We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our Anniversary”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived late in the evening on 3rd May2014, after a very fast and informative drive from the airport from the taxi driver. On arrival at The Royal Palms we were met by smiling and very helpful bell boys, who carried our luggage to our room very efficiently. The cold and very refreshing towels was a really a lovely touch after the journey. The reception staff took us
through the all inclusive plan and gave us our wristbands. The room we had was spacious
and well furnished in old colonial style and blended in with what the Hotel tried to achieve. Breakfast in the morning was terrific, the food wholesome and plentiful, and the staff again smiling and wishing us "AYOBOWAN."
The downside was that the hotel was undergoing renovation, building work and refurbishment but disruption and noise was kept to the bare minimum, in fact sometimes we never even heard it.
The pool was huge and with the built in Jacuzzi and bubble spa and the pool bar a lot of time was spent there.
Now I must mention staff especially Mr.Elsworth, the resident manager.We had a small complaint about our mattress and I can honestly say he sorted it out in just one phone call. Any time we met him he had the time and decency to talk, share a laugh, kept us informed of what was going on around the hotel and on the outside. A very big THANK YOU Mr Elsworth.
The pool staff are fantastic, they supply you sunbeds and towels with the biggest smiles and always want to talk about anything and everything. When you meet them give them a good tip
and you will have a friend for the duration of your holiday.
All the staff should have a mention, the cooks & chefs who gave us different and interesting dishes every day and puddings to die for. Reception staff, Induha and all management and hospitality staff. THANK YOU ONE AND ALL.
Pam and myself (Steve) wish we could have stayed longer, but look forward to coming back
to the refurbished and renewed RPBH as soon as we possibly can and seeing all the friendly staff again. Please pass on our thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moonraker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    397
    105
    42
    28
See reviews for
307
634
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The first thing which comes to my mind is FOOD,it is really really tasty.Every single meal is at its best taste.
The pool area is so beautiful and relax.The hotel is under construction when we were there but not disturbed to the guests.Pleasant staff and management is also seems very friendly.
Rooms are very clean and well furnished,well maintained in everything.Specially the under ground night club is really beautiful.Since we went there with our friends at office it was a wonderful evening we had there.
I would really like to recommend this to everyone who would expect perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Naveesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks in the Royal Palms hotel with my father. It was a great experience! Excellent food, very kind and good service and excellent rooms. Only the weather could be a little more better :)
I will never forget my stay in the Royal Palms and would surely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a good vacation at a nice place.

Thank you all for the great time and see you guys hopefully soon!

Greetings,
Wim and Rose

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was here during the quiet season in May. The hotel is relatively small and, at the time of my visit, at low occupancy. Although parts of the buildings were undergoing renovation, disruption and noise were generally kept to a minimum.

The rooms are large and well furnished. Air-con was a little aggressive at times, but generally a welcome relief from the temperature and humidity outside. The public areas are pleasant to be in. Although there is only one pool, it is plenty big enough for the size of the hotel. There is a small but well maintained gym with a very friendly and helpful "animation" team. A Spa is shared at the adjacent Tangerine Beach Hotel which is part of the same group. This was a little dated but the treatments were good and very good value.

In general, all staff were friendly and keen to help; but some of the "trainees" needed a little more support from their supervisors. The food service in the main restaurant was good. Food buffets were varied and themed differently each night. I didn't feel much desire to try out the alternative Grill or Japanese A la Carte options.

My main gripe would be the poor quality of the bar service and entertainments. In part, this could be a result of the renovations. Nevertheless, the All Inclusive drinks package was very poor, worse than I have experienced at similar hotels. Even local drinks can be offered with a little more style! A wine option would also be nice. With that slight reservation, I would still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We choose this hotel as our Honeymoon destination and decided to splash out as my husband had a near fatal accident and thought we should spoil ourselves. Firstly we are avid wine drinkers and our tour agent phoned Cosmos to confirm that this was included in the All Inclusive package. They confirmed it was but on arrival we were told categorically NO! and because of this we would have to pay for all wine. Our room looked beautiful but had a musty smell and the bed lined was damp and internal pillows moldy..Yuck.. The bathroom shower leaked and the main sink had a puddle underneath it. It took two attempts for the hotel to get this sorted. One evening the tiled area around the bed was soaking wet with small puddles and one had to put a towel down so one would not slip. After this and hearing other couple complain about the same things we requested to be moved. Also when staying in a 4 star hotel you do not expect to have a main train line running 10 meters behind your room. The whole site was a major building site of which we were not informed and large scaffolding and green corrugated metal sheets were being placed on the outside, whilst ripping out each room. On our second week they shut the main bar which you could relax and talk in whilst enjoying back ground music but they then moved the entertainment to the night club in the basement which was noisy. So you could sit outside in the dark on the veranda or had to go to the room. It was unsafe to swim in the sea and had a red flag for the 2 weeks we were there, plus the beach was dirty with excrement and litter. On the plus side the food was excellent and had a good variety also the restaurant staff were friendly. We would return to Sri Lanka but not to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngieDiazWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am sure this is a nice hotel when it is not a building site, but the work being carried out ruined our stay. We were not informed of this before we arrived. Others were advised, but not about the extent of the disruption. I am not saying that some upgrade and maintenance was not overdue, but to expect paying guests to put up with the noise and closed facilities was unacceptable especially as this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel.
On the plus side, the rooms are large and well appointed and the food was nice. The staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the builders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, food excellent, staff very charming and friendly. We were all inclusive which I would recommend. Beautiful view from room over pool looking towards ocean. Restaurant excellent, bar and entertainment great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
718 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,369 reviews
13.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing