We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at the Royal Palms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Royal Palms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks in the Royal Palms hotel with my father. It was a great experience! Excellent food, very kind and good service and excellent rooms. Only the weather could be a little more better :)
I will never forget my stay in the Royal Palms and would surely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a good vacation at a nice place.

Thank you all for the great time and see you guys hopefully soon!

Greetings,
Wim and Rose

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    385
    103
    41
    27
See reviews for
299
598
36
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was here during the quiet season in May. The hotel is relatively small and, at the time of my visit, at low occupancy. Although parts of the buildings were undergoing renovation, disruption and noise were generally kept to a minimum.

The rooms are large and well furnished. Air-con was a little aggressive at times, but generally a welcome relief from the temperature and humidity outside. The public areas are pleasant to be in. Although there is only one pool, it is plenty big enough for the size of the hotel. There is a small but well maintained gym with a very friendly and helpful "animation" team. A Spa is shared at the adjacent Tangerine Beach Hotel which is part of the same group. This was a little dated but the treatments were good and very good value.

In general, all staff were friendly and keen to help; but some of the "trainees" needed a little more support from their supervisors. The food service in the main restaurant was good. Food buffets were varied and themed differently each night. I didn't feel much desire to try out the alternative Grill or Japanese A la Carte options.

My main gripe would be the poor quality of the bar service and entertainments. In part, this could be a result of the renovations. Nevertheless, the All Inclusive drinks package was very poor, worse than I have experienced at similar hotels. Even local drinks can be offered with a little more style! A wine option would also be nice. With that slight reservation, I would still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We choose this hotel as our Honeymoon destination and decided to splash out as my husband had a near fatal accident and thought we should spoil ourselves. Firstly we are avid wine drinkers and our tour agent phoned Cosmos to confirm that this was included in the All Inclusive package. They confirmed it was but on arrival we were told categorically NO! and because of this we would have to pay for all wine. Our room looked beautiful but had a musty smell and the bed lined was damp and internal pillows moldy..Yuck.. The bathroom shower leaked and the main sink had a puddle underneath it. It took two attempts for the hotel to get this sorted. One evening the tiled area around the bed was soaking wet with small puddles and one had to put a towel down so one would not slip. After this and hearing other couple complain about the same things we requested to be moved. Also when staying in a 4 star hotel you do not expect to have a main train line running 10 meters behind your room. The whole site was a major building site of which we were not informed and large scaffolding and green corrugated metal sheets were being placed on the outside, whilst ripping out each room. On our second week they shut the main bar which you could relax and talk in whilst enjoying back ground music but they then moved the entertainment to the night club in the basement which was noisy. So you could sit outside in the dark on the veranda or had to go to the room. It was unsafe to swim in the sea and had a red flag for the 2 weeks we were there, plus the beach was dirty with excrement and litter. On the plus side the food was excellent and had a good variety also the restaurant staff were friendly. We would return to Sri Lanka but not to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngieDiazWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am sure this is a nice hotel when it is not a building site, but the work being carried out ruined our stay. We were not informed of this before we arrived. Others were advised, but not about the extent of the disruption. I am not saying that some upgrade and maintenance was not overdue, but to expect paying guests to put up with the noise and closed facilities was unacceptable especially as this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel.
On the plus side, the rooms are large and well appointed and the food was nice. The staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the builders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, food excellent, staff very charming and friendly. We were all inclusive which I would recommend. Beautiful view from room over pool looking towards ocean. Restaurant excellent, bar and entertainment great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed for 3 nights after a tour of Sri Lanka. Hotel was generally very good, particularly the pool and surroundings with lots of shade under the trees. The restaurant was pleasant and the standard of food was high.

Two things let the hotel down: the room we initially had, on the first floor (room 212 I think), smelt musty as soon as we walked in and it turned out the bedding was very damp when we got into bed. Fortunately we were offered another room the next day; this was on the second (top) floor and was absolutely fine. Another couple on our tour had the same problem with damp in their ground floor room. The other issue was bar facilities during the day; the main bar near reception had outdoor seating but it was in full sun, inside was swelteringly hot but the staff said they could not turn on the air conditioning! This meant the only usable daytime bar was at the pool, which obviously got very busy at peak times with a long wait to be served.

The above points do need to be addressed, otherwise the hotel is a nice place to stay for a few days R&R.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

we went to this hotel for a day,very plesent hotel,welcome drink was super,and the room (junior suite)was very big and clean,room have two bath rooms and big balcony also,they have big pool and garden,my childrenes have nice time with that,food is good but they have no enough of variety.but overall is we had good time in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeyachandrika3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.1 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
13.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#4 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing