We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb beachfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Stair, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb beachfront hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having just returned from what was our fifth visit to this wonderful hotel, it seemed only fitting that we post this review.
To have returned five times probably gives a reasonable indication of our liking for the hotel, nonetheless, some of the many pluses deserve underlining.
The hotel fronts on to a beach that is usually deserted save for a mixed handful of hotel guests, some locals and a few beach boys and sellers. The beach boys will try to interest you in a "trip" to various attractions across the island and the sellers to get you to buy a sari or souvenir - all low key, pleasant and polite and a refusal taken in good part.
The hotel facilities are superb and the food fantastic, the variety and quality over the various restaurants has to be seen and sampled to be appreciated. So good are the facilities you need never venture out of the hotel if so inclined, but I would urge you to get out and explore as there is a lot to see in this part of the country. The staff is polite, helpful, attentive and cheery in a manner that is all too rare these days.
Part way through a refurbishment programme, the room we occupied had recently been done and was excellent.
From the front office staff through catering, leisure, grounds, to pool and housekeeping, all contributed to another momorable stay.

Greg and Beth
Scotland

Room Tip: upper floor rooms in blocks 5,6&7 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    402
    108
    42
    28
See reviews for
320
652
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A beautiful hotel, located just next to the wide, sandy beach (and next to the railway, but it really doesn`t disturb anything). Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff - always smiling, making every guest feel most welcome. High standard, clean rooms, simply but elegantly decorated. Wonderful food - each evening was a different buffet, local cuisine included. The best hotel I`ve been to :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzywiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I and my husband have stayed at this hotel from 03/03-07/03/2014. The first impression was very good during our check in, because staff of hotel have payed us much attention. Our room was very spacious and was very well equiped. Bed was big and comfy. Bathroom also had everything person needs starting with simple slippers ending with conditioner for hair. The territory of hotel is very big comparing with other 5* hotels at Sri Lanka on the beach. The pool is enormous and there is a pool bar what is very comfortable. It is a good place to stay with children, you can join many group activities which hotel offers and I noted that children were happy to take part in them as well. Hotels restaurant offers a big variety of food. The beach is good, ocean is not very calm, but you can swim in the morning and some time in the afternoon and not get much waves.The city center Kalutara is not far away and you can catch tuk-tuk to get there and do some shopping for clothes and food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

this is a good 4 star hotel the room we were given was 242 it was clean and tidy and near to the beach the minibar is not part of all inclusive package there is a fabulous choice of food so there should always be something for people to eat the staff are friendly and attentive there is entertainment on at night from musicians to snake charmers on the whole it was pretty good entertainment there are shops within the hotel complex and also approx 200m from hotel outside there is a spa which offers a wide range of treatments this is based in hotel immediately next door the hotel is approx 3km from train station which would allow you to travelto galle in south of island or colombo which is approx a journey time of one hour it is an experience and dont expect a seat all in all i enjoyed my visit to this hotel

Room Tip: get a room as far from entrance to hotel as railway is close by this didnt detract from my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 130campbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I can't say our stay here was bad; but it wasn't very good either. Given the good reviews we were expecting a lot more- especially as we paid what we believe was top dollar. The rooms are nicely furnished and the staff are friendly. The food is quite good (but pricey) and the pool is excellent. But there are a long list of things that we felt let the place down. The bed was very old and uncomfortable ( lots of springs could be felt). The bed linen could have been cleaner and the towels (especially the pool towels) must be 10 yrs old and were discoloured and threadbare. The TV was the smallest screen I have seen in a hotel in 20 years and they charge for the wifi in the rooms. Also, while the resort has nice beach frontage, the beach is heavily littered and the sand is coarse. We found much nicer beaches almost everywhere along the coast. Not a bad place overall, but we expected much more for what we paid. I wouldn't recommend to a friend. Much better quality, value and location to be had elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

One of the best ocean resorts in Sri Lanka. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The ambiance is fantastic! The rooms are large and provides an atmosphere of home away from home. There is a variety of restaurants that provide food to suite your palate. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a beach vacation in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel staff for a room to suite your need
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravindrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice, a little pompous hotel that meets the requirements you may have in a 4 star hotel. Friendly staff and nice rooms. Nicely situated near the beach. Clearly the best hotel in the area. Because the clientele hotel lena has in this environment does not seem to be the type that wants to see how the environment looks so you can walk all day through Kalutara which is a major city without seeing a single foreigner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
771 reviews
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,385 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing