoloured and threadbare. The TV was the smallest screen I have seen in a hotel in 20 years and they charge for the wifi in the rooms. Also, while the resort has nice beach frontage, the beach is heavily littered and the sand is coarse. We found much nicer beaches almost everywhere along the coast. Not a bad place overall, but we expected much more for what we paid. I wouldn't recommend to a friend. Much better quality, value and location to be had elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

One of the best ocean resorts in Sri Lanka. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The ambiance is fantastic! The rooms are large and provides an atmosphere of home away from home. There is a variety of restaurants that provide food to suite your palate. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a beach vacation in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel staff for a room to suite your need
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravindrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice, a little pompous hotel that meets the requirements you may have in a 4 star hotel. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Nicely situated near the beach. Clearly the best hotel in the area. Because the clientele hotel lena has in this environment does not seem to be the type that wants to see how the environment looks so you can walk all day through Kalutara which is a major city without seeing a single foreigner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We like this hotel, the room was good and it has a beautiful view of sunset, the food was also good.
We were very happy, however our tour guide Andrew was not looked after by the staff, that was too bad.The hotel thought that he is our driver and did not care for him. He was very upset for that and had to stayed in a Rest house outside.
We enjoyed happy times in SriLanka only because of him and not because of your hotel, so make sure next time all Hotels look after our Guides or Drivers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LunaCui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.
beauty parlor services not upto mark...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sankt Gallen, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thank you for the wonderfull stay.
I habe been to an other hotel before in the same area and it was not recommendable. Than I changed to this nice hotel, so the rest of my vacation turned out to be great.
Good:
- view and beach
- service
- food
- management
- no problem with special needs (food/ beverages/ calm rooms)
- clean
- pool
- sports
To improve (personal opinion)
- more hammocks
- better internet access
Thnak you and if Sri Lanka again, than this hotel.
Best wishes

Room Tip: Beach side, not near to the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
720 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,369 reviews
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing