We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mermaid & Club
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$303
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AVANI Kalutara Resort(Kalutara)
US$136
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveller rating
1,000
465
96
34
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
465
96
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspushpakumara yahoosuresh toursred mohicansports centrebeach boyselephant orphanageday tripsri lankacheeky chappiemoonlight jewellerspalm treesdeluxe roomsports teammoonlight gemstuk tuksports facilitiesgreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days here for our honeymoon! We felt very welcomed, the staff were very friendly and the food was always fresh and delicious. Although it was a beach side resort we did not venture to the beach very often as the grounds were so lovely!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ashan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a fantastic time at Mermaid for two days as the stay was very fascinating in all aspects. Specially the service staff is very courteous and prompt. Welcoming & check in were very cordial. The room we stayed 212# is very specious, well laid with elegant furniture & fittings and very comfortable. At the bed turning down the flower decoration on the bed was marvelous. Restaurant staff is very courteous, We really enjoyed from beginning to the end of our stay & our sincere thanks to the GM and his team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnilPerera2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Just back, very relaxing holiday with family. Good clean hotel. Plenty of activities for our two teenage boys, sports centre v good offering daily cricket, Water volleyball , water polo, table tennis and more. Good food, very quite around pool and garden areas. Beach was disappointing with plastic bottles and other rubbish along waterline. Lots of great trips available all taking forever to get to, but didn't seem to long due to being glued to minibus window taking everything in. Driving in Sri Lanka an experience not to b forgotten !!!!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank 180Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Mermaid for four days after a tour of Sri Lanka!! It was very laid back,just what we were looking for! The staff were lovely and food great( Especially the curries) Lots to choose from.The grounds were kept in tip top order and very clean! The Ayurvedic massage was the best i have ever had..highly recommend!! A walk to the shops along the railway is a must, everyone is so pleased to see you and alway what to shake your hands!! The small shops are reasonable priced and you can get really good tea in them... The country and people are wonderful and finding this hotel made our holiday Thankyou

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room great for just popping in and out!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucreciamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not a lot more to add to the previous reviews - The room needed a bit of refurbishment (which it will get on the 20th of May) but it was clean and comfortable (the fresh flowers on the bed were a nice touch) and the air con worked well. The staff gave 100% keeping the hotel and grounds spotless. Plenty of sunbeds which the pool attendant would place cushions and pool towels on for you the second he spotted you .Food was varied and tasty but I would liked to have seen more covers on some of the buffet food. The only disappointing meal was the "Lobster special". Service at the bar and restaurant was excellent.The reception staff were superb - getting information,confirming our transfer, ordering taxis etc. I would recommend the hotel taxi for going into town - we took a tuktuk from Mr Malinky opposite the hotel which took us to various places owned by his friends which we didn't particularly want to go to including the temple in Kalatura where his "friend" gave us a tour of the temple then demanded $15 for his expert knowledge (temple tours are meant to be free). Laundry worked out at approximately 40p per item. We used the spa a couple of times - very professional and very reasonably priced. A previous review mentioned the lack of a tips box - there were so many staff who gave good service (with a smile) it would have been nice to know that the tips were shared among all the staff.

We did a one day trip whale watching,stopping at the stick fishermen, Tsunami memorial, turtle hatchery,moonstone mine, woodcarving workshop and Galle fort with Suresh of the red mohican fame (suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com) for £70 each. He came highly recommended on "Tripadvisor".
We had an air-conditioned minibus to ourselves and a proficient safe driver ( rare in Sri Lanka).
We also did an overnight trip to Sigaria (a local guide led us to the top - excellent), Kandy temple (local guide again was excellent), Sri Lankan folk dancing and fire walking stopping overnight at a very nice hotel in Kandy. Next day we went to the elephant orphanage and tea plantation. Our guide stopped the minibus to treat us to red bananas (I always though they were yellow) and freshly picked pineapple, or when he thought there was a good photo opportunity or if he saw anything unusual (monkeys, porkupine, large lizards, water buffalow etc. All for £140 each.
Interesting first trip to Sri lanka - by this experience I don't think it will be our last..

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the sea are quieter and have a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingscot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews